We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVERAGE STANDARD ROOMS, FRIENDLY HELPFUL HOTEL STAFF, NOT 4*” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pallanza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pallanza to your Saves list
Hotel Pallanza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Magnolie 8, 28922 Verbania, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Verbania
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AVERAGE STANDARD ROOMS, FRIENDLY HELPFUL HOTEL STAFF, NOT 4*”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed in this hotel at the end of August as a friend was getting married in the town. We had originally booked into the San Gottardo but as the Pallanza is 4* as opposed to 3* we were "upgraded" for free. The hotel itself is quite old in style internally, and could do with a refurbishment as it looked quite dated. We had a lake view room, and the views are lovely, unfortunately the windows didn't close properly so you could hear the road, and the road sweeper who does his rounds every morning around 7am (sometimes doing 3 or 4 drive bys!!). I'm not saying the hotel is in a noisy place, but the lack of double glazing etc mean't no really preaceful nights sleep. The bed was incredibly hard, and did not make for a comfortable nights sleep, and even the spare pillow was very hard. I am a good sleeper, and was looking for a lovely relaxing holiday (we had left our children at home) and a few lie-ins, it just wasn't possible.
There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, a small thing, but it would have been welcome.
The staff at the hotel were really friendly and helpful, BUT, and this is a huge BUT, do not be tempted to drink in the attached bar, named the Simplon Bar. We spent about €200 having drinks the first night (there were 6 of us, we're not heavy drinkers), and it was very expensive, but worse than that, the owner or manager of the so called Pub was downright rude. We got lectured for trying to walk the shorter way to the toilet (round a couple of chairs, instead of going the long way round!). 2 of our friends arrived and were just about to book into the hotel, when he kicked them out of the bar for having suitcases with them. I wouldn't even consider spending another penny of my money with this rude man. He's so petty, we saw him walking out to abuse a driver who had parked his car on the opposite side of the road, and it wasn't to his liking.
All in all, the hotel is ok, but €105 per night is overpriced in my opinion. Beware if you book into San Gottardo you don't end up here, i have no idea how good that hotel is, but the reviews are lovely, and i'm rather disappointed by the one that got away!! : (

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    52
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
62
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

From the moment I arrived, I was made to feel welcome. Staff were excellent and could not do enough to help. Fantastic restaurant and bar recommendations, everything was just perfect. Great location on the lake front, excellent breakfast. I`m definitely going back there again soon!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

We were sent to this hotel from the next-door Belvedere, which was overbooked. The same group manages three hotels in a row. Our main complaint is that free parking is limited, even in May, and the hotel garage wants an exorbitant 50 EUR/night. The booking site we used mentioned parking, and nothing about a surcharge. There was no staff to help us lift our suitcases up the front steps; not a problem for us, but it could be to others. We did not see an easy access for handicapped persons. The first day the refrigerator did not work; this was fixed. No place to place suitcases except on the floor. The internet logon expired suddenly at 10 pm; it seems it had been set only for 24 hours, although we were booked for 3 days. The breakfast coffee was lousy, and most of the bread was stale. The hotel is beautiful inside and out, and the view of the lake is spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Really nice hotel and area but the food in the nearby restaurants was average and very tourist orientated.

The room overlooked the lake and was NOT noisy. It was very clean and the breakfast was good.

There is plenty to see within walking distance and a nice beach.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We had a fantastic week at the Pallanza. We had a lake view, balcony room which was wonderful. Beautiful view over Lago Maggiore. The staff were brilliant, very friendly and so very helpful. For the money we paid and the standard of the hotel we felt we had a great deal. We will return to the Hotel Pallanza.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

(unfortunately) I spent only one night at the 'pallanza' and the experience was really pleasant. the hotel was refurbished in 2000 and the rooms are clean and neat. I asked lake view which was granted, and it was absolutely very nice to see the lake and the opposite shore from my bed! reception people kind, efficient and always smiling. breakfast served downstairs, with a variety of salty and sweet food.

  • Liked — kindness and cleanliness
  • Disliked — no 'twinings' tea
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

Our two night stay at the Hotel Pallanza for a short weekend get away was well worth it. The hotel is located right on the lake within 5 minutes of walking distance to the port (where you can take ferries to all of the other gorgeous sites in the area) and also to town and to the beach. The hotel itself is charming. The rooms are on the older side but spacious, clean, with a good sized bathroom and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We loved the view from our balcony. and while the hotel offers breakfast, we enjoyed taking it at one of the cafes right on the water. It was idyllic. There are also a few very good restaurants and gelaterias nearby and typically, for two, it was never an issue getting a table.

The only downside is if you are very noise sensitive. The hotel is well worth it but you should request for a room that faces inside away from the Lake. You will not have lake view but it is quite a noisy street and we happened to be on the first floor, above a small cafe and restaurant so on Saturday evening, the noise level was very high. We will definitely go back, but would request a room facing inwards. Everything was great and we are looking forward to another getaway there.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — Lake facing rooms were noisy
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pallanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pallanza

Address: Viale Magnolie 8, 28922 Verbania, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Verbania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pallanza 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent example of the Art Nouveau architectural style of the early 1900s, hotel Pallanza with its 48 rooms has recently been completely refurbished. While respecting the criteria of traditional elegance, the hotel is provided with the most modern comforts. Located in a beautiful, panoramic position, most of the rooms look out over Lake Maggiore and the shore that is just a few metres away. Air conditioning, garage. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Pallanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pallanza Hotel Verbania
Hotel Pallanza Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pallanza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.