We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais sul Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Relais sul Lago to your Saves list
Relais sul Lago
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   Via Giovanni Macchi 61 | Varese21100, 21100 Varese, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Varese
Valor, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights in August ... the hotel has great facilities, breakfast was impeccable ... Our room was located at the roadside and was a bit noisy (especially because we like to have the window open iso having the air conditioning on) ...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relais sul Lago R, at Relais sul Lago, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Google Translation
Gentile ospite,
La ringrazio infinitamente per il suo ottimo commento!
Cortesia, gentilezza ed ottima qualità del servizio sono da sempre i nostri punti fondamentali e ogni giorno cerchiamo di migliorare sempre di più.
Buona serata e torni a trovarci presto!

Simona (front office staff)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    79
    58
    54
    53
See reviews for
25
177
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Renkum, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

the hotel was great, we had a nice suite, with a large balcony and a beautiful view. the breakfast was okay, the spa not to big and a bit dark but the outdoor pool was nice. everyday they put fresh water, fanta, cola and beer in the minibar for free. the cleaning was oke

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relais sul Lago R, Responsabile reception at Relais sul Lago, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Google Translation
Gentile cliente, le faccio rispondere dalla collega che le ha fatto il check in e la ricorda con simpatia grazie alla sua foto :)

Giordano

"Gentile signora, mi ha fatto piacere leggere il suo ottimo commento. Fa piacere vedere che i clienti commentano anche dove il nostro lavoro, impegnativo nel periodo di vacanza dei clienti, è apprezzato.
Saremo contenti di riavere ospite lei o suoi amici.
Grazie ancora.
Buona giornata

Andrea ( front desk staff)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lonate Pozzolo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

When you make a reservation through Easybook or booking.com you discover that your room is in the motel part of the compound and that you are not entitled to the fitness club unless you pay a supplement.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relais sul Lago R, management at Relais sul Lago, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear MArc
thank you for 5 green stars!
About services, take care to check better your room choose at moment of booking. Standard rooms are cheaper but services all not all free in.
Superior ones have all inclusive to have a correct idea of all we offer.
Best regards

Giordano
RSL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were in varese for business and found ourselves an off day day due to a holiday. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean and restaurant ok. For sure not deserving of such bad reviews. Second floor rooms are better not motel feeling. Just thought another perspective was deserving

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione R, management Relais sul Lago at Relais sul Lago, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you sir for your notice. The new management are improving to follow a new line of services and welcome warm courtesy that was less well-considerated in past. Superior rooms are the best old classic style rooming you can choose in surroundings, improved with all modern devices and amenities. Ac, wifi free, newspapers, lovely reception staff ladies and a restaurant with a staff super, from chef Marco to waiters all. Check restaurant photos of Relais to take an idea!
I hope you will here again

Giordano GIorgi
management Relais sul Lago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I was here for some days due to a business in Varese.
The hotel is very similar to an american motel with parking area just outside your room, and that's good if you want privacy or if it rains!
The reception is very nice and all the people working there and at the restaurant were very kind and helpfull.
Unfortunately the room was very old style with a terrible moquette even not to clean (as moquette always is!)
The bathroom was very small but however clean.
Breakfast is quite good.
In the end the hotel was surely very good but now needs to be a little bit refreshed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione R, management Relais sul Lago at Relais sul Lago, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear sir, thank you for your comment. The duty of new management will be refresh all 62 rooms of Relais , but at moment we offer, like you saw, a positive hotel solution in our classic and superior rooms. Guests that will take a check of snapshot on google images will have an idea like restaurant before all, and reception lobby and garden too, are absolutely good to be chosen!
My best regards, hoping see you again in next stay in Lakes of North Italy!
Giordano Giorgi
management Relais sul Lago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I would not recommend this hotel at all. Staff are dreadful. Had booked for 4 people but had to ask at reception four times to get enough towels in the room and then they gave us 6 hand towels instead of four bath towels. They couldn't even get it right the second day. Staff cannot speak English - they say they can but don't understand what you are saying. On check-in there is no explanation of anything - has a carpark but we were left to find it for ourselves. We booked this hotel because of the spa availablity but when we went to use it we were made to feel so uncomfortable by the staff that we didn't. Restaurant meal was very confusing as waiter did not speak English either and we had no idea what we were ordering or how much it would cost. We booked and paid in advance through Agoda but when we checked out they said they wouldn't accept the voucher and we had to pay for both accommodation and restaurant meal. Ended up having to call Agoda from my mobile at a cost to me for them to speak with the receptionist directly. Room was okay - sofa bed for two teenagers. No views of the lake at all. Very disappointing. Not an international hotel at all. Hotel photos are not representative of hotel. Main issue is the totally unfriendly staff who really cannot be bothered to help you at all.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better but don't expect any lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione R, Responsabile reception at Relais sul Lago, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Customer
I'm very sorry for your bad stay.
I understand that you do not need to create excuses. The rude staff can not be justified.
Could you please take note of improvements exposed
-new staff hired at the reception with another Setting the rules of courtesy
-management faster and clear of catering services
-sales systems for differentiated rates and services
-But the photos are real, then, at least on this thing, I must say that it has never been false statements in the photos shown.
Please send us a private email to my attention.
If you want to return, we will agree a discount sensitive and will have a new positive memory of the Relais.

I hope there are new opportunities to meet.

Thank you for choosing the Relais *** *
Giordano G
RSL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seregno
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Having eaten in the restaurant Sergio 1950 with a Groupon coupon, I can only ask myself what these places hope to gain by offering such bad treatment. How can they possibly hope to get good publicity.
Ok, in ten people we paid about 22 euro per person and probably that was the value of what we ate, However, the coupon gave an estimate of 340 euros for 4 people, and indicated the restaurant as a 'Due Forchette' Michelin.
The menu was completely different from the coupon, the appetizer miserable, the starter quite good quality, very small portions for the main course and the dessert depending on the choice from very poor to good.
The service was very poor for a quality restaurant, in particular the wine which was supposed to accompany each course was served when we'd finished but the and when I asked the waiter I was told to wait because I still had some wine in my glass! The grand final was 'Dolce abbinato ad un calice di Moscato', served after the dessert in a shot glass from Ikea!! Such Class!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais sul Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais sul Lago

Address: Via Giovanni Macchi 61 | Varese21100, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais sul Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the lakes of Lombardy, with breathtaking views and beautiful landscapes, a stone's throw from Lake Varese, whose views overlooking the dining room and the bedrooms on the first floor of the hotel, the Relais sul Lago definitely has a strategic location, very close all'areoporto Malpensa International Airport, is located halfway between Lugano and Milan.   His position makes Relais sul Lago a suitable place for customers who are traveling for leisure or for business, as well as for neighboring communities to the city of Varese, which can take advantage of each of the services offered by Relais sul Lago   The Hotel dipsone a beautiful garden, in which not only is an outdoor swimming pool, which can also be accessed external guests, but you can transform how wonderful location for outdoor events such as weddings, wedding receptions, meetings, cocktails that are organized in the summer season with a weekly basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais sul Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Sul Lago Varese

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais sul Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.