We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place in the hills above Varese” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colonne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colonne to your Saves list
Hotel Colonne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fincara, 37, 21100 Varese, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Varese
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
“A very special place in the hills above Varese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Albergo Colonne is a very special place. Set on Sacromonte at the base of the community of churches and chapels, it enjoys spectacular views and interesting walks and explorations, yet is just 20 minutes from the Centro and many other destinations. Host Silvio is a master chef and a most attentive innkeeper, who amazed us with wonderful meals, creatively prepared using delicious local ingredients and beautifully presented. He found time to pack a picnic lunch for us, to help with local transportation, and offer advice. Alert to our individual needs, he provided wine and a beautiful cheese platter, with salads and three conserves, for a party given by our friend at a neighboring bed-and-breakfast. We leave Albergo Colonne most reluctantly. We wish we could stay forever to be pampered by the pleasant staff, and certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    27
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
56
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel Colonne Albergo at Via Fincara 37 Sacromente D 1 Varese Italy

Already stayed here twice. The Hotel is situated on a hill in Varese and affords stupendous views of the Alps and numerous lakes adjoining the mountains. It has a quaint charm analogous to uniquely heritage hotel properties. The Rooms are decoratively adorned in bright colours, spacious and comfortable with linen change and cleaning every day . The Balcony adjoining the room affords a scenic view of the mountains and valleys below. USP of the Hotel is the myriad flavoured variety of delicious/sumptuous italian meals conjured by its chef and manager Mr Silvio. Very generous European and American breakfast available. Service is par excellent. The Hotel is managed by Silvio and family in a no nonsense unhurried manner reminiscent of a relaxed ambience associated with excellently managed hill side European hotels. Only inconvenience for aged clients is that rooms on first floor have washroom located in a foyer up the staircase inside the room.

Deepak Talwar email: id talwardeepak 478@gmail.com Age 59 years Male Stayed alone.
Stayed at this property from May 28th till June 2nd 2013 and from September 10th till September 14th, 2013.

Room Tip: Aged travelllers and those who are physically challenged should not choose rooms on first floor as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The moment I stepped foot into the Hotel Colonne I was made to feel like a returning friend. The warmth radiates from this family run hotel. All requests were effortlessly obliged, the staff take tremendous pride in their roles. My room was large, immaculately clean, had a large closet for clothing, en suite and small terrace overlooking the lush green mountainous surrounds. I couldnt have been any more comfortable. The mixture of relaxing atmosphere, beautiful decor and high quality food, drink and hospitality make staying at the Hotel Colonne an utter delight.The magnificent surrounding historic pilgrams trail/musuem and cafes with cobbled streets, views of the alps and lakes made my stay very special indeed. I would highly recommend this wonderful hotel and look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Mine was on the lower floor and they all looked fabulous in that corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I am in LOVE with the Hotel Colonne, the wonderful staff, and the picturesque views! This was my third visit to Varese for business, and the Hotel Colonne made my trip feel like a retreat. The staff could not be more accommodating or friendly, and I received such a personal guest experience. No complaints here! I will continue to stay at this hotel as long as it is open and available. One recommendation: if you are going to stay the weekend, reserve your rooms in advance because they fill up quickly!

Room Tip: The first floor rooms (below the cafe) get more foot traffic but they are a bit more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casciago, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Friendly and attentive staff, fantastic food, tranquil setting while taking in amazing views. Great place for lunch and dinner too. Nothing was too much trouble, including food options for children and catering for special diets. The village is close to Varese but being away from the city suited us better. A beautiful spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

On my much anticipated return visit to the Hotel Colonne I was greeted warmly by Silvio and his family who help run this most special hotel up in the clouds overlooking the beautiful lakes and mountains of Northern Italy. Spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and soft sheets are my top 3 hotel requirements and this hotel passes with flying colours and the breakfast is better than any I've had in Italy. What I love about this place is the peace and quiet, wonderful hospitality, unbelievably delicious food and the passion and kindness of the wonderful people who make this special hotel such a gem. I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here whilst competing in the World Masters Rowing held on Lake Varese. The hotel was superb, perched on the side of a mountain, the air was cooler than in the city, and the views were fabulous. The UNESCO site is an absolute treasure and wonderful walks an views.
Silvio and his family's welcome was exemplary, the service was excellent, food fabulous, all together a great surprise....and treat. The room had its own balcony, and was thoughtfully furnished. The package of Italian food stuffs on departure was a lovely gesture, and Silvio couldn't have been more congenial.
I would thoroughly recommend a visit, and can't wait to return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Colonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonne

Address: Via Fincara, 37, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colonne 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This countryside hotel is located in Sacro Monte, close to Sacro Monte of the Rosary and Pala Whirlpool. Features The property has a restaurant and a Bistro. Guests are served a complimentary breakfast each morning. 24 hour room service is available. Business amenities at this 4 star property include wireless Internet access and business services. Business amenities at this 4 star property consist of conference rooms and banquet facilities. The staff can arrange concierge services, wedding services, and tour assistance. Additional amenities include multilingual staff, laundry facilities, and an elevator (lift). Guest rooms Hotel Colonne has 10 guestrooms. Televisions are equipped with satellite channels. Guestrooms provide in room safes. Bathrooms offer showers, handheld showers, bathroom phones, and bidets.All rooms have a private terrace with fantastic view. Free Mini-bar for soft-drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Colonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.