We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Viareggina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Viareggina to your Saves list
La Viareggina
Via Flavio Gioia 25, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 49 Viareggio B&B and Inns
Merrimac, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This place is the classic italian experience! With an amazing location near the beach, extremely comfy and clean rooms, and a home-made breakfast to die for .... there is no better reason to stay here than to know the woman who runs this place. Even though she handles the whole place alone, she goes out of her way and beyond all expectations to make you feel at home and welcome. She made my experience in Viareggio SO fun and feel-good ... it was heart-warming to meet and stay with someone like her! Actually a blessed experience. When I return to Italy, I wont stay anywhere else!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    29
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
42
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in August 2012 with our 2 daughters. The hotel is small and beautiful and Anna the owner is a wonderful hostess. Our bedroom was light and airy and decorated beautifully. There were bunks for the kids and a mini-fridge, which was very important in the heat! There was also air-con which did not switch off when you left the room so we came back to a lovely cool room after a long hot day on the beach. Anna provided a lovely breakfast which always included wonderful bread, home made cake and fresh fruit. She also cooks in the evening if you book ahead and it is well worth it! I had the best spaghetti vongole I have ever had! The wine was included in the fixed price and was excellent and I will definitely ask her to cook again on our next visit! We LOVED this hotel and though we would love to keep it a secret so there is space for us when we want to go back, but it is really wonderful. It is close to the beach and Anna will book a beach brolly for you if you ask. It is also close to town so you can have a lovely passeggiata in the evening and watch the sunset.
Grazie Anna per una fantastica vacanza e torniamo presto!

Room Tip: Any room here will be worth staying in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viareggio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

As a hotel, La Viareggina is great in terms of its central location to the beach and main promenade of Viareggio, and the rooms are very clean and comfortable, with a large overhead fan and air conditioning. We slept well and comfortably every night of our two week stay.
It is the hospitality provided by its owner, Anna, that sets the hotel apart. She was very welcoming and friendly and advised us on the best day trips and transport options available in the area.
We had a fantastic stay at La Viareggina and would highly recommend it, and Viareggio in general, to any holiday maker.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed four nights at La Viareggina and could not have found a more perfect place to stay. Anna the owner was a real gem and there was nothing that was too much trouble for her. She also suggested places to visit which ordinarily we would never have found. Our room and the whole hotel was immaculate and the hospitality and welcome were superb. As Anna has a little English some knowledge of Italian would be useful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Viareggina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Viareggina

Address: Via Flavio Gioia 25, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Viareggina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Viareggina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.