We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value hotel in excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rex to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rex
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Martino, 48, 55049 Viareggio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Value hotel in excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In reviewing this hotel it's important to remember it is a two star hotel and offers two star facilities.
The room was spacious good size bed, air conditioning, good power shower in en suite. A small fridge and flat screen TV in the room. No balcony, no view (well view of service area). Free wifi but it doesn't work consistently in the bedroom only in the lounge. No breakfast, you can buy tickets for hotel garden next door, buffet breakfast there is awful not worth the £4 per head.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Location is excellent - station at one end of street (routes to Milan, Genova, Florence, Rome, Pisa and Luca all direct) beach and promenade at the other.
It's not fantastic, but it is good value

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunakeszi, Pest, Hungary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Nice hotel on a quiet street, but still in the center of the town. Close to private beaches. The stuff was nice and helpful, provided us a map. The room was basic, but everything we needed was in there and it was clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We included a 2 night trip to Viareggio when visiting Florence and Pisa. Our room was a decent size and clean, but very basic. The location of the hotel is perfect, 100m from the beach and very close to the train station. Viareggio itself is a wonderful town, free of the tourists in the cities. We hardly spent any time in the room, so it suited us well. I think if we were staying in Viareggio for any longer I think we would look to stay in a better standard hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights during July 2012. The hotel is small but very charming, with nice clean rooms on a quiet street near the beach. The staff was very nice and very helpful. A very cozy hotel with a nice atmosphere! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Via San Martino, 48, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 55 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rex 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.