We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food, quality service - great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nitens

Nitens
Via Michele Coppino, 56 | Piazza Viani 16, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
+39 0584 370585
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 358 Restaurants in Viareggio
Price range: $43 - $73
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situato nella darsena viareggina Nitens offre un ampio menu' di mare ed alcuni piatti di terra. Il locale e' aperto tutte le sere per la cena ed il sabato e la domenica anche per il pranzo. Personale giovane e cortese e materie prime di qualita' sono il nostro biglietto da visita. Gradita la prenotazione.
Aberdeen ,Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quality food, quality service - great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After a quick scan of tripadvisor my boyfriend and I decided to head to Nitens for dinner.

We were in Italy for 10 days and the food in Nitens was the best we had.

Prosecco on arrival followed by the 6 tastings to start. The 6 tastings was absolutely superb. My boyfriend then had an off menu item and I had more fish. The food was brilliant.

The service was good, very friendly staff eager to please but not overbearing. The bill at the end of the evening was very reasonable for the quality.

If we go back to Viareggio another visit to Nitens will be on the cards.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    148
    20
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Viareggio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and service but not the nicest environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Staff were friendly and allowed us to take our time over our meal. Started with presecco. Food was really good, particularly the duck and seafood. Restaurant was a bit plain and didn't have the atmosphere of some of the others we have visited but it was good value for money and generally a good evening - it's worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best restaurants we have been”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have enjoyed a wonderful evening at a cosy place. The food was excellent and we will be back if we pass through the region. We strongly suggest to start with the 6 tastings (6 assagi). As primi we took pasta maltagliata (excellent) and pacherri con salsa d'oliva. For secondi we took Fiorentina (1 kg T-bone stake) great!
Service was very good. Price for the meal, including bottle of white wine and a glass of red, Euro120. Worth every cent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firenze
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ideal for couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have been in this wonderful restauraunt to celebrate oun wedding anniversary. This was one of the best choice I ever made. The food was great, the service if possibol even more and the location is very nice. What I liked most of this place was the "anitpasto misto di mare". I think that who visit this restaurant shoild try it. Is consists in 6 differents plates, all of them are tasty and well presented. Then I tried pasta with sea urchin and fish eggs. It was simply gorgeous!
In conclusion if you are in Viareggio and you want to have a great memory of this city this is the right place to visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We went to Nitens for lunch and it was an excellent choise, the food was tasty and very good value, service was average but the food makes up for it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nitens also viewed

Viareggio, Province of Lucca
Viareggio, Province of Lucca
 
Viareggio, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Nitens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nitens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.