We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pesce d'Oro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pesce d'Oro to your Saves list
Hotel Pesce d'Oro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Troubetzkoy 136 | Suna, 28925 Verbania, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Verbania
Grandson, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice hotel by the Lago Maggiore lake. Clean room, very nice staff, bit old style. Wifi is free but not very strong, this is quite typical for italian hotels. Parking is mentioned as free but actually, the hotel does not have parking facility, it's a in-street parking where on week days, one has to put 1-2 euro to pay parking spot. Difficult to find the parking on weekend days.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    57
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
50
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our room was in the annexe the hotel, it was pleasant enough, large bathroom, comfortable beds. The breakfast was plentiful, lots of choice, we ate here for both nights of our stay, unfortunately the waitress forgot my order, husband had finished before we caught her attention, said didn't want the meal 10 minutes after other person had finished, had hoped for an apology but sadly not! The wi if was also a problem, if it says free wi if everywhere then that is what you should have, had to stand outside room along corridor to get any signal, small problem but annoying! Overall it was ok, quiet area not much to do, nearby Stresa much better area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Very nice owner, gave us great!!! Nature trips directions.
Rooms are very clean.
Breakfast was very good.
Room was small but the owner said in advance and the price was in accordance.
The area is beautiful and a very nice bar operates around the corner (no noise in the hotel)
Enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birzebbuga, Malta
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We really liked the location of the hotel with the lake infront. The restaurant is also nicely situated - near the hotel's garden. In our room we were surprised and happy to find a minibar. Breakfast was good and the staff was very helpful, friendly and kind. We had dinner twice during our stay and it was good too. However, nearby there are good restaurants too. The room was quite spacious and comfortable too.
We didn't like the noise from outside (from other clients and from bars nearby) till late. Parking could also be a problem if you travel by car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view. If you travel by car ask the receptionist if they have parking permit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I booked at the Pesce D'Oro Hotel initially for five days but because of it's great staff, management and location we stayed for three weeks. The owners and managers all very attentive to the needs of guests. The staff is very professional and customer oriented. We has a very positive experience at this fine hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

A group of 13 of us, 8 adults and 5 kids ate here one saturday night, no booking and they graciiously accommodated us. The food was incredibly good and valued, the wine just as good. Along with the service and views across the lake in a non tourist location, it was just amazing.

So good we went back for lunch 2 days later. Awesome. Thanks

Room Tip: We ate at the restaurant, so no hotel room information.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggin Hill
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My holiday at Hotel Pesce D'Oro was superb in every way. This family run hotel caters for all your needs leaving you completely relaxed with beautiful views over the lake and the borromean islands.
The choice of menu and the quality of the food are also excellent and the rooms are clean and comfortable with power shower available.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone staying on lake maggiore. The friendlyness and family atmosphere make you feel most welcome relaxed and at home.

Room Tip: Ask for room 4 if you want the best balcony room over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pesce d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pesce d'Oro

Address: Via Troubetzkoy 136 | Suna, 28925 Verbania, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Verbania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pesce d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Lake, this 16th century ancient monastery is renowned for its beautiful viuw on the 3 Borromeo Island. Its 47 rooms are all equipped with private bathroom, telephone and sat TV. Wifi area. Family owenedrunby the Pizza family for 25 years the hotel offers a relaxing atmosphere and exellent cusine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pesce d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pesce D'Oro Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pesce d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.