We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel right on the lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Europalace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Europalace Hotel to your Saves list
Europalace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale delle Magnolie, 16 | Pallanza, 28922 Verbania, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Verbania
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good hotel right on the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed here recently for 2 nights (our 2nd stay here). Staff are all friendly & helpful. Although the hotel is a little tired & dated, it is good for a 3* hotel. The rooms are spacious and the view from the balcony is stunning. Breakfast is continental and very good. The hotel is adequate and very clean. The location is fantastic and right on the lake. There are plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from, all within easy walking distance. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    58
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
56
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here in Aug 2013 was a great deal - fab big room for 3 adults. Fantastic lake views - ask for floor 3 and above really nice town and fab restaurants. Parking is outside hotel but watch for parking restrictions - blue lines pay parking white lines free - even though this hotel old fashioned it has huge rooms, great locations, clean and great staff and fab continental brekkie total recommend. FYI no air con so had to sleep with windows open and road outside busy up to 1am approx. so take earplugs.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or above for view , lakeside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganey Tikva Israel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel is located on the beach of Lago Magore, managed and operated by a friendly family, and the service is very good.
The décor of the hotel and the room is a bit “oldish”, but well preserved and clean. We came in Sep 30, (out of season) and received a very big room, I estimate as it as 50 square meters! Our room was on the 4th floor with lake view, in the first and second floors the trees are blocking most of the lake view.
The bad is big and comfortable, there is a small flat TV, but no safe and no minibar.
The bathroom is also big; the bath has a rain type shower, but no hand shower.
The water pressure was not too strong.
Breakfast was good but diner was great, they have really good food in their restaurant.
There is a pier 100m from the hotel, but if you are going to the Borromeo islands (a must see if you are in Verbania) it is recommended to take the boat from Stresa pier (~20 minutes drive from the Hotel).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We chose the Europalace last minute and we were fully satisfied. Our room even if it lacked lake view was large, with a huge bathroom. Breakfast offered a good variety and the staff was fast and friendly. There are also many restaurants in the area and the bus stop for the center of Verbania is not too far off. Take note that if you go by car the free spaces in the area are limited.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Location was amazing and we loved the lake view! The hotel itself was a bit outdated, room was big with old retro furniture, air condition was broken. Breakfast was average, nothing special there. Overall I would say this was ok, we slept well and got some breakfast before leaving but it didn't really leave a great feeling that you got some value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights toward the end of May 2013. If you are prepared for dated charm, don't want any "frills", and don't expect top-class professional service, then you're in the right place!

First, the positives:

1. As mentioned already by many reviewers, the location is great - right on the edge of the lake, with amazing views.

2. The shower and free toiletries were of much better quality in many more modern and higher-class hotels we've stayed in. And as for the towels...proper large-sized, thick and luxurious!

Now the negatives:

1. Apart from one afternoon when it was warm, the rest of the time it was unseasonally cold, and the main heating had been switched off several weeks before. The whole hotel was chilly (incl. the breakfast room, which was very draughty), and our bedroom was very cold the whole time (partly due to its large size, partly due to the old and badly insulated windows). We were refused the main heating to be switched on in our room, but were given a small, very inadequate electric heater, which really didn't make any difference. We had to ask for extra bed blankets for all four of us, which the staff seemed surprised about.

2. Breakfast was very average - poor quality and not much choice, but you get what you pay for! The price we paid was very reasonable for a family of 4 including breakfast.

3. On the 2nd night, my husband went down to the night receptionist to ask for a couple of extra pillows just before we went to bed at around 11.30pm, only to be told "no, that's impossible at this time of night!" My husband couldn't believe this poor level of service to guests, and ended up actually having a row with the man, who eventually gave in, went and got the pillows (which took all of about 5 mins of his time), and brought them to our room. To be fair, he did apologise, but I don't consider that guests should be treated with such unnecessary rudeness.

To sum up, the price was reasonable, but we probably wouldn't stay there again, although the negatives are mainly to do with service, which just involves extra staff training and a bit of common courtesy to paying guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front near the top (3rd or 4th floor) for a fantastic unspoilt view of Lake Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband & I recently spent 3 nights here. It is right on the front of Lake Maggiorie & has stunning views (4th floor room). It is very central for the ferry and there are numerous choices of restaurants and bars within minutes walk. The hotel is clean and comfortable & offers free wifi throughout the hotel. The room was extremely spacious with 2 windows and a small balcony. The staff were all very polite and friendly. The breakfast was continental buffet style which offered a good choice of food and drinks. We couldn't fault the hotel. We would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Definately a 4th floor room if you require a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verbania
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pallanza
Hotel Pallanza
#2 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ancora Hotel
Ancora Hotel
#3 of 16 in Verbania
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Majestic
Grand Hotel Majestic
#5 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pesce d'Oro
Hotel Pesce d'Oro
#8 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Zust
Hotel Residence Zust
#10 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europalace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europalace Hotel

Address: Viale delle Magnolie, 16 | Pallanza, 28922 Verbania, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Verbania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Europalace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Europalace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europalace Hotel Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europalace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.