We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected Better for the Price Paid” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Contrada Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Contrada Hotel to your Saves list
La Contrada Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Vittore 25, 28921 Verbania, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Verbania
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expected Better for the Price Paid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We arrived around 2pm to a rather lifeless Verbania, and only to find out that the receptionist was out for lunch and lunch time in Verbania is from 12pm-3pm. This was inferred because we walked around (there are plenty of shops right next to this hotel) and noticed that almost all the shops said they would be back at 3pm. And as if on cue, life was breathed into this town after 3pm. One can only assume that people were either enjoying an afternoon nap or getting through a food-coma.

Hotel was locked during this time and we were waiting outside before a guest came, punched a few numbers and we followed him in. I think we would have been more unhappy if we were stuck outside, under a hot summer day, for a longer time.

Aircons in both rooms booked were not working.

Hot water boiler in one of the rooms was spoilt. At first we were happy to see one in our room, but upon touch, the switch button fell off. -,- We were not amused and our happiness at the thought of having a warm cup of tea was short-lived.

Receptionist also told us that the first floor rooms would be able to have access to the wifi. Not the case. We had a room nearest to the reception but our devices couldn't even receive the signal.

Breakfast area is tiny. Like it can fit 6 couples.

Thankfully, it was just an overnight and our group didn't think it was worth the effort kicking a fuss. I'm sad to say that it really isn't a value for money hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_La_Contrada, General Manager at La Contrada Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Customer,

thank you for your review, we are going to reply point by point:

1 - Since we are a 3 stars hotel, by the Italian law we do not need a reception opened 24hrs a day. The owner lives in the hotel, therefore, they should have either call or ring the bell located by the enter door. Italian people do not do “siesta”.

2- It isn’t our concern if the shops in Verbania are closed at lunch time.

3 – If the hot water boiler was spoilt the hotel’s staff was ready to replace it upon request.

4 - It is mentioned everywhere: on our website and in the hotel that free Wi-Fi is only in the hall area. In the rooms there is a free internet connection with cable.

5 – Our hotel is tiny so is our breakfast room. It is located in the historical center of the city. However, it is nice and cozy and it can perfectly welcome more than 6 couple.

Last but not least, we did to both rooms a free upgrade from standard room to superior room

Sincerely,

Hotel La Contrada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
32
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were in La Contrada for 5 nights. The location is nice in the pedestrian area of Verbania Intra. If your window looks at the street you might hear the noise of people passing by. The room was nice and clean too. Only the breakfast was unfortunately pretty poor, below italian standards. The price was quite OK for the quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Four star hotel - you must be joking. Firstly when we arrived at 2pm the hotel was locked up and in darkness. That was a first for me, a number was left on the door to call the receptionist. The hotel was clean enough but very basic. We did pay extra for a superior room. The bed felt like a mortuary slab. Free Wi Fi didn't seem to work, my phone and note book were "out of range" in the bedroom (unless this was switched off at 10.30pm as well). Air conditioning was not working when we arrived, it was repaired the next morning, but hotel management have decided that it is too loud, so it is switched off at about 10.30pm. The hotel is in a pedestrian only area so of an evening there are no cars, but quite a few people which is loud (windows open because no air con). At about 6.30am - 7am the pedestrian area comes alive with vehicles, road sweepers, rubbish collection trucks, so just as well we didn't want a lie in. The two members of staff we met were very pleasant and helpful, but I expected so much more from a 4* hotel. So glad we only booked 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_La_Contrada, Owner at La Contrada Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review, we are going to reply point by point:
1 - La Contrada is a 3 stars hotel and not a 4 stars hotel as mentioned.
2 - Since we are a 3 stars hotel, by the Italian law we do not need a reception opened 24hrs a day.
3 - Our hotel is brand new one and so our mattresses.
4 - Air conditioning was switched off just to give the opportunity to the guests to sleep well. However, the guest can request to have it on all night.
5 - It is mentioned on booking portals, our website and in the hotel that free Wi-Fi is only in the hall area. In the rooms there is a free internet connection with cable.
6 – Since we are located in the center pedestrian area, it could happen that sometimes during the night people pass through the street next to the hotel.

Sincerely,

Hotel La Contrada Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I was in lake maggiorre for a wedding from London. I needed a place to stay and wanted to avoid the bigger and pricier hotels nearer the venue. Picked this out mainly for the locality and the price. I was not disappointed.

It was very clean and basic. I arrived late and I would advise calling ahead. The owner got my email wrong so I didn't let her know until closer to the time about my late arrival but we gothere in the end. The owner was very friendly and helpful especially as I had a rather unwanted problem with my car and parking!

Breakfast is not included and I probably wouldn't bother as it is very basic and there are plenty of cafes around the place. Lots of ice cream parlours as well -delicious too.

It is located very close to the action - bueatiful streets and off the main square which has a weekend farmers market. It is however not off any main road so if you are driving then you will need to find a place to park close by and walk the rest. Not for the faint hearted/lazy! (or laden with luggage). There is a parking lot next to the ferry port which is actually the closest and easiest to walk to I found out eventually.

Room Tip: None really had much of a view from what I could make out -so first floor rather than second if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novara, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

New, elegant and clean. Awesome room, comfortable, peaceful Perfect location in the very heart of the city centre. Rich breakfast. Reasonable price. But... The "private parking" is a few hundred meters away, the area is pedestrian only, no lift is available (I had to carry my bags from the parking to the hotel and then up to the second floor – the concierge offered to help). No staff is in from 8 pm to 7.30 am.
Loved it and would recommend it. I would have appreciated it very much to be informed in advance about parking/lift (not clearly indicated on their site).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Contrada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Contrada Hotel

Address: Via San Vittore 25, 28921 Verbania, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Verbania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Contrada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“La Contrada” is a new hotel on Lake Maggiore in the heart of the historic centre of Verbania Intra, in the central of San Vittore Gallery, a few hundred meters from the lake and its tourist services. San Vittore street, a famous pedestrian area for shopping and always called "La Contrada", is the street that runs through the centre of Intra, from San Vittore square to the lake.The services offered by our hotel are of a superior quality, essential for those who need to stay for business or for a relaxing holiday on Lake Maggiore:- breakfast- internet- satellite TV- safe and minibar in all rooms- wrought iron beds with the duvet-style of Northern Europe- discount coupons for restaurant and shops ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your La Contrada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Contrada Hotel Verbania, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Contrada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.