We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accidental Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare ang Via Flavio Gioia, 2, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Devonport, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Accidental Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After staying deciding that Florence was too busy to stay at we ended up stopping in Viareggio. Had a look on Tripadvisor and chose the Palace Hotel along the foreshore. Big old hotel with lots of character. We chose a room with a small balcony overlooking the water. Room was quite small but comfortable. Staff were very helpful in recommending some excellent restaurants nearby. Overall a very satisfactory stopover.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
51
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

I organised a visit to Viareggio for a group of 32 people, specifically to see their amazing carnival and arranged to star at this charming hotel which is located on the seafront. Without exception, the entire group was full of praise for this hotel. From the friendless of the reception staff to the efficiency of the restaurant staff, from the cleanliness of the rooms to delicious choice of food at breakfast and dinner - we could not find anything that was not up to what we would expect in this class of hotel. A couple of minor 'niggles' were promptly attend to and corrected and we were made to feel really welcome by every single member of staff. We would not hesitate to return to this hotel or of recommending it to anyone thinking of staying here.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Very nice hotel, and staff were very helpful. The breakfast was amazing and they have a very nice assortment of anything you could possible want. If you stay here you must go to the roof and look across the boardwalk. This experience alone makes the stay worth it. There is a vintage feel to the place and it is not a new or modern hotel by any means, but the room was a nice size (for a European hotel), we could walk across the street to get to the boardwalk, and we were very comfortable staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for 10 days in early September. The building itself is beautiful, 1920's style architecture with a fantastic location. Our double room was spacious and clean with a huge bathroom, although the advertised hair dryer didn't appear to be there. A quick call to reception quickly solved that problem and that set the precedent for the service throughout the holiday. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They were particularly helpful in recommending good places to eat and drink in the town, even drawing a map and highlighting non- touristy locations to enjoy! The rooftop bar is a stunning place to enjoy a drink, and the complimentary antipasti just kept on coming, and the sunset seen from here is essential. La Pace beach club which appears to be affiliated with or owned by the hotel was great too, although expensive. The process for getting a space on the beach (get a ticket at the hotel, give it to staff at the club who take your payment and show you to a space) was explained to us but other people were confused and annoyed by this and it may be worth remembering you have to pay to use the beach here. Overall, great experience, great location, great staff and definitely worth a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the summer and the hotel was situated right by the front in the middle of the lungo mare. The room was ok although a bit bare and the decor very old fashioned but in kin with the typical Italian seaside hotel.
The staff were nice although they didn't give us much explanation (car parking & access to beach) when we arrived.
Probably a bit overpriced for what you get but you are probably paying for the location!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We were disappointed with the hotel as the rooms we occupied (rooms 304 and 114) were certainly not what you would expect from any so called 4 star hotel.

On the plus side the staff were very friendly and as helpful as they could be. The breakfasts are very good with a large selection and the roof top terrace is a nice area - although the bar there is not open all day.

Room 304 did have a bath but no shower curtain or screen so if one attempted to use the hand held shower attachment designed for washing hair as a shower water went everywhere. On asking if another room was available with a shower was told that the hotel was full. The hairdryer did not work but on reporting it this was sorted out straightaway.

Room 114 had a rather unpleasant smell and the carpet was threadbare in places with part of the skirting board missing and there was mould over the shower.

I had booked with Citalia at our local Thomsons - they are both part of the TUI group. I have complained to Citalia about the above and other aspects of our accommodation. They state that the 4 star rating is from the Italian National Tourist Board so outside of their control. Even so I would expect them to regularly inspect rooms that they are booking so that is obviously not happening. It is evident however, from pictures that there are much better rooms available so when booking suggest you opt for a deluxe room. Thomson did not mention this option to us on booking and Citalia blame me for not discussing my booking with them!

I spoke to the general manager and he reported that they are doing rooms up so in time this will be a nice grand old hotel but in the interim suggest you check with Citalia exactly what you are getting before booking. Another word of advice. Citalia stated that I should have phoned one of their local agents to complain whilst away so if anyone is not happy with their accommodation make sure you complain whilst away. Worth noting that Citalia have failed to comment on the pictures I sent them highlighting certain negative aspects of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

When we arrived the staff were very friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable and we were grateful for the air conditioning. Although initially I was disappointed to have a view of the side street and no balcony this wasn't a problem as we mostly stayed on the beach until very late or went and sat on the roof terrace. Our room came with beach beds on the private beach opposite. I was unhappy when I realised they were deck chairs not sun loungers but we hired a sun lounger for 10 euros a day. The beach and beach bar were great. Breakfast was fabulous. There was an amazing choice of fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, cakes and pastries. Staff kept the buffet refreshed so that whatever time you arrived it was always full. Would recommend.
Viareggio was a lovely place to relax and visit. Loved the 1920 influence and the would go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors more likely to have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: Lungomare ang Via Flavio Gioia, 2, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the Viareggio coastline's most attractive stretches, a short walk from the seashore, at the heart of the Passeggiata and near the pine grove, it is an ideal area for a nice walk, to relax and have fun too. Tennis courts are nearby, bikes are available, there is a fun fair, playground, pizzerias and gelaterias to enjoy in the cool and peaceful green area. The Palace Hotel stands out for its lovely Liberty style facade. Some of the rooms look out over the sea and from the spacious terrace with American-style bar there is a gorgeous panorama of the entire coastline. Style, beauty and history give the Palace Hotel that special atmosphere which has made it, over the years, a point of reference for its international clientele. The Palace Hotel offers its guests free Wi-Fi in every part of the hotel and an internet point. The TVs in the guest rooms have Sky cable service and multilingual satellite programmes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.