We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard to find better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais del Nazionale

Save Saved
You added Relais del Nazionale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais del Nazionale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Statale 20, 14, 12019 Vernante, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Vernante
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“hard to find better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have been coming here for 6 years and have NEVER had a bad experience. The food in the restaurant is outstanding, the service is attentive without being oppressive, you feel like you're the guest in a family home which offers the appointment of a luxury hotel, great spa, and some of the best eating and drinking you can ever imagine. This is where the benefit of family owned really comes to mean something. The pride of history runs through every decision that the owners make such that no compromise is justified as there is always the next 100 years of reputation to build on.

The menu in the restaurant is a mixture of sophisticated, high quality cuisine, drawing on the local delicacies and presenting them with the most professional haute cuisine capabilities. Before you pick the wine ask the advise of Cristian who is a passionate sommelier who considers compatibility and quality rather than just pushing the price.

Each room is carefully and individually style allowing you to return to this hotel and experience a new setting as fresh as the first time you walked in.

Room Tip: If you are looking to have beauty treatments ask for them in advance so that the managers can book t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
72
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

It has taken me a while to get to writing last summer's reviews, but I wanted this one to be the first, because the Relais is a very wonderful place. The lodge itself is lovely, and although it has the look of an attractive old lodge, and we wondered at first about soundproofing, in fact we never heard a thing, despite there being a family with two small children in the room next to ours. We had a room in the back of the lodge, with a balcony overlooking the stream, and with the French doors open the sound of the running water was soothing.The room was charming too. The bed really was spectacular--the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.

As others have mentioned, the sauna area is heavenly (fresh lemonade and ice tea), and the organic breakfast--wonderful bread and jams from a nearby farm, farm-fresh eggs--delicious. The owners are also wonderful--genuinely nice, friendly, helpful. The family has been in the hotel business in Vernante for over a century, we learned. We ate lunch at the cafe in the related hotel across the street one day, and it was very nice: well-prepared, moderately priced, simple food. (We didn't try the upscale restaurant, also in the hotel.)

Finally, the surrounding area itself is achingly beautiful--take a look at the old church up the road, framed by the glorious mountain. We drove up into the mountains and hiked ond day. I'm never sure how to react to over the top reviews--but this really is the real thing, an experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My Husband and I have been here four times. The rooms are absolutely beautiful, the character is amazing. All the rooms have different themes and are all unique. The staff so friendly to make it an even nicer experience. The area is really pretty and there are fabulous walks nearby.

Room Tip: All great rooms but perhaps request one facing the gardens as opposed to the road,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I saw the reviews of this relaid on trip advisor. We were driving from Lake Como to Nice and thought we would try it. I'm so happy we did. Everyone was so nice. Our room was perfect. The bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was very modern but looked rustic. Hotel was totally renovated in 2007. It looks old but isn't. Dinner is gourmet and wonderful. Everyone speaks perfect English. We did not try the spa but it looked very nice. They have a shuttle to the ski lifts. This is a very charming place and we would definitely return. They have tea at 5pm and breakfast included in the rate. Breakfast was good with meats, cheese, bread and soft boiled eggs. Also cereal, yogurt and fruits.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just the greatest, what can I say:
Great staff, kind helpful and efficient
Lovely clean and recently renovated rooms
Hotel is right in the centre of Vernante
The food, organic, and home grown - amazing dinner
The breakfast was also great with a lovely girl in attendance constantly

This hotel is one of the best places that we stayed, and we recommend it to all our friends and we will certainly be back.
All the best to the family who own and run this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We just came back from this great place. We needed a weekend off not far away from home (antibes) and i looked for a hotel with a spa.
On our arrival we were upgraded to a superior room that was available with no charge. The room was very spacious and nicely decorated with winter/snow details.
The spa is nice too with a sauna, hammam, aromashowers and relaxing room, all included in the price.
We ate at the restaurant across the road, belonging to the same family. Four-plates dishes for 33 euros were really delicious.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apricale
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were at the relais in July 2012, unfortunatly just for 1 night. It was perfect. The room good size, nicely decorated. Bathroom very clean with high quality fittings. Staff very fiendly and helpful. There is a Spa with a jacuzzi, two different sauna's, a turkish bath and a relaxation room which has a nice view and must be spectactular when it snows! I believe you can have massages and other treatments as well.
A very good breakfast buffet in a cosy room, which again in wintertime must be just gorgious to hang out by the fireplace. We have had dinner in restaurant Nazionale which was just perfect!
We highly recommend the hotel, as well as the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais del Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais del Nazionale

Address: Strada Statale 20, 14, 12019 Vernante, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Vernante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Vernante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais del Nazionale 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real alpine lodge. The fireplace welcomes you in a authentic atmosphere “d’antan”. Only 8 rooms to share with the others housemates. The perfume of wood will enchant you and will drive to discover all the rooms. Different one to each other, but all with the same magical scenery. Hidden to curious people a wellness center “d’alpage” with sauna, steam bath, emotional shower, Jacuzzi minipool and relax corner. You will lost your mind in a marvellous place….. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Relais del Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais del Nazionale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.