We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our first trip to italy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare ang Via Flavio Gioia, 2, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
east yorkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“our first trip to italy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

we stayed at the Palace for one week 8/9/12 - 15/9/12 ) ,it was booked with Citalia . Not a cheap hoilday ,flights with Jet 2 ,flights ok ,delayed both ways
Transfers to and from airport to hotel ,very good

Hotel Palace looked ok from the outside ,really nice enterance , check in went well ,but no offer of any help with our suitcases or show us were the lifts were
The room big clean ,nice decor ( needs a face lift ) nice big bath room , plenty of hot water ,clean towels , but the down side , no shower curtain ,if some one had a shower ,it flooded all the bath room floor , safety hazzard , in the end the staff gave us extra towels to put on the floor ,which helped .
View from window ,looking at hotel other side of the road ,if you stuck your head out ,then you can see the sea .
we e - mailed the hotel ,re tea / coffee facilities ,they put a kettle in our room ,two cups ,that was all
all week they never gave us fresh cups ,had to wash them in the bathroom .

Meals breakfast ,good choice ,nice fresh fruit juice ,evening meals again good food , choice
of 3 starters ,main meal , plenty to eat , but waiting staff appear cold , unfriendly just serve the meals ,very little interactation with the guests , but if you are italian its different !!
One waitress from Ecuador was different she smiled at you ,had a little chat with you ,the best she could do with the little english she knew .

You were given a pass to get to the hotel beech area ,you was allowed 2 deck chairs umbrella ,use of the pool , if you wanted a sun bed ,approx 10 euros daily per person !!

If you went on one of their trips ,ie Florence 65 euros per person ,do it by your self ,on the train 18 euros per person return !!! ,see the same thing ,but no tour guide
Lucca much nicer for a trip ,


Viareggio is a sea side town ,bars , people in the shops ,bars helpful ,try their best to speak english ,cost wise ,dont think no where is cheap today ,over all the hoilday was ok ,nice weather ,( one day windy ,raining ) dont think the people are that friendly .

Trains and buses on time ,and clean and a lot cheaper than the uk .
Hotel palace reception staff helpful ,coopertive , chamber maids always smiled ,clean rooms ( did not change the sheets daily ) , only down side staff in the room where you had your meals , most of the staff unpleasant

Room Tip: we had room 310 on the 3rd floor ,good size room air con worked well ,good size bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    104
    35
    15
    13
See reviews for
52
116
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We booked this hotel despite our reservations after reading the trip advisor reports. The holiday was booked direct with Citalia and we voiced our concerns to them about the hotel. The agent had actually been to this particular hotel and she allayed our worries. Upon arrival we were shown to room 308 which was small. dark and had a dreadful smell. It was truly awful. After returning to the reception and refusing this room we were then offered room 205 which was only marginally better. The only reason that we decided to accept this room was that it had a front sea view and a small balcony. It should be said that in no way could either of the two rooms be classified as four star. We were utterly disappointed but we decided to stick with it as we were only staying for a week. During our stay we took a number of photographs of the issues with the
room and have now forwarded them to Citalia. We have yet to receive a response from them. The furniture was very old but not in the antique sense. The internal doors had many chips on the edges and on the frames. The walls would have benefitted from a coat of paint. The skirting boards were coming away from the walls and there were flakes of plaster on the floors. The wrought iron balcony was rusting as were the two chairs that were there. We also discovered on our last day that the air conditioning was not functioning. It was fortunate that we hadn't needed it! The bathroom was long and narrow with little space to manoeuvre. The Palace Hotel has a brochure illustrating rooms which are far superior to the one we occupied, which was not shown. Not surprisingly their web-site also omits to show this type of room.
It wasn't all bad though. The food was generally very good and all of the staff were polite and helpful. It should be mentioned that Viareggio is a very pleasant resort with easy access to other places of interest such as Pisa, Forte dei Marmi, and not to be missed, Lucca. The train station is approximately 20 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night at the Palace Hotel. The front desk staff was not very friendly and seemed more annoyed at our questions than wanting to be helpful. Our room was older but we had a great view of the ocean with a small balcony. The room was a good size but the bathroom shower was basically a tub so water got everywhere when we were showering. The hotel cleaning staff were very sweet and always smiling and helpful. The breakfast was very good and they had a nice selection to choose from. It cost 23 euro for the 2 of us to get beach access with a large umbrella, pool access, 2 towels, and 2 beach chairs. It worked out because we had awesome weather so we were on the beach from noon-5:30! Not sure I would recommend this hotel, but it wasn't a terrible stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

If there is a fine line between "shabby-chic" and derelict, the Palace Hotel sits around a mile and a half on the other side of that line! Please do not be fooled by the 4 Star rating, as this must have been granted in around 1940. This hotel reminded me of a £16/night B&B in BlackpooI I stayed in 25 years ago.

Despite requesting two adjacent rooms when making the booking 5 months earlier we were told they could not accomodate the request on arrival because "they were busy". The first room my wife and I were offered had plumbing problems with a heavy smell of drains. Upon rejecting the room we were advised that we could have another room, next to our kids room (great we thought)....but for 1 night only and would then have to move to a different floor! Only the intervention of our Italian friends resolved this.

The interior of the hotel is shocking. Corridors are poorly lit, with thread-bare, stained carpets, cracked steps and loose carpet runners on stairs, flaking paint, cobwebs and woodworm.

Our rooms were as bad. Blood stained curtains, filthy carpets, mouldy bathrooms, door locks held on with Sellotape, filthy fridge, ancient and noisy aircon, ill-fitting doors (a 1cm gap between door and frame in one room), ruined paintwork. I could go on but I think this gives a reasonable idea! Please check the photo's.

Breakfast? Well the dining room only has 4 tables that can accommodate more than 3 people and when we asked (daily) if we could move tables together so seat 4 it was either denied or the staff would shug their shoulders and walk away! Cutlery and plates were circa 1930 and rather disgusting. As an example I was presented with a tea-pot with the entire spout-end broken off.

Staff were generally belligerent or apathetic. I got the impression they had daily complaints from guests. We saw at least 3 parties check-out during our stay, and others we spoke to were shocked and disappointed with their experience.

The only positive (except checking-out) was the roof terrace and bar, which was the only facility fit for purpose.

The overall experience was extremely substandard and we'd have been disappointed if it had cost £500 for the week. in the event it cost nearly £2,000. Shocking!

If you only act upon one review of this hotel please make it this one. DO NOT under any circumstances book this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a good location in a typical seaside resort but is entirely let down by it's poor standards of decor,cleanliness & customer experience.Our seaview room was dark,tiny and in disrepair with a faulty bathroom.Upon complaining we were told that the room was adequate & that we should be satisfied with what we have.....not the greatest customer experience.Instead of staying for 5 nights as originally as planned we checked out after 1 night and moved to the Grand Hotel Royal which could provide great lessons to The Palace of what a 4 star should be.If you a fan of an unfriendly Fawlty Towers with Italian subtitles then perhaps the Palace is for you-it certainly was not for us!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great location in Viarregio. But noisy from 'bad' band playing across the street.
Lovely faded beauty is this hotel.
Great breakfast. Lovely dining room. Recalls days gone by.
Nice staff and helpful with 'what to see/do'.

Room Tip: If you want quiet - don't get a room facing the beach. But if you don't care - then the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Quite an obsolete hotel but with very proficient and kind personell.
Ask for a room on top floor (4th) not only for the view but because it is been remodernized recently.
All in all an average hotel. terrace with bar on top floor is very nice at sub set.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: Lungomare ang Via Flavio Gioia, 2, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.