We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great customer service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pallanza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pallanza to your Saves list
Hotel Pallanza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Magnolie 8, 28922 Verbania, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Verbania
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

There are several things we really liked about this hotel:
- location: excellent, by the border lake, possibility to ask a room with lake view
- helpfulness of the staff: constantly available to respond questions and clarify doubts
- good food: both at breakfast as for dinner
- transportation: relatively easy to find a parking spot (if coming by car), the staff will provide you explanations about the system
- the lake: the quay is just 100m from the hotel steps and you can easily enjoy the islands with a day tour
- several languages spoken: English, Italian, German, French

But above all, we'll always remember the personality of this place where the staff was always a smile!
Great job done by Pallanza hotel team!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    53
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
63
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We’d been here before so knew what to expect. Straightforward large hotel: comfortable room with good views of the lake, within easy reach of the boat station. What surprised us this time was the bathroom – fully fitted out for disabled people – very impressive. We hadn’t arranged for this, so I don’t know if there are many rooms like this but if you have mobility problems this is a definite plus point for the hotel. Parking is underground down a curved ramp - tricky if you have a large car but we weren’t charged for using it (off-season concession?). Helpful staff who speak English (of course). The restaurant isn’t open in the evenings (off-season, anyway) – you’d have to go their sister hotel a few yards away but we went into town for a meal (Osteria dell’Angolo is excellent).

Room Tip: If you're disabled, ask for one of their specially-equipped rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a very romantic hotel. The building expresses itself very well in its architecture and fresh colors on the outside and by the static ballroom-effect on the inside. The rooms are quiet. We had some sort of duplex room which we liked a lot; there was a desk and living room part with terrace downstairs and bedroom an bathroom upstairs. The pool area is very nice, its inside but the sliding doors give it a cleaner, outside effect. A spacious garden where everyone can find their little space to relax offers a relief from everyday stress. You can even order a boat to pick you up at the hotel and make a tour on the Lago Maggiore. Or you could walk to town and take a taxiboat. Town is walking distance and has lovely and affordable little restaurants with terraces with really nice food. Only one minus point: tiny bed with a rather hard mattress wasn't very comfortable. Other remark : We asked the person who was representing the sommelier of the hotel to help us out with the choice of a good Italian wine to accompany our evening dinner, but he couldn't say anything more than 'red wine, white wine and rosé, going from cheap to very expensive' ...? Also, the conduct of the Italian waiters wasn't very elegant not to say unpolite in particular to people who could speak only two words of Italian, and they seemed very grumpy. We were almost afraid to ask something more. Maybe it was the far above average age of the waiters. It was a four star hotel but it's Italy, if you know what I mean. Luckily the setting was astonishing and we had a laugh.

Room Tip: take a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The journey from Bergamo airport was a bit long and tedious (the trains are not very clean and the windows so dirty it is almost impossible to see the views). We made a slight error inasmuch as we got a taxi from Verbania station to the hotel which cost 20 euros for only 8km and had we done our homework we could have taken a bus right into Pallanza. The hotel is in an excellent situation and our lovely large room had twin balconies overlooking the lake with the evening sunshine flooding in and the colours of the evening sky over the mountains were superb. We only had breakfast in the hotel (included in our room price) which was excellent and comprehensive. We did not have dinner but there are several local restaurants nearby. The best one we found was just around the corner up a back street called Stregatto. They spoke no English and we speak no Italian but it didn't matter and the meal was excellent and good value. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was spotless with good linen and towels. We had a fridge in our room where we chilled our wine to drink on the balcony watching the sun go down each evening. There's a good tourist office and the boats leave just a few yards from the hotel. We would love to return.

Room Tip: For good views ask for rooms overlooking lake. Although there is a bit of traffic noise, the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great place to stay. Lake front room was very affordable.. Service was above and beyond? Did not think we ccould afford something this nice right on the lakefront and were surprised. Great town with lots of restaraunts

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We had been travelling around Europe and stayed one night in Hotel Pallanza, having stayed a few nights at the Grand Hotel des IIes Borromees across the Lake in Stresa. What huge, huge disappointment. The hotel staff were lovely, really kind and helpful but the room was dreadful, small and cramped with tatty old junk-shop furniture, no safe, no bathrobes, in fact none of the touches a four star hotel usually has. Ours was a double with lake views. We had nowhere to put our suitcases or hang dresses - wardrobe far too small. The saving grace was we had two windows to open onto some rather wonderful lake views. The hotel décor was old and tired and the breakfast was dreadful. There was no hot food, no herb tea and most of what was on offer was cheap, some in packets. It is well over-priced for what's on offer so go elsewhere for a proper four-star hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a four star hotel with four star amenities we would advise you to try elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook Hampshire UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We had 2 nights here, following a 5 night stay at a hotel in Balveno across the lake. We would have been desperately upset if we had spent more than 2 nights at Hotel Pallanza. The hotel staff were lovely, very kind and courteous and could not have been more helpful and if we had paid less than half the rate we were charged it would have been slightly more acceptable. It was very clean and provided little extras like toiletries and towelling slippers. However, the hotel rates in no way reflected the hotel or its services. The building is beautiful and old and in a good position with fantastic views of the lake. But the road runs outside and it is so very noisy. We were woken at 6.45 by a street cleaning machine, there was a boat moored at the steamer landing stage that had a crane and drill and added to the morning noise, plus the normal comings and goings of people going to work, all these not the hotel's fault but something to consider when choosing a hotel on a road in front of the lake. Our room was very dated, not very bright and it was small - twin beds from which you could admire the bathroom view, or turn to the side and admire the lake view. There was no balcony or terrace. The door to the bathroom was a sliding door, which gives some indication of the lack of space in the room. The hotel has no lounge area to speak of, no garden space - there are 4 tables set on a very small terrace at the front of the hotel, overlooking the road and lakeside - the only place there was for us to admire the lake view from the hotel - at £150 per night! Breakfast was offered to us by the hotel, although not included in the price and again the staff are so lovely and helpful but the breakfast was so basic and quite mean - one kind of sliced cheese on offer, salami, ham and half slices of mortadella! The rates were for a hotel way above this league. Shop around, you could have much much more for your money. We didnt do our homework on this one.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Pallanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pallanza

Address: Viale Magnolie 8, 28922 Verbania, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Verbania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pallanza 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent example of the Art Nouveau architectural style of the early 1900s, hotel Pallanza with its 48 rooms has recently been completely refurbished. While respecting the criteria of traditional elegance, the hotel is provided with the most modern comforts. Located in a beautiful, panoramic position, most of the rooms look out over Lake Maggiore and the shore that is just a few metres away. Air conditioning, garage. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Pallanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pallanza Hotel Verbania
Hotel Pallanza Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pallanza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.