We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel combining modern design and ammenities with old world charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel Varese

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Art Hotel Varese to your Saves list
Art Hotel Varese
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Aguggiari 26 | Via Giuseppe Bertini 3, 21100 Varese, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Varese
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
USA Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel combining modern design and ammenities with old world charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

I love the combinaiton of modern design and ammenities and old world style and the Art Hotel in Varese has found the perfect balance. In a renovated grand 19th century building, the hotel has nicely appointed spacious rooms with modern ammenities such as individual air conditionning controls and airtight windows (one truly appreciates this after walking all day in unusual 90 plus degree weather!). The shower was wonderful as was the view out our window of the ruins of an old stone building. Highly recommend. Walkign distance to the shopping district and easy escape out of town to sites north.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    67
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
60
7
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

My husband and I travel to Varese on business several times a year, and we have found our "home" in Varese. This was our third Stay at Art Hotel Varese, and everything is consistantly excellent. We feel as though we are returning to visit friends.

The hotel is a beautiful old villa that has been completely gutted and redone on the interior, with a lovely lawn and terrace in front . The rooms vary in size, but are all sparkiling new with crisp clean lines and great bathrooms. I like the rooms with the lower window sills as they afford a better view of the outdoors. The hallway floor on the first floor has a glass section lit from below that showcases the original construction of the old villa. An interesting touch. The lobby is welcoming and features an inviting fireplace in the colder months, or just a place to sit and chat with friends. A small bar is off of the lobby, leading to the hotel restaurant.. The restaurant serves a delicious buffet breakfast with yummy scrambled eggs, sausage, proscuitto, ham, cheeses, and high-end desert pastries - lunch and dinner are also terrific - the chef often offers "theme" dinner sthat repeat an ingredient in every course in afddition to the normal fare - we were there for the "Pumkin" menu and the "Chocolate" menu on different visits.

The staff is super friendly, professional, and accomodating at all hours of the day or night. They are our new besst friends!!!!!!

The location is perfect....the center of town is a short five minute walk, but one feels as though they are staying at an estate in the country. The perfect combination!!!!!

The ability to park ones car hastle-free.is a true bonus. We come and go as we like without worrying whether we can find a parking space upon our return.

Varese is less than an hour from Milan......55 minutes from Lake Como......30 minutes to the Foxtown outlet ,just across the Swiss boarder...and 20 minutes from Malpensa Airport. A great location for day trips!!!!!!....a wonderful place to stay!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranWilson
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

This is a beautiful old hotel that has been decorated in a modern minimalist style. It feels elegant, simple and yet warm. My room was huge, the bed enormous and the showerhead simply gigantic! All of the wonderful little bathroom extras were also greatly appreciated (sweet smelling creams, leg energisers etc). The breakfast had everything you could ever want and yet still felt like it retained a traditional Italian feel. The setting and the gardens made it feel miles from the city but actually it was very central and within easy walking distance of Varese. The only thing I missed was an iron but this seemed to be an Italy wide phenomenon.

I was most satisfied with this hotel and would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — the decor
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all over the world
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

Very nice hotel, has a very modern feel to it. breakfast is excellent, staff very friendly. Watch your reservation though- they tend to overbook, and they become selective with who they give their rooms to.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — mishandling of my reservations on 3 different visits.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Hotel Varese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Varese

Address: Viale Aguggiari 26 | Via Giuseppe Bertini 3, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Varese 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Art Hotel Varese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel Varese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.