We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Majestic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Majestic to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Majestic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto 32, 28922 Verbania, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Verbania
MLH
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Clean hotel, rooms size is nice (even the "low cost") , staff is super friendly and grives all information or services that can be requested.
Negative points: no flat screen tv!!!, no shower only a bath tub in the bathroom, way to the spa/swimming pool is very hard to find. Parking not easy, but ok, knowing how complicated it is in other spots...
Positive points: THE location is quiet and offers an outstanding view on the lake, you can enjoy this even during the breakfast, the pool is also great, it could open earlier (10am is a little bit late)
Thanks to the team, we enjoyed our stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    82
    30
    14
    11
See reviews for
45
137
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The staff were very helpful with making calls when we were dealing with a member of our party who became ill. The view was not great; we were supposed to have a lake-view room and we had more of a side-view with a small glimpse of the lake. We booked through Luxury Link and got a few extras, including a massage for each member of our party. They allowed us to convert that into a massage + facial for me, as my husband was not interested (silly). Also included was a dinner for two. We were surprised to find that they charged us for sodas at an exorbitant cost, even though we only ordered one meal (as my husband was ill and only wanted soda). We ended up complaining to Luxury Link about it and received a Luxury Link credit for the amount of the sodas. The hotel was unapologetic. It was a nice location, however.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Our stay provided us with the largest room during our time in Italy along with the most magnificent view of Lake Maggiore. The spaciousness of the hotel and what it offers makes it a standout and the winding road to the Hotel was well worth it.

Taking in the beautiful surrounds and grandness of the hotel make for a most relaxing stay.

Only comment is more a humorous observation of the plumbing in the room, very tight!

Room Tip: Must over look the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Historic hotel with super service and wonderfull location. You have to stop there? You will rest and wish you could stay there for ever.
The leader of the hotel will give you a felling of beeing at home.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the see
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in September and found it to be great as always, I've stayed here on previous trips. The rooms are large, even by North American standards, and they have adequate parking. Location is just about perfect, near the action but not to close and they have water access if you would like to swim. The restaurant was very good and the patio bar is a great way to spend the evening watching the sun set.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex by the sea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel, built in 1870, in true "Belle Époque" style is truly majestic. Entering, you find yourself in an enormous atrium with balconies on each of the four floors surrounding. Thus, every room looks outwards. The rooms at the front give onto the road which, whilst not too busy, will cause you to want to keep the windows closed at night to keep out the noise. We paid for, and were given, a "superior partial lake view" room. There was nothing superior about this room, it was tiny, with just about enough room to walk around the bed, one chair and a desk. We checked with the staff and they confirmed this was what we had ordered. Be warned, pay a little more, "superior" is not enough. We did have a good view of the lake though and the bathroom although also small, was good. As we were not able to sit and relax in our room, we used the public lounges which are very nice. There is a splendid terrace overlooking the garden and lake at the rear, where the very attentive staff will serve refreshments. Breakfast, Continental style was served in a very light and airy room also with a view over the lake and garden, managed by the excellent Roberto. Cooked extras available at extra cost, good service. We dined one evening in the restaurant and whilst everything was done in great style, the food was disappointing. My pasta dish was stodgy and my fish overcooked and dry. Perhaps the kitchen was under stress as there was a large wedding party in one of the function rooms. Never mind, a ten minute walk into Pallanza provides you with plenty of alternative places to eat. The front desk staff were efficient and helpful. Wi-fi was available, free of charge, at plentiful hot-spots all over the hotel, good. Overall, apart from the size of our room, we had a good holiday, and would go again (in a different room). PS. Don't miss going to the amazing gardens at Villa Taranto about 1k down the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Riviera
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and funny enough we found ourselves in the same junior suite facing the lake with a small balcony. My memories from 6 years ago were not as enthusiastic as this early September. I suspect that a lot of renovation took place during that time which has brightened up this hotel built over 100 years ago, This is a 4****S by Italian but also European standards (see pictures). I would not recommend a regular room facing the road as the lake view is sheer delight. The hotel restaurant served good food and had an adequate wine list. I personally did not enjoy the atmosphere of this large room as it was not intimate. Continental Breakfast was ok with good pastry and a priced menu was available for warm food.
The hotel is within 10 minute walking distance to the small town of Pallanza with a wide choice of restaurants and a boat terminal with regular transport to other lake towns. In addition to being quiet (the hotel is on a one way street) the area is cheaper than around Stresa. An ideal location for visiting the lake surroundings.
PS. My wife raved about the professional massage at the hotel SPA !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Majestic

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 32, 28922 Verbania, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Verbania
#3 Romantic Hotel in Verbania
#4 Luxury Hotel in Verbania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Majestic 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 4 star superior hotel located directly on the lake. Built in 1870, on the elegant west Piedmont shores of Lake Maggiore, the Grand Hotel Majestic is a fascinating exemplary conception of La Belle Époque. The Grand Hotel Majestic is member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World and since 2007 is recommended by Legambiente Turismo for its commitment in the environmental protection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Verbania
Grand Hotel Majestic Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Majestic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.