We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caribe

Hotel Caribe
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caribe to your Saves list
Hotel Caribe
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via D'Annunzio 15, 54049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 50 Viareggio B&B and Inns
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The owner was really nice, Staff in general nice. Room was small but very,very clean and comfortable. Also the aircondition worked splenid! Very good location Close to the Beach and everything you need, 800 meters walk straight down from trainstation :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Hotels in well traveled vacation spots are a crap-shoot - some are great, most often disappoint. My theory is that businesses don't have to work so hard because the traffic comes to them, and I'll usually stay away from centrally located hotels because of that.

All this is to underscore how happy I am that Hotel Caribe is a very well run establishment just half a block from the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful. Strike up a conversation and they'll give all kinds of tips for enjoying the area.

Our rooms was clean, comfortable, and old-school spartan. The Air conditioner worked great. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is quite small, but the fixtures are all new, work great, and its kep quite clean.

We ended up eating at the hotel's restaurant a bit. Apparently, they have packages to provide all meals, but can accommodate anyone with tad bit of notice. Breakfast is continental style with a coffee bar that was able to keep pace with my incessant need for doppios. Lunch & Dinner were absolutely fine - better fare than the beachside restaurants we sampled - and service was spot on.

Parking is on-street - be sure to ask for a neighborhood parking pass so you don't get ticketed. I don't think the staff speaks English - but they are fluent in gestures, so I got around no problems.

Hotel Caribe - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Just back from 4 nights at the Caribe in Viareggio and it was hugely enjoyable. the hotel is a typical 3 star private hotel with a big airy room with excellent air conditioning and a super balcony with a sea and mountain views. It is also ideally situated just 50 m from the promenade right in very centre of Viareggio, and easily reached on foot from both the bus and railway stations. What made the stay really memorable, however, were the staff who couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable.
Breakfast is served from 8am but yesterday morning we had to leave the hotel before 7 am to get to Pisa airport. As we checked out we were given a packed breakfast for our travels and then the young girl topped that off by making us a fresh coffee served with warm croissants! In all my many, many years of travelling no one has ever done that before.
Caribe left us with a very positive feeling for Viareggio and Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony. It is worth the little extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

hotel was clean with varied food lake views were brill all inclusive was a waste as wine and beer was not to good had to go on all the trips which was worthwhile as the hotel is in the middle of nowhere and theres no food during the day the staff was friendly and helpfull good value for what we paid also thank you to our driver barry who helped me on and off the bus a gentleman if ever there was one

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goole
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Hotel generally clean and welcoming.Rooms were clean with fantastic views over the lake and mountains.Lacking in air conditioning rooms were very hot during the hot weather.Food was very basic and drink was not to a very high standard during the all inclusive 3hour session.Hotel was miles from anywhere so not convenient for strolls to a village/town

Room Tip: all rooms have lake view and hotel is three floors high .Must have own transport .Staff very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribe

Address: Via D'Annunzio 15, 54049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.