We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza e De Russie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Plaza e De Russie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza D'Azeglio 1, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel is in a great location. It's along the promenade and a short walk from the sea. The position, however, is bad for parking becouse there isn't a private parking and the public one is always full.
The lobby is very nice, large and well prepared. The room was quite large with a beautiful sea view balcony. The bathroom was new and clean but a bit small.
The breakfast is served on the terrace and there are many quality products.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    57
    24
    17
    2
See reviews for
24
54
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I booked a seven night break at this hotel from the 11th to the 18th of july 2012 as a treat for my fathers 65th birthday. We used it as a base from which we travelled on the saturday and the sunday to watch the motorbike gp at mugello which was an amazing experience. My wife ,mother and aunt found the beach ,facilities and promenade first class . The hotel we all found again first class, superb friendly hotel staff, stunning rooftop restaurant and food, lovely clean and comfortable rooms. Anything you wanted to know about travel,local events or general questions the hotel staff bent over backwards to help.Fantastic hotel. Fantastic resort and wouldnt hesitate to book at this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had to more from our first room (a junior suite on the first floor at the front of the hotel) to a "superior double" a floor up and to the side, as we found it impossible to sleep in the first room when the street/bars outside the hotel got busy at around 10pm. The noise outside wouldn't be a problem if the windows had adequate glazing. This meant sharing a smallish double room with our 2 children (one in our bed and one on a z bed). The noise levels in this room were more acceptable. The air conditionning in both rooms was both noisy and ineffectual. The rooms are more tired than they appear on the website and the whole hotel could do with a refurb. The furniture that was there had been very badly re-upholstered and the scheme was more 80's than classic. We found the restaurant to be nothing special but it did enjoy a great view. Also on the plus side staff and service in the hotel was great. Wifi only works in public areas.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are very noisy at night in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Initially as you enter the public spaces it appered to be an elegant and comfortable hotel. The room we chose on booking was a superior room(we had to confirm it was a superior room when we saw it) It did not have the space as one would expect for that type of room, it was also square although the ceilings were high. The bathroom was large enough but the shower head was too small and the water pressure was very low most times that we used it. The shower doors leaked a certain amount of water onto the bathroom floor which we had to mop up everytime, no great problem but not really to be expected. The staff at reception desk were always very helpful when we required information and assistance, we did advise them about the water pressure and leak but the problem stayed with us, I have no doubt they would have passed the message on.The wardrobe rails were okay if you were 6 foot tall, they were also sited the wrong way around which did not help.I do not wish to appear to be nit picking but for a hotel which advertises itself as an elegant and comfortable experience then it should apply to the whole hotel and not just to the public places.If you drive to Viareggio, parking is horrendous, there is a public car park outside the hotel but very difficult to find a parking space, we arrived on 19th August it did ease up a little by the time we left on 1st September, the hotel has no parking available except for loading or unloading.

Room Tip: The Room was over the main road which can be noisy not only due to traffic but revellers and street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary NC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great location,comfortable room,helpful staff,and Terrific Restaurant ! An enjoyable 1 night stay with friends while en-route to Rome. Recommended by our travel agent and definitely was a winner. Food was excellent and the service was the best we had anywhere in Italy including the much heralded Osteria Da Fiore a Michelin star restaurant in Venice!---Great job----Thanks!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Very close to the beach and also to the city center. Helpful, friendly staff. Clean, comfortable rooms. But what we liked most was the restaurant on the roof with a fantastic view - they served a nice breakfast (with really good coffee) and, on our last night in Viareggio, an unforgettable dinner based on the recommendations from the waiter. This is a must!
One minor complaint; the price for renting deck chairs and a parasol on the beach was a bit steep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Although we only stayed 2 days at this Hotel we could not fault it. Lovely location , opposite the beach ( you have use of deckchairs and parosol free on the designated beach)and close to the harbour. Very clean and tidy. We only ate at the Hotel one night as we had already booked for the first night elsewhere.Wish we had eaten here both nights as the food and the service were excellent.The female staff on duty on reception and breakfast, could not have been more helpful, whatever our request. The evening meal and breakfast were held on the lovely roof terrace with amazing views. Well done Hotel De Russie we shall book again on our next trip to Italy

Room Tip: Room at the front overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plaza e De Russie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza e De Russie Hotel

Address: Piazza D'Azeglio 1, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#8 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza e De Russie Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Escapio and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Plaza e De Russie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza e De Russie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza e De Russie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.