We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Osteria Il Monte Rosso

Antica Osteria Il Monte Rosso
Troubetzkoy 128 | lungolago di suna, 28925 Verbania, Italy
+39 0323 506056
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 148 Restaurants in Verbania
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Datchet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprising Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were in Verbania and looking for somewhere for lunch and came across this restaurant by chance. What a pleasant surprise we had their table d'hote two course lunch of pear risotto and perch fillets with potatoes and it was absolutely delicious. With a nice bottle of Gavi the whole meal came to 49 euros including a sorbet and coffee. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    60
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Salty fishyness”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I was very disapointed in the tasting meny with local fish. The chef seem to have been a little too creative. Most of the dishes were weird to say the least and the tastes were extremely fishy. And we are not strangers to funny fish tastes, being from Denmark. The pasta dish was so salty that we weren't able to eat it at all. some ofnthe individual ingrediens were directly disgusting to taste. So were several of the other dishes, but we ate most of it, as we thought it was part of the fishy experience.

Didn't have anything off the ala carte menu, but that might be a good idea to avoid the creativeness of the chef.

Waiters were quite slow in taking our orders and bringing the bill. Otherwise they were nice and helpful.

View OK.

Probably the worst food experience we've ever had in Italy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldosteria, Proprietario at Antica Osteria Il Monte Rosso, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Google Translation
Gentilissmo signore, mi rammarica molto il suo giudizio.E' nostra abitudine cercare di soddisfare sempre il cliente! Certo, la lingua è un problema,
capirsi fino in fondo è difficile ma avrebbe potuto tranquillamente dire cosa non le aggradava ed avremmo cercato di accontentarla.
Ricordo che abbiamo anche chiesto se voleva sostituire la pasta poichè fatta con una specialità: la bottarga di Lavarello molto saporita.
Il carpione di lago poi, ha sicuramente un gusto particolare ma è un piatto caratteristico di questa zona e bisogna farlo così, come si fà da secoli.
Usiamo solo pesce freschissimo e lo cuciniamo cercando di valorizzare le sue caratteristiche e le usanze locali. Siamo davvero spiacenti, non abbiamo
mai ricevuto un commento così negativo, soppratutto sul pesce di lago...anzi!!
Sono spiacente che non le sia piaciuto nulla, il servizio??l'ambiente??Mi spiace molto che i suoi gusti siano così distanti dal nostro modo di fare cucina ma per farle capire la nostra filosofia di lavoro
la invito a tornare quando vuole, nostro ospite ovviamente, cercheremo di interpretare al meglio i suoi gusti e di non farle avere un ricordo così negativo! Pessimo comunque è un po' pesantino, sinceramente, lo si dà in posti ove il servizio è pessimo, l'ambiente fa' paura, ed il cibo è davvero cattivo! Mi perdoni la franchezza ma non mi sembra la nostra situazione!
La aspettiamo con il sorriso, un cordialissimo saluto, Stefano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One the best restaurant of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This restaurant is simply great. Great food, great atmosphere and great staff. In my opinion this is one of best restaurant in Verbania.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Atmosphere and very good flavours !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We dined in Antica Osteria in July.Furnishment is new with an "oldish" style, sweet. Ask for dining in the terrace. We decided to go for the "surprise" menu, a 6 courses menu, fully chosen by the chef. The quality of food was very good, with a good care on dishes' presentation. The list of wines was perfect. Atmosphere was good, although not extremely (some noise). Service was fine: handy and well prepared waiters. Why not 5 stars ? We feel the food had not been extremely perfect for the "little above average" prices. Very good flavours and tastes but it failed to catch us. . Nevertheless , we strongly recommend this old Osteria.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saignon, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Dined on terrace overlooking the lake a few days ago. Only one other table besides ourselves. Good and creative menu choices and enormous wine list. Service very simpatico. Prices above average but worth it, would have had better atmosphere had there been more people but we enjoyed it and would go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Osteria Il Monte Rosso also viewed

Verbania, Lake Maggiore
Verbania, Lake Maggiore
 
Verbania, Lake Maggiore
 

Been to Antica Osteria Il Monte Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Osteria Il Monte Rosso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.