We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid service after a car breakdown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo to your Saves list
Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale delle Magnolie 8, 28922 Verbania, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Verbania
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Splendid service after a car breakdown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

After a car breakdown, we ended up at the doorstep of this hotel by coincidence. Hotel staff were immediately very helpful helping us in with all the luggages we were carrying. Given our unforeseen stay in the hotel and the fact that the hotel was +/- fully booked during this busy August period, everyone helped to look for solutions to extend our stay in the hotel on a day-to-day basis. We could not have come to a better address. Thanks again to all staff members! Apart from the excellent service (including multi-langual staff), the hotel offers spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast is good but could perhaps be upgraded by providing for example more variation in terms of bread.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    45
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
45
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nice and comfortable rooms, very clean and comfortable with AC. Good breakfast buffet in the morning. The reception was very professional, spoke several languages, was extremely helpful to find free parking and also provided a great dinner tip (our meal at the restaurant next door was excellent). And all that in a very lovely place at the lake. Pity we could only stay for one night... would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent a wonderful couple of days at the Belvedere-San Gottardo. Everything went just the way it should: My online request through their website was answered immediately with all the requested information. Our room - facing the lake - was ready at noon. The reception was very friendly. The room was clean and spacious, so that we had enough space for our baby crib and even some more for our little girl to play a bit. The bathroom was spacious too. Nothing fancy but very much ok. It's true that it's a bit difficult to get one of the free parking spots right outside the hotel, but there are other free parking places not far down the road - still a couple of minutes walk, but as the hotel provides parking outside the reception for loading and unloading the luggage, that's not a problem. Breakfast is good. All in all a very comfortable and friendly place for a good price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We planned to spend two days and one night in the Lake Maggiore area so that we could visit the Borromean Islands, particularly Isola Bella. However, the prices for hotels in nearby Stressa (which is a very lovely and elegant town) were very high. Our Italian cousin suggested that we find a hotel in Verbania, instead.

Hotel Belvedere was a terrific find. It is located immediately across the street from the lake and has a beautiful lake and villa view. One of the boats that go to the Borromean islands departs across the street from the hotel. Our room was large and comfortable with two double beds and a very ample bathroom. We had a lake view room with a balcony. Breakfast was credible and the hotel was within easy walking distance to restaurants and shopping. For those who need it, the hotel staff speaks reasonable English.

Stressa is only a 15-20 minute drive from the hotel and Locarno, Switzerland is about 45 minutes by car.

Room Tip: Definitely get a lake view room. It is worth the extra money. Also, no need to pay for private par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is in a great little village and is the perfect setting for relaxation and enjoying Italian culture. Hotel San Gottardo is accross the street from the lake with a great view and centered near shopping, restaurants and the boat ramp for trips to the islands and other towns. I was pleasantly surprised with how nice the hotel was considering the location and price point. All of the staff speaks excellent English and is very friendly.

Breakfast was average for an Italian hotel (a couple meats and cheeses, a few breads, some sweets, yogurt, fruit and coffee) and I would not pay extra for it, but it came with the cost of the room.

I booked online out of season and was able to get the room at a great discount. We booked Hotel San Gottardo, which we found out is next door to Hotel Belvedere and shares management when we arrived. I booked a lake view room and requested an upgrade if available when booking, and was upgraded to a room with a terrace at the nicer Hotel Belvedere next door. At full price, I would not rate the hotel so high, but at the price point I paid with the upgrade, it is an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have just returned from a magical 4 night stay in this hotel. Everything about it for us was just perfect, great location, lovely staff, lovely room overlooking the lake. Verbania is lovely as well, we found that in every restaurant and cafe we were in had the same level of great friendly service. thanks Verbana and Hotel Belverdere we will be back!

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Despite Holidays Booked - this Hotel is lovely. Very friendly staff. Beautiful view. Good food.

They tried their best to sort out all the [--] ups created by Holidays Booked.

We had a large room with balcony on the third floor with a spectacular view over looking the lake. The only downside was a small children's play ground that sometimes got a bit noisy.

It is right by the ferry - which is perfect for visiting the islands and other towns on the lake.

Room Tip: Over looking the lake - third floor has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo

Address: Viale delle Magnolie 8, 28922 Verbania, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Verbania
#2 Romantic Hotel in Verbania
#3 Luxury Hotel in Verbania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent example of the Art Nouveau architectural style of the early 1900s, hotel Pallanza with its 48 rooms has recently been completely refurbished. While respecting the criteria of traditional elegance, the hotel is provided with the most modern comforts. Located in a beautiful, panoramic position, most of the rooms look out over Lake Maggiore and the shore that is just a few metres away. Air conditioning, garage. Open all year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere-San Gottardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.