We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vinoteca Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mad Bio Winebar - CLOSED

Mad Bio Winebar
Via della Gronda 309, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
+39 335 625 3727
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Organic, Wine Bar, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a wine bar offer selections of meats and cheeses paired with our organic and biodynamic wines. We also serve traditional Tuscan pasta dishes like ravioli with meat sauce, soup frantoiana and other typical dishes of our land. To finish our cookies by small producers and macerated herbs Amiata.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Vinoteca Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

While driving from Pisa to Cinque Terre, we were looking for a quick bite to eat for lunch. We stopped in Viareggio. After plugging in the address into our GPS, we called to see if they were open. The owner explained that he was only open for dinner hours, but that he wasn't doing anything and that he would come and open the restaurant for us, which he did!!! We had some wine and a cheese and fresh meat platters. He explained all of the cheeses and meats and between his best English and our best Italian, we got it figured out. I can't say enough about the owner's hospitality and his willingness to accommodate us. Per the other reviewers, it is really more of a wine bar with food, but there was plenty to eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    27
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The only downside we could think of us the location. The place is tucked on one of the residential streets on the side of town that is further away from the promenade. But we think the trip is totally worth it!

We made a reservation (just in case), but because of the weather it wasn't really necessary. The owner is extremely friendly and kind. He explained every cheese, meat, mostarda, and honey that we tried - telling us where it came from, and how he selects his products.

We tried three different wines, had a soup made by his wife that was absolutely delicious, and a plate of desserts as well as an amaro and coffee.

The price was definitely reasonable considering how much we ate. This is great wine bar with an intimate vibe and a charming atmosphere.

Just keep in mind that it is a wine bar. If you plan on going for a traditional dinner, this isn't the place to go. But if you want good food and good wine, it's perfect. The plate of various cheeses, meats, and goodies was definitely filling. Our stomachs were absolutely satisfied. And the walk home was a perfect passeggiata along the promenade.

Note: He explained everything in Italian, so if you go, it's helpful to have a little Italian on your side, but we don't think it's necessary unless, you really want to know the details about the products. The food, his charm, and the atmosphere makes the place friendly for anyone.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viareggio, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

More of a wine bar than a restaurant, with great local wines. However the selection of pasta dishes, hams, salamis and cheeses was more than enough and the owner could not do enough for us and was very happy to bring out cookies for the children. A great variation from the standard Viareggio restaurants and highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nicest place to have dinner in Viareggio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Because of the very good ratings on TripAdvisor, and after a bad experience the day before in a touristic restaurant close to the beach of Viaréggio, we went to this small cosy place located a little outside of the city centre, about 20 minutes of walk or taxi drive at costs of about 12 €.

The owner gave us a very warm welcome and explained all the menu and the origin of the food to us.

Following, we had almost everything that Tuscany can offer and it was amazing:

Great cheeses, such as fresh Buffalo Mozarella and Ricotta, different Pecorinos and more. Delicious meat, such as different variants of Parma ham among others.

Tasteful homemade pasta, one with pesto and the other with tomato.

Creamy Buffalo yoghurt with chocolate and crispy cantucchini biscuits.

All these courses accompanied by glasses of different really good red wine, a nice sweet cherry dessert wine and strong espressos.

All in all, it was a gorgeous evening and we strongly recommend the Rossorubino to anybody who is looking for authentic, really good local food and hospitality in Viaréggio!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing MOOD and FOOD experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband and i were in viareggio looking for somewhere romantic to have dinner that was off the beaten path and after reading the reviews on trip advisor called to make a reservation. We found out that they were closed (it was a monday) but when the owner found out we were from out of town he agreed to open JUST FOR US. I couldn't believe it, not only was the food great but it was selected from local farmers and the products were fresh. The owner really believes that the ingredients of what you eat should come from a reliable source. Overall if you are looking for a place to have cheese, salami, wine, pasta and something sweet for a good price and nice ambiance this is the place for you

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Bio Winebar also viewed

Viareggio, Province of Lucca
Viareggio, Province of Lucca
 
Viareggio, Province of Lucca
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Bio Winebar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.