We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Katy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Katy to your Saves list
Hotel Katy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Flavio Gioia 12/14, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Donegal,Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just stayed here for two weeks. We had a triple room on a high floor to the rear of the hotel and we had a view from our balcony of the Med on one side and the mountains on the other. I will not repeat the earlier comments about friendliness, cleanliness, value and location, except to confirm that they are accurate.

Viareggio is a very good base from which to explore this region of Italy, including Florence, Pisa, Lucca and the Cinque Terre. It provides the opportunity to combine some sightseeing and culture with rest and recreation. Good variety of restaurants. We would have preferred to have a little more nightlife (music, dancing, etc) in the centre of the resort.

If you are thinking of visiting this part of Italy and are looking for a family-friendly place to stay, look no further than the Hotel Katy in Viareggio.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter and have good views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    45
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
53
85
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Katy for three nights while travelling around Italy. The hotel is located just off the main street that runs along the beech front, so is ideally placed for access to the beach and restaurants.

Our room although very small was clean and well maintained with a very strong a/c machine, only complaint would be that the shower cubicle was quite small but we did book very late and they did mention the size of the room when we booked. Generally the hotel is well kept and the staff helpful when asked about local activities and sights, however I think this is understandable that they would not give you all this info when checking in as many people come simple to sit on the beach.

Overall a nice small hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viareggio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Excellent stay, lovely room with balcony, close to sea, 15 mins walk from station & central for amenities. Very friendly & helpful staff. Very good breakfast, large selection. Air conditioning in room.
Only slight negative - bit of stale smoke smell in corridors.
Would definitely reccommend & return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Hotel Katy is a simple, small family-owned hotel, located half a block from the promenade and half a block from the local park. The owners are friendly and helpful. They provide extensive assistance with checking train and boat schedules. The included breakfast is fresh and varied, with lots of fresh fruit, juices, pastries, eggs, and other options. A barista is there to serve you at breakfast as well. The train station is only a 10 to 15 minute walk, with easy access to Pisa, Lucca, Cinque Terre, La Spezia, Florence, as well as a 3-hour ferry ride to Monterosso. The local park is family friendly, with pony rides, an extensive array of bicycles, jogging or bike paths, and other activities for children. The rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Six members of our family stayed four nights here in June of 2012, and it turned out to be a delightful stay after our hectic days in Rome. Such friendly and helpful people! Family-owned, spotless rooms, great, and I mean really great, breakfast. Located next to the beach and promenade, not far from the railway station, sea view rooms, friendly and helpful English-speaking staff. Gave us all the information we needed for our next stop. Certainly everything a hotel it should be.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

A lovely hotel. Great staff, friendly and informative. Decent size room and the bathroom was surprisingly large. A delicious breakfast with lovely coffee. Round the corner from the beach and not too far from the railway station. Viareggio itself is truly lovely with fabulous restaurants dotted around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Katy for four nights in June 2012 and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff were very friendly and helpful giving us good restaurant suggestions, general information and a map of Pisa for our onward trip when we were checking out. They printed train timetables for us for a day trip. Our room looked out to the rear of the hotel and was spacious and very clean and comfortable. The aircon worked well and was really welcome as the weather was hot during our stay. It's less than a minute to the beach where we spent a lovely few days relaxing at the place recommended to us by the hotel. They hotel will provide you beach towels. Viareggio is only 20 minutes by train form Pisa and the hotel is only a short walk from the station - 15 mins max if you're pulling a case. We recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Katy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katy

Address: Via Flavio Gioia 12/14, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Katy 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Katy is a completely renovated 3 star hotel. Situated a few feet away from the Viareggio promenade in an advantagious spot, a few metres from both the sea and the pine woods.The hotel offers its guests very comfortable rooms, all equipped with air-conditioning, colour tv, fridge, safe and telephone.The hotel offer bed and breakfast service. The breakfast buffet is served from 8:00 to 10:30 in the breakfast room. For hotel guests, special agreement with bathing establishments and restaurants nearby. Bicycles can be rented in the nearby pine forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Katy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Katy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.