We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, good staff nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Varese

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Varese to your Saves list
City Hotel Varese
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Medaglie d'Oro 35, 21100 Varese, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Varese
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Convenient, good staff nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The staff were very helpful, the hotel is on the edge of the City centre and has very nice rooms. We had secure parking for a small charge. Only let down was breakfast, not a big enough room for a rush of people and for an English couple the Italian milk was undrinkable.

Room Tip: 501 is a triple, we occupied as a couple, the third bed is out of site of the main beds ideal for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    37
    34
    9
    3
See reviews for
15
18
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is opposite the train station connecting to Milan. It is also in very short walking distance to the historic district. It is a typical business traveler hotel, which offers all necessary features and services. The room was spacious for Italian standards, well equipped, everything clean, and quiet. WiFi worked fine. Service at reception and breakfast buffet was fast and professional.

Room Tip: Select upper floors, e.g. 5. floor in order to be high enough about the traffic impact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Hotel near the city centre easily accessible by car. Rooms small but quite confortable, signs of time and heavy usage but good ratio quality/price. The b/fast is nth special. Parking on payment. Staff friendly. Bar closed at 23 on saturday. No smoking rooms available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Location was good - City Center as expected, Single Room was very small but clean, 10 Euro parking per night but at least covered, Breakfast was poor (you get more from a vending machine). Service was friendly and helpful. Overall Value for Money was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Location and parking (for fee) are very good. But room was quite badly worn out and breakfast was just awful. Service was OK, nothing special. For the price we paid in July 2012 I would now choose other hotel. Varese did not impress me a lot and is not one of my favourite places anyway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Easy to find. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean, neat and adequately equipped. However wifi did not work that well, interrupted every 10 mins, was a bit annoying. Buffet breakfast was average. We had a pleasant short stay. They have road side parking nearby. Value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We began our stay at the Palace Grand Varese Hotel, where we always stayed in the past when visiting our family in Varese. However, when we found that hotel drastically different than we remembered it, we scrambled to look for another hotel with availability. We stumbled upon City Hotel, and were very pleased with it. It is right in the shopping area of Varese, in walking distance to everything. The room was an excellent value, and was nonetheless modern, clean, and beautifully furnished, with very adequate air-conditioning. The desk in the room has a little pop-up vanity where a mirror and a hairdryer are hidden -- and it's one of those powerful modern hairdryers that gets the job done quickly -- not one of those old-fashioned hairdryers that you often see in European hotels. The service from the desk was also first-rate. This would be my first choice of a hotel in Varese for my next stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varese hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946
0.2 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#1 of 24 in Varese
5.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#9 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palace Grand Hotel
Palace Grand Hotel
#10 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#8 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Varese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Varese

Address: Via Medaglie d'Oro 35, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Varese 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your City Hotel Varese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Varese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.