We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President

Save Saved
You added Hotel President to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Carducci 5, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were recommended by Thomson for this hotel. I could write this for ever but I won’t but what I will say was the Hotel President in Viareggio was excellent in all respects. OK it only had 50 rooms and yes not all with balcony’s but is that the end of the world as there was two private beaches across the road FOC for the guests, which more than made up for it. The staff and meals in the hotel were brilliant and we have no hesitation in returning back.

Room Tip: We found all the rooms had a veiw. I your that concerned in having a balcony then go for the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    84
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
50
175
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Having just returned from a 2 week, half board, stay at the Hotel President I can confirm many of the good points made by other reviewers. The hotel location in Viareggio is perfect, being just across the road from the beach and lots of nearby cafes and restaurants. There is a long promenade along the front of the cafes and shops extending from the harbour area through to the next resort of Lido Camaiore, with easy flat walking. The hotel rooms are very clean with a fridge and flat screen tv and free safe, no tea of coffee making facilities. The hotel staff are first class, very friendly and helpful.

Viareggio is an attractive resort with beautiful art deco buildings, a large busy market in the town centre and a weekly street market on the promenade. Each evening and especially at weekends all the Italians like to walk up and down the promenade looking in the shops.

We used the Bagno Irene beach just across the road from the hotel. This is a family run beach establishment, very friendly and they will let you keep the same place on the beach for all your stay. Inclusive in the hotel package is an umbrella and 2 deck chairs, a sun lounger costs an additional 5 euros per day. For lunch we found the food at Irene to be first class with home made pasta dishes and very good salads and pizzas.

We did try the Bagno Balena and whilst this had a swimming pool, note swimming caps must be worn, and an extensive gym with exercise bikes and organised exercise classes, we found the staff particularly unfriendly.

The train station is around 15 mins walk from the hotel and it is easy to get to Lucca, Pisa and the towns of Cinque Terre. Tickets are cheap and can be easily obtained from machines with English touchscreens.

One point to note with the hotel is that there is traffic noise from the main road at the front. We had a room on the first floor at the front and if you are a light sleeper the traffic noise could be a problem. Also please note first floor rooms do not have a balcony, other floors do.

The evening meal in the half board option is a 4 course with starters, pasta course, main course and dessert. The menu changed every 2 to 3 days. The standard of food is generally good with a number of choices for each course. However the choice for the main meal was on occasion limited, for 2 days we had 3 variations of veal and 2 sea bream dishes on the same menu which if you didn't like either of these only left a choice of chicken. There is a good choice of wines, however if you do not wish to have a full bottle then you can buy wine by the glass, with a large glass of a good chianti Classico costing just 5 euros.

Even given the short comings we would definitely return to the President. We would however ask for a room on a higher floor to reduce the traffic noise and to get a balcony from which to enjoy the sea view.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room or above to get a balcony. Rooms on the front have the best sea view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and 10 year old son stayed at the Hotel President on September 1st and 2nd 2012 and loved the experience of the hotel and the town. I am a firm believer that customer service is defined and earned when things go wrong, not when they go right. We had a mix up with the booking and we felt that the ladies at the front desk tried their best to find a solution and in the end the manager came through and made it right.

We stayed on the 3rd floor over looking the ocean and it was spectacular. The hotel is situated right in the centre of all of the shops, beach clubs, restaurants and is in the ideal location. There is a mini bar, small flat screen with satelite channels, wifi, and though the rooms weren't huge, they were a comfortable size and very clean.

All of Viareggio's beaches are private so you have to pay no matter where you want to sit. Hotel President is affiliated with the Irene Beach club for $10 euros a day or the Balena 2000 for $20 Euro's a day. The Irene is closer, has more of a family friendly feel to it where as the Belena 2000 or B2K has more of a health club feel. We preferred the B2K because it had a pool for our son and the ocean was too rough to swim in. We had the BEST seafood salads at the B2K.

The breakfast at the Hotel President had much more variety than we had seen in other hotels. Bacon, Eggs, Pasteries, Cereal, some fresh fruit - all served in the white table cloth restaurant.

We had our best meals in Viareggio. The front desk suggested the Amaro and the Pizzeria in the Church. Both were amazing. Please make a reservation as both the Amaro and the Pizzeria are very popular and hard to get into. The Amaro has beef and fish but our son had the best pasta we had ever tasted.

Make sure you rent a bike! There is a rental shop around the corner from the hotel and you can casually ride along the bike paths, see the town and the ocean.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor facing south west. I would suggest that this is probably one of the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks w/c 25/08/2012.
Good points:
- location (opposite the main beachside promenade, central, 15 minutes brisk walk to train station for Pisa/Lucca/Florence, 10 minutes to buses and harbour, close to the best back street restaurants)
- staff (engagement pitched just right, helpful, attentative, multi-lingual, very polite and efficient)
- clean, fully functional, daily maids didn't turn aircon down nor off
- free wifi (useful for researching local restaurants with tripadvisor)
- good sea view (sadly no balcony but our room was at the cheapest rate)
- good fresh breakfast (included complimentary glass of sparkly wine each morning), and the staff only clear your table once you go: they meticulously wipe the table clean and replace the tablecloth for every setting
- good a la carte evening meal (best hotel meal in a long time, but priced as such, and there's better value to be had in local restaurants)
I researched our choice of hotel carefully before we went so we knew that the hotel has no gardens or pool, nothing external except car parking. Nor any entertainment. Thomson guests get "free" access to bagne Irene (two deckchairs and a sunshade on the beach) and Balena 2000 pool (poolside access and/or two deckchairs, one sunbed and a sunshade on the beach): for other guests it costs 10 euros and 20 euros respectively, per day. This is pretty standard for Viareggio, if you want more features you'll have to go to another resort. The promenade cafe/bars/restaurants are priced to reflect their position, we found the family-run bagne (beach) cafe-bars to be warm, welcoming and reasonably priced. There's a great selection of quality restaurants in the back streets: Il Trinchetto is wonderful for food and good value for money, Fubi's is fantastic but expensive: we went twice to each, more than a week apart, and both remembered us from our first visit. (Then again, we went to La Chiesina four times for its great pizzas: when busy they struggle to cope however.) But in Viareggio, forget about steak, stick to pizza/pasta/seafood. As you may notice, we did go for the food opportunities. Be aware that in Viareggio, there isn't much to do when its raining.

Room Tip: Don't make any assumptions about what you'll get, if in doubt ask. Then disappointments can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The location of the hotel is perfect with numerous restaurants within walking distance. Also close of main attractions in the area. Train station a ten minute walk away. Service is the hotel was excellent - we were greeted every time we passed reception. If we had a question all staff were extremely helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. We had a balcony which was great to watch the world go by. Would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family and will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Hotel President. What a wonderful experience. The hotel and our room was very clean and well furnished and the staff friendly and helpful, it also has the benefit of free wi-fi. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the choice for breakfast was extensive and to an excellent quality. The location was on the main promenade and close to the beach and just a short walk to the railway station. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was our second summer here and we have booked again for next summer. The hotel and restaurant are immaculate. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The special priviledges at the beach club "Bagno Irene" should not be missed.

Room Tip: Choose a room with block out blind in the summer to keep out the hot sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Viale Carducci 5, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#4 Family Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Viareggio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.