We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza e De Russie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza e De Russie Hotel to your Saves list
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza D'Azeglio 1, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel is in a great location. It's along the promenade and a short walk from the sea. The position, however, is bad for parking becouse there isn't a private parking and the public one is always full.
The lobby is very nice, large and well prepared. The room was quite large with a beautiful sea view balcony. The bathroom was new and clean but a bit small.
The breakfast is served on the terrace and there are many quality products.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    75
    30
    24
    3
See reviews for
27
75
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I booked a seven night break at this hotel from the 11th to the 18th of july 2012 as a treat for my fathers 65th birthday. We used it as a base from which we travelled on the saturday and the sunday to watch the motorbike gp at mugello which was an amazing experience. My wife ,mother and aunt found the beach ,facilities and promenade first class . The hotel we all found again first class, superb friendly hotel staff, stunning rooftop restaurant and food, lovely clean and comfortable rooms. Anything you wanted to know about travel,local events or general questions the hotel staff bent over backwards to help.Fantastic hotel. Fantastic resort and wouldnt hesitate to book at this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had to more from our first room (a junior suite on the first floor at the front of the hotel) to a "superior double" a floor up and to the side, as we found it impossible to sleep in the first room when the street/bars outside the hotel got busy at around 10pm. The noise outside wouldn't be a problem if the windows had adequate glazing. This meant sharing a smallish double room with our 2 children (one in our bed and one on a z bed). The noise levels in this room were more acceptable. The air conditionning in both rooms was both noisy and ineffectual. The rooms are more tired than they appear on the website and the whole hotel could do with a refurb. The furniture that was there had been very badly re-upholstered and the scheme was more 80's than classic. We found the restaurant to be nothing special but it did enjoy a great view. Also on the plus side staff and service in the hotel was great. Wifi only works in public areas.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are very noisy at night in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Initially as you enter the public spaces it appered to be an elegant and comfortable hotel. The room we chose on booking was a superior room(we had to confirm it was a superior room when we saw it) It did not have the space as one would expect for that type of room, it was also square although the ceilings were high. The bathroom was large enough but the shower head was too small and the water pressure was very low most times that we used it. The shower doors leaked a certain amount of water onto the bathroom floor which we had to mop up everytime, no great problem but not really to be expected. The staff at reception desk were always very helpful when we required information and assistance, we did advise them about the water pressure and leak but the problem stayed with us, I have no doubt they would have passed the message on.The wardrobe rails were okay if you were 6 foot tall, they were also sited the wrong way around which did not help.I do not wish to appear to be nit picking but for a hotel which advertises itself as an elegant and comfortable experience then it should apply to the whole hotel and not just to the public places.If you drive to Viareggio, parking is horrendous, there is a public car park outside the hotel but very difficult to find a parking space, we arrived on 19th August it did ease up a little by the time we left on 1st September, the hotel has no parking available except for loading or unloading.

Room Tip: The Room was over the main road which can be noisy not only due to traffic but revellers and street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary NC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great location,comfortable room,helpful staff,and Terrific Restaurant ! An enjoyable 1 night stay with friends while en-route to Rome. Recommended by our travel agent and definitely was a winner. Food was excellent and the service was the best we had anywhere in Italy including the much heralded Osteria Da Fiore a Michelin star restaurant in Venice!---Great job----Thanks!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Very close to the beach and also to the city center. Helpful, friendly staff. Clean, comfortable rooms. But what we liked most was the restaurant on the roof with a fantastic view - they served a nice breakfast (with really good coffee) and, on our last night in Viareggio, an unforgettable dinner based on the recommendations from the waiter. This is a must!
One minor complaint; the price for renting deck chairs and a parasol on the beach was a bit steep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Although we only stayed 2 days at this Hotel we could not fault it. Lovely location , opposite the beach ( you have use of deckchairs and parosol free on the designated beach)and close to the harbour. Very clean and tidy. We only ate at the Hotel one night as we had already booked for the first night elsewhere.Wish we had eaten here both nights as the food and the service were excellent.The female staff on duty on reception and breakfast, could not have been more helpful, whatever our request. The evening meal and breakfast were held on the lovely roof terrace with amazing views. Well done Hotel De Russie we shall book again on our next trip to Italy

Room Tip: Room at the front overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Plaza e De Russie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza e De Russie Hotel

Address: Piazza D'Azeglio 1, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#8 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza e De Russie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront, just 40 meters from the beach and the center of a context exquisitely Liberty, the oldest luxury hotel in Viareggio, built in 1871 along the route of the Grand Tour, pays tribute with his name to the Russian nobility who used to spend its long beach holidays right here. At 800 meters from the train station, 2 km from the A12 motorway, 25 km from Pisa Airport. located on the promenade, the hotel is at the center of the area Liberty sort in the early '900, the period when Viareggio become an international showcase where the glories of worldliness join the literary and artistic fervor of the time. Thanks to the environmentally sound management and its history, the atmosphere of the hotel invites the guest to indulge in a trip down memory lane. Secluded lounges, Murano chandeliers, refined antique furniture recreate the taste for the finer things of the past, which is flanked with discretion, all the tools and technologies to a business meeting or a business meeting. At the Plaza and de Russie the unique sensation of walking on an old wooden floors or soak in a tub framed travertine is completed by the air conditioning and all the modern comforts. We believe it is possible only in very few other situations bring together the suggestions of the environment with the charm of the scents and flavors of the kitchen. From The Terrace, the magnificent restaurant located in the attic of the Plaza and de Russie in Viareggio, you can admire a beautiful landscape that goes from Viareggio to the Gulf of La Spezia. From the tables of the restaurant La Terrazza the view encompasses the sea and the Apuan Alps. The unforgettable sunsets is accompanied by a fine Mediterranean cuisine. Few conference venues in Italy can boast a location as the Hotel Plaza e de Russie, beautifully situated on the promenade of Viareggio. A scenic and pleasant place for breaks of the work and for the extension of the stay of the participants and, if desired, their families. The organization's staff is reliable, professional, young and constantly updated on the latest conference needs. The property has a conference room with all the modern amenities and services and a Press Room adjacent to 30 square meters in natural light and completely darkened. PRISTINE NATURE There are many reasons that make Viareggio and Versilia overtime. The first is its beautiful beach, characterized by a fine white sand that stretches over 20 km in length and 200 m in width and that, dipping gently into the sea, gives anyone a bathroom safe for the regularity of its shallow waters. Its vast pristine pine forests, which run parallel to the sea, welcome those who want to enjoy their cool climate and fragrant, and Lake Massaciuccoli is a surprising gem. CULTURE AND HISTORY LIVES FOREVER The area offers intact its history and its culture: here, on the route of the Grand Tour, the aristocrats of the late nineteenth century would gather in living rooms Liberty, and then in the years around the beautiful world and Italian international has continued to attend these places. Among the most important annual events, to signal the Carnival, famous throughout the world; the Viareggio Literary Award, the most prestigious, and the Puccini Festival in Torre del Lago, where Giacomo Puccini lived and composed most of his works and where his house-museum is open to visitors. And a few miles, Lucca, and the art cities of Tuscany, goals at hand to live unforgettable experiences. The Hotel is accessible from the A12, exit Viareggio / Camaiore following directions to Viareggio and continue for about 3 km. Turn left at the second traffic light, continue for 1 km, at the second traffic light, turn left and continue along the promenade for about 4km. The Hotel Plaza e de Russie is on the left. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Plaza e De Russie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza e De Russie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza e De Russie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.