We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and lovely family!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Katy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Katy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Katy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Flavio Gioia 12/14, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and lovely family!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Perfect location just minutes from the beach, shops and bars. Such a lovely family who run the hotel, they are really helpful and found us train times etc. Great breakfast too!! About 15 mins from the station which runs all the time to Florence, Pisa etc. Rooms are all that you need and the aircon isn't noisy!! Will be definitely staying here next time I visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    42
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
75
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Katy as a family of three for the last two weeks of August 2012. We had two rooms, one double and one single (rooms 303 & 307). Upon our arrival we were greeted in a friendly manner by the owner and shown our rooms. Double room was adequate (front of hotel, balcony and sea view) with ensuite bathroom, and same could be said of the single room (a good size for a single). The rooms are absolutely spotless (very important for the females in our family!) and are cleaned every day by a cheerful band of cleaners. The breakfast is everything you could ask for and more. The hosts are really friendly and go out of their way to ensure you are having an enjoyable holiday. You only have to ask and they will gladly print out train timetables and maps of places of interest, and also provide beach towels (get a discounted rate for sunbeds through the hotel at Bagno Maurizio). This is a well run friendly family hotel and I would have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal,Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just stayed here for two weeks. We had a triple room on a high floor to the rear of the hotel and we had a view from our balcony of the Med on one side and the mountains on the other. I will not repeat the earlier comments about friendliness, cleanliness, value and location, except to confirm that they are accurate.

Viareggio is a very good base from which to explore this region of Italy, including Florence, Pisa, Lucca and the Cinque Terre. It provides the opportunity to combine some sightseeing and culture with rest and recreation. Good variety of restaurants. We would have preferred to have a little more nightlife (music, dancing, etc) in the centre of the resort.

If you are thinking of visiting this part of Italy and are looking for a family-friendly place to stay, look no further than the Hotel Katy in Viareggio.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter and have good views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Katy for three nights while travelling around Italy. The hotel is located just off the main street that runs along the beech front, so is ideally placed for access to the beach and restaurants.

Our room although very small was clean and well maintained with a very strong a/c machine, only complaint would be that the shower cubicle was quite small but we did book very late and they did mention the size of the room when we booked. Generally the hotel is well kept and the staff helpful when asked about local activities and sights, however I think this is understandable that they would not give you all this info when checking in as many people come simple to sit on the beach.

Overall a nice small hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viareggio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Excellent stay, lovely room with balcony, close to sea, 15 mins walk from station & central for amenities. Very friendly & helpful staff. Very good breakfast, large selection. Air conditioning in room.
Only slight negative - bit of stale smoke smell in corridors.
Would definitely reccommend & return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Hotel Katy is a simple, small family-owned hotel, located half a block from the promenade and half a block from the local park. The owners are friendly and helpful. They provide extensive assistance with checking train and boat schedules. The included breakfast is fresh and varied, with lots of fresh fruit, juices, pastries, eggs, and other options. A barista is there to serve you at breakfast as well. The train station is only a 10 to 15 minute walk, with easy access to Pisa, Lucca, Cinque Terre, La Spezia, Florence, as well as a 3-hour ferry ride to Monterosso. The local park is family friendly, with pony rides, an extensive array of bicycles, jogging or bike paths, and other activities for children. The rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Six members of our family stayed four nights here in June of 2012, and it turned out to be a delightful stay after our hectic days in Rome. Such friendly and helpful people! Family-owned, spotless rooms, great, and I mean really great, breakfast. Located next to the beach and promenade, not far from the railway station, sea view rooms, friendly and helpful English-speaking staff. Gave us all the information we needed for our next stop. Certainly everything a hotel it should be.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Katy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katy

Address: Via Flavio Gioia 12/14, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Katy 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Katy is a completely renovated 3 star hotel. Situated a few feet away from the Viareggio promenade in an advantagious spot, a few metres from both the sea and the pine woods.The hotel offers its guests very comfortable rooms, all equipped with air-conditioning, colour tv, fridge, safe and telephone.The hotel offer bed and breakfast service. The breakfast buffet is served from 8:00 to 10:30 in the breakfast room. For hotel guests, special agreement with bathing establishments and restaurants nearby. Bicycles can be rented in the nearby pine forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Katy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Katy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.