We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax on Lago Maggiore in Hotel Pallanza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pallanza

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pallanza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pallanza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Magnolie 8, 28922 Verbania, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Verbania
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Relax on Lago Maggiore in Hotel Pallanza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

After a demanding business trip in Italy we arrived on Friday afternoon in Verbania at the Hotel Pallanza. It is located at the lake, very near the town centre of Verbania-Pallanza. It is a nice 4-star hotel with the amenities you would usually expect, an old building but well renovated, in the lobby, the restaurant as well as in the rooms. However there is a distinctive difference to other hotels of the same class: friendliness and the dedication to make guests happy. Without exception, all employees we had contact with seemed to be there just to serve our needs. Be it the receptionist who took care of us, or the young waiter, who served us breakfast with pleasure even though we overslept, or all the other employees we met, they all made us feel like being on a relaxing holiday trip.

The only not so positive point we could mention is the wireless LAN, though free, it is either unavailable or very slow. But I am sure that the hotel management will take care of this.

The Hotel Pallanza definitely deserves a top recommendation. Five smileys!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    48
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
50
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cannes
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

What do you want from a hotel? A warm welcome.....we got it! Good food...we got it..though it was a bit odd being marched along the street to a sister restaurant in the rain and asked to sit in a sectioned off corner because a coach party was taking the rest...AND a comfortable bed...oh how we did NOTget a good bed. If I had slept on an ironing board it might have been an improvement. I KNOW everyone likes different degrees of hardness/softness in a bed but all I can say is that if you are a "softy" then steer clear of the Pallanza. Reception staff were delightful and helpful and we got free garage parking. Lovely team.

Room Tip: Forget the room..take your own bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

There are several things we really liked about this hotel:
- location: excellent, by the border lake, possibility to ask a room with lake view
- helpfulness of the staff: constantly available to respond questions and clarify doubts
- good food: both at breakfast as for dinner
- transportation: relatively easy to find a parking spot (if coming by car), the staff will provide you explanations about the system
- the lake: the quay is just 100m from the hotel steps and you can easily enjoy the islands with a day tour
- several languages spoken: English, Italian, German, French

But above all, we'll always remember the personality of this place where the staff was always a smile!
Great job done by Pallanza hotel team!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We’d been here before so knew what to expect. Straightforward large hotel: comfortable room with good views of the lake, within easy reach of the boat station. What surprised us this time was the bathroom – fully fitted out for disabled people – very impressive. We hadn’t arranged for this, so I don’t know if there are many rooms like this but if you have mobility problems this is a definite plus point for the hotel. Parking is underground down a curved ramp - tricky if you have a large car but we weren’t charged for using it (off-season concession?). Helpful staff who speak English (of course). The restaurant isn’t open in the evenings (off-season, anyway) – you’d have to go their sister hotel a few yards away but we went into town for a meal (Osteria dell’Angolo is excellent).

Room Tip: If you're disabled, ask for one of their specially-equipped rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a very romantic hotel. The building expresses itself very well in its architecture and fresh colors on the outside and by the static ballroom-effect on the inside. The rooms are quiet. We had some sort of duplex room which we liked a lot; there was a desk and living room part with terrace downstairs and bedroom an bathroom upstairs. The pool area is very nice, its inside but the sliding doors give it a cleaner, outside effect. A spacious garden where everyone can find their little space to relax offers a relief from everyday stress. You can even order a boat to pick you up at the hotel and make a tour on the Lago Maggiore. Or you could walk to town and take a taxiboat. Town is walking distance and has lovely and affordable little restaurants with terraces with really nice food. Only one minus point: tiny bed with a rather hard mattress wasn't very comfortable. Other remark : We asked the person who was representing the sommelier of the hotel to help us out with the choice of a good Italian wine to accompany our evening dinner, but he couldn't say anything more than 'red wine, white wine and rosé, going from cheap to very expensive' ...? Also, the conduct of the Italian waiters wasn't very elegant not to say unpolite in particular to people who could speak only two words of Italian, and they seemed very grumpy. We were almost afraid to ask something more. Maybe it was the far above average age of the waiters. It was a four star hotel but it's Italy, if you know what I mean. Luckily the setting was astonishing and we had a laugh.

Room Tip: take a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The journey from Bergamo airport was a bit long and tedious (the trains are not very clean and the windows so dirty it is almost impossible to see the views). We made a slight error inasmuch as we got a taxi from Verbania station to the hotel which cost 20 euros for only 8km and had we done our homework we could have taken a bus right into Pallanza. The hotel is in an excellent situation and our lovely large room had twin balconies overlooking the lake with the evening sunshine flooding in and the colours of the evening sky over the mountains were superb. We only had breakfast in the hotel (included in our room price) which was excellent and comprehensive. We did not have dinner but there are several local restaurants nearby. The best one we found was just around the corner up a back street called Stregatto. They spoke no English and we speak no Italian but it didn't matter and the meal was excellent and good value. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was spotless with good linen and towels. We had a fridge in our room where we chilled our wine to drink on the balcony watching the sun go down each evening. There's a good tourist office and the boats leave just a few yards from the hotel. We would love to return.

Room Tip: For good views ask for rooms overlooking lake. Although there is a bit of traffic noise, the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great place to stay. Lake front room was very affordable.. Service was above and beyond? Did not think we ccould afford something this nice right on the lakefront and were surprised. Great town with lots of restaraunts

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pallanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pallanza

Address: Viale Magnolie 8, 28922 Verbania, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Verbania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pallanza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent example of the Art Nouveau architectural style of the early 1900s, hotel Pallanza with its 48 rooms has recently been completely refurbished. While respecting the criteria of traditional elegance, the hotel is provided with the most modern comforts. Located in a beautiful, panoramic position, most of the rooms look out over Lake Maggiore and the shore that is just a few metres away. Air conditioning, garage. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Pallanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pallanza Hotel Verbania
Hotel Pallanza Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pallanza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.