We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo to your Saves list
Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale delle Magnolie 8, 28922 Verbania, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Verbania
Derbyshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

We organise trips to many places, using many very nice hotels, and I had the pleasure of accompanying a group staying at the San Gottardo in September.

My group loved the hotel..The rooms were very nice, clean, and spacious (and spectacular if you can manoeuvre a lakeview room). The location is also excellent.

And the service is exceptional! At reception nothing is too much trouble for Paulo and his team; they will help in any way they can.

And Nina and her colleagues in the restaurant added greatly to the trip with their service, enthusiasm and personality. Running along the road to wave us goodbye was a very nice touch that brought a tear to many an eye.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Also, If you require any help/recommendations in organising tours/
visits etc in or around Maggiore contact Luca at Tomassucci Travel in Stresa, 0039 0323 31862 (also on the internet) - he is excellent.

Gerry Johnson
LONDON TOURS

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    46
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
51
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

I stayed at this hotel with my wife and two small children for one night and it was quite pleasurable. I had a room with a balcony and it was very nice to sit on the balcony with a bottle of wine and just look out over the lake. The staff were very nice and very helpful. I used the hotel parking (15 euros) in lieu of trying to find a parking place on the street. Any spot on the street was scooped up quickly. The boat dock is directly across the street for trips to the island. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

The friendly, professional staff are welcoming and go out of their way to help make your stay a wonderful experience. When you add the hotel's most fortuitous location, this property is a winner. We asked for and received a room with a balcony, from which we had a commanding view of the lake, surrounding mountains and the fascinating islands that dot the lake and hold much of its historic backstory.

We arrived on a Friday and found the weekly market occupying the public parking area between the hotel and the lake, as well as several hundred feet of the attached lake front street. We made a few purchases while our room was readied and soon after, we checked in. Our lake front room was large, with an ample sized bed, and a large, convenient bathroom.

The hotel is conveniently located in an active and compelling area of Verbania called Pallanza. The car park directly outside the hotel makes parking a cinch, of course and just beyond the car park is the dock for the boats that tour the lake. If you are visiting Lake Maggiore, it is essential that you visit the fascinating islands that once were home to the Borromeo family. Their estates, each one of which occupies the entirety of each of these small islands, are now highly regarded tourist destinations. It is said that the family built their second estate on another island at the request of guests who complained of the screams coming from the prisons in the basement.

I can not say enough about the quality of the staff that operate the Hotel San Gottardo. They each seem to work endless hours, but do so with such grace and enthusiasm. There was no request too difficult or out of the question. We wanted to take our morning coffee on one of the benches that face the lake, directly across the street. Within minutes they had created a tray with all we needed to make ourselves at home in the pretty little park. We drank our coffee and watched the men sweep the park clean with handmade brooms and a stooped, pleasant faced old woman feed the geese that instantly recognized her.

We highly recommend visiting this area of the country. Easily accessible via an Autostrade from Malpensa airport outside of Milan, Lake Maggiore is also accessible to other areas One evening we drove north along the lake and had our dinner on the lake, but this time across the border in Switzerland. Centrally located along the lake, Hotel San Gottardo is an excellent choice, clean, reasonably priced and run by caring professionals, committed to the art of hospitality.

  • Liked — Easy access to the best of the area
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

The 3 star hotel is located right in front of the boat imbarcadero in Pallanza from Verbania district.
Welcoming staff are extremely nice and ready to assist in any manner.
The room was quite big, enterely overhauled with a new bathroom and with a great view on the lake.
Although colours are a bit cold and the room lacked some decoration, we felt at our ease and slept on high quality beds.
The breakfast was a bit disappointing however, with too average quality products for a 3 star hotel.
Finally i received an email back wishing me well after our stay there .. how clever and customer-oriented !

  • Liked — the view on the lake
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo

Address: Viale delle Magnolie 8, 28922 Verbania, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Verbania
#2 Romantic Hotel in Verbania
#3 Luxury Hotel in Verbania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent example of the Art Nouveau architectural style of the early 1900s, hotel Pallanza with its 48 rooms has recently been completely refurbished. While respecting the criteria of traditional elegance, the hotel is provided with the most modern comforts. Located in a beautiful, panoramic position, most of the rooms look out over Lake Maggiore and the shore that is just a few metres away. Air conditioning, garage. Open all year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.