We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IN TOWN FOR WEDDING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Europalace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Europalace Hotel to your Saves list
Europalace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale delle Magnolie, 16 | Pallanza, 28922 Verbania, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Verbania
Dundalk, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“IN TOWN FOR WEDDING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here in Aug 2013 was a great deal - fab big room for 3 adults. Fantastic lake views - ask for floor 3 and above really nice town and fab restaurants. Parking is outside hotel but watch for parking restrictions - blue lines pay parking white lines free - even though this hotel old fashioned it has huge rooms, great locations, clean and great staff and fab continental brekkie total recommend. FYI no air con so had to sleep with windows open and road outside busy up to 1am approx. so take earplugs.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or above for view , lakeside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    49
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ganey Tikva Israel
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel is located on the beach of Lago Magore, managed and operated by a friendly family, and the service is very good.
The décor of the hotel and the room is a bit “oldish”, but well preserved and clean. We came in Sep 30, (out of season) and received a very big room, I estimate as it as 50 square meters! Our room was on the 4th floor with lake view, in the first and second floors the trees are blocking most of the lake view.
The bad is big and comfortable, there is a small flat TV, but no safe and no minibar.
The bathroom is also big; the bath has a rain type shower, but no hand shower.
The water pressure was not too strong.
Breakfast was good but diner was great, they have really good food in their restaurant.
There is a pier 100m from the hotel, but if you are going to the Borromeo islands (a must see if you are in Verbania) it is recommended to take the boat from Stresa pier (~20 minutes drive from the Hotel).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pully, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We chose the Europalace last minute and we were fully satisfied. Our room even if it lacked lake view was large, with a huge bathroom. Breakfast offered a good variety and the staff was fast and friendly. There are also many restaurants in the area and the bus stop for the center of Verbania is not too far off. Take note that if you go by car the free spaces in the area are limited.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Location was amazing and we loved the lake view! The hotel itself was a bit outdated, room was big with old retro furniture, air condition was broken. Breakfast was average, nothing special there. Overall I would say this was ok, we slept well and got some breakfast before leaving but it didn't really leave a great feeling that you got some value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights toward the end of May 2013. If you are prepared for dated charm, don't want any "frills", and don't expect top-class professional service, then you're in the right place!

First, the positives:

1. As mentioned already by many reviewers, the location is great - right on the edge of the lake, with amazing views.

2. The shower and free toiletries were of much better quality in many more modern and higher-class hotels we've stayed in. And as for the towels...proper large-sized, thick and luxurious!

Now the negatives:

1. Apart from one afternoon when it was warm, the rest of the time it was unseasonally cold, and the main heating had been switched off several weeks before. The whole hotel was chilly (incl. the breakfast room, which was very draughty), and our bedroom was very cold the whole time (partly due to its large size, partly due to the old and badly insulated windows). We were refused the main heating to be switched on in our room, but were given a small, very inadequate electric heater, which really didn't make any difference. We had to ask for extra bed blankets for all four of us, which the staff seemed surprised about.

2. Breakfast was very average - poor quality and not much choice, but you get what you pay for! The price we paid was very reasonable for a family of 4 including breakfast.

3. On the 2nd night, my husband went down to the night receptionist to ask for a couple of extra pillows just before we went to bed at around 11.30pm, only to be told "no, that's impossible at this time of night!" My husband couldn't believe this poor level of service to guests, and ended up actually having a row with the man, who eventually gave in, went and got the pillows (which took all of about 5 mins of his time), and brought them to our room. To be fair, he did apologise, but I don't consider that guests should be treated with such unnecessary rudeness.

To sum up, the price was reasonable, but we probably wouldn't stay there again, although the negatives are mainly to do with service, which just involves extra staff training and a bit of common courtesy to paying guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front near the top (3rd or 4th floor) for a fantastic unspoilt view of Lake Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband & I recently spent 3 nights here. It is right on the front of Lake Maggiorie & has stunning views (4th floor room). It is very central for the ferry and there are numerous choices of restaurants and bars within minutes walk. The hotel is clean and comfortable & offers free wifi throughout the hotel. The room was extremely spacious with 2 windows and a small balcony. The staff were all very polite and friendly. The breakfast was continental buffet style which offered a good choice of food and drinks. We couldn't fault the hotel. We would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Definately a 4th floor room if you require a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights near the end of our road trip round Italy and Switzerland. When we arrived we thought it looked the perfect place to relax and chill out. We booked a room on the 4th floor, lake view, and when we entered it was very large, on the corner of the building, so 2 windows. However there was a connecting door, and even at 4pm we could hear the neighbours very clearly and loudly!

We asked if there was a different room, and receptionist moved us straight away, to a room with no door, it was huge and very nice and very clean. A bit old in decor (check out the 80's bathroom, and tartan carpet!!) but perfectly useable. In peak summer it would be very hot without aircon, but we were fine in September.

The boats stop about 2 mins away from the hotel, and there is plenty of free parking to the right of the hotel if you stand in the doorway.

This is nothing to do with the hotel, but Vrbania is a strange resort, with lots of hotels, but literally no shops. We looked all over for a newsagent/drinks shop, and ended up buying all drinks from bars for the room (bottles of water etc.) There are plenty of places to eat on the front, just no shops!

Take a trip to Stressa for something to do, and look at all the grand hotels. There is a better buzz in Stressa, but the prices do reflect this.

We did really enjoy our stay, but for more than 2 days would struggle with what to do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor for uninterpreted view. Room 408 is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Europalace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europalace Hotel

Address: Viale delle Magnolie, 16 | Pallanza, 28922 Verbania, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Verbania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Europalace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Europalace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europalace Hotel Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europalace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.