We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colonne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colonne to your Saves list
Hotel Colonne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fincara, 37, 21100 Varese, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Varese
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel had the wow factor from start to finish - view, location, service, food. Highly recommend for those who want to experience Italy away from the hustle and bustle. After arriving from Perth Australia to say we were tired was an understatement. We quickly forgot as we navigated from the airport through the town and up the windy roads of Varese. Service was unbeatable, rooms were clean and comfortable with an enchanting decor. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    24
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
53
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland and Aroud
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

What i can say? Place is great, very romantic, people are nice, food is excellent. It is a family business, very personal and you can feel it. Even if it is not perfect all time, you feel being taken care of with the greates attention. And food is really good :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciutadella, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Third Regression Workshop at the Hotel Colonne and it still feels like a retreat ,Upon your arrival you are immediately greeted by Silvio and his beautiful mama a charming woman full of vitality..All the rooms are decorated with soft pastel colors making you feel at home, rooms feature outdoor terraces where you can bask in the delight of the mountains and the hills of Sacromonte, breathing in all the wonders of nature....Beautiful place to relax, unwind, or simply visit to experience a culinary delight......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cholsey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Colonne in September 2013, and every aspect of our stay was outstanding. The hotel is in a beautiful location in the hills above Varese, and the views from the rooms and balconies down to Lake Varese are stunning. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts and dinners, taken on the terrace, were delicious, and Silvio is the most incredibly attentive host - he really went out of his way to make our visit to Varese an absolute delight. Very good value for money too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel in July 2013, it's been a while since our stay but that hasn't diminished the great feelings we had of our stay here. The hotel is out of Varese in the hills but as we had a car this wasn't an issue for us and in fact made our stay more memorable as the scenery was amazing and the area surrounding the hotel was quiet with lots of walks ands trails. The rooms were classically decorated with quality finishes and we had more than enough room with a luggage room and balcony to comfortably fit 2 adults and our daughter in a port-a-cot. Vera and Silvio were fantastic hosts and made us feel very much at home. The breakfasts were fantastic, with fresh cakes, fruit and specially made eggs. It was a great way to start the day and left us feeling happy and ready for a day of adventure. We ate at the restaurant one night for a degustation and it was absolutely amazing, they even catered for our young daughter. It really is a must to have dinner here. We enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel and would recommend to anyone we know to stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony to enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had the best time in hotel Colonne.
Very good service, gourmet food, clean rooms, and the view from our balcony was amazing!!!!
One of the best vacation I ever had.
I plan to visit this hotel once a year, at least.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

For those who want something different, and not in central Milan (although there are some lovely places there) Hotel Colonne is a refreshing change. This hotel offers is set in the Varese Hills and best to drive there. Amazing views to Lake Varese everywhere, the rooms, the restaurant and deck, and breakfast area. Silvio and family have been running this beautiful hotel and restaurant for just over a year and are making many improvements. There is the Varese funicilare just Close-by, but this runs only on the weekend. Our double room was great and had a good size balcony, perfect for a few minutes of quiet relax. Relax is this place!

Silvio and family were very friendly and attentive. They make you feel special and looked after. We ate in one evening, and the choices were pretty unique. Silvio is Michelin Starred, so it will be good.

Beautiful park and more views close by.

This place will get even better in time. Bravo Silvio, e grazie.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but try the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonne

Address: Via Fincara, 37, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colonne 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This countryside hotel is located in Sacro Monte, close to Sacro Monte of the Rosary and Pala Whirlpool. Features The property has a restaurant and a Bistro. Guests are served a complimentary breakfast each morning. 24 hour room service is available. Business amenities at this 4 star property include wireless Internet access and business services. Business amenities at this 4 star property consist of conference rooms and banquet facilities. The staff can arrange concierge services, wedding services, and tour assistance. Additional amenities include multilingual staff, laundry facilities, and an elevator (lift). Guest rooms Hotel Colonne has 10 guestrooms. Televisions are equipped with satellite channels. Guestrooms provide in room safes. Bathrooms offer showers, handheld showers, bathroom phones, and bidets.All rooms have a private terrace with fantastic view. Free Mini-bar for soft-drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Colonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.