We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Borducan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Al Borducan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Al Borducan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Beata C. Moriggi, 43 | Sacro Monte, 21100 Varese, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 hotels in Varese
Dublin
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Quirky and Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We used Hotel al Borducan as a base to explore Lake Maggiore and the surrounding area. The hotel is a charming period building that has been thoroughly restored and has many of the modern touches you'd expect. Our room was quirky and charming. We accessed our bed via a steep stairs / ladder. This was great fun and gave the room the feel of a suite. We had a fantastic view of Lake Varese and of the pine forests that surround the village. We sat at our balcony, but being pretty high up the mountains it was a little cold to have breakfast outside. We thoroughly enjoyed listening the hooting of owls at night time.

The nearby village, Sacro Monte di Varese is really pretty and is worth exploring (on foot). We also walked the "Sacro Monte" which is a steep walk with lots of chapels along the way, culminating in the church in the village. The walk itself is a Unesco world heritage site.

After a little confusion in booking we got a very warm welcome and lots of help in planning our stay and visits. I've never been given so many maps, brochures and assistance in planning a stay. It was a great help.

The only thing I found a little stressful was the driving. Although very pretty, the roads are full of switchback turns which get a little tiring after a while. Our Sat Nav directed me down a narrow road, which although it appeared to be two way ended in a screaming match with some other drivers which seemed to feel it was one way.

Parking at the hotel is a little tricky. The road itself is extremely steep and is paved with rounded cobbles. I recommend reversing up the road to the hotel. It's a dead end, so if you drive up it head on you'll have to reverse down the hill which is quite tricky. There is free parking fairly near, although you'll want to drop your bags off first.

Breakfast and dinner were great. The service was attentive and friendly without being intrusive. Free wifi in the restaurant and bar was useful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
30
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely couple and great host, helpful in all ways!
The breakfast they serve was delicious, and the view is stunning from the rooms and the restaurant.
They get our highest recommendation and they deserve it :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here, breakfast, dinner...simply a snack. And we even spent a night...even if we are from Varese and we travel half of the world. This pearl of beauty is charming and astonishing. Out of main tourist routes it worth a week end and the little room overprice. The rooms have all a breathtaking view and are all different. Ask for the one downstairs where one wall is the mountain live rock! Food is very good and hosts always nice.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely Art Nouveau building in the picturesque village of Sacro Monte. The owners were friendly and helpful, and the rooms are spacious - ours had a mezzanine level with a desk and comfy chairs - and the bed was very comfy! Breakfast was great - a buffet which included home-made breads and cakes (the pineapple upside-down cake was amazing!), and eggs cooked to order, all eaten on the veranda with spectacular views of the surrounding area. We had dinner one night here, and the food then was good as well - the meal finished with the Borducan Elixir, a delicious orange-based liqueur and the hotel's speciality. The bar also had a good selection of Austrian beers which we both enjoyed! Sacro Monte is a medieval village full of narrow passageways and cobbles, and so parking is a few minutes away up and down hill - worth bearing in mind if mobility is a problem. But we had a lovely stay here, and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is really beautiful, inside and out. The views are spectacular and the hotel has been lovingly restored to it's 1920's heyday. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake and mountains is something very special. We had a lovely dinner at the hotel on the first night and we were accommodated for our vegetarian predilections. The recommended bottle of Prosecco was also fantastic.

It is not really that difficult to get to, the drive up is a bit daunting at first but it is worth a bit of extra effort. Also anyone who is very fussy about cleanliness will be very happy here. You could eat lunch out the bidet!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Sacre Monte is a lovely romantic, charming village. It's set very high so the views are fantastic. After settling into our room we had dinner on the virander (Oliver had pre reserved us a table outside with us being patrons). Dinner was lovely, very relaxing and picture perfect views to constantly look at. Breakfast was also lovely and in particular we enjoyed a long chat with Oliver. We intended to go back to borducan at the end of our holiday but just didn't have the opportunity. We would fully recommend this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: There are two rooms with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My girlfriend & I stayed here in July, after a winding drive up the hill/mountain side you come to Hotel Borducan, a very well kept hotel and set to maximise the views out towards the lakes.
Parking is a bit of a pain, very tight roads and not a lot of space. Which also means short but steep walk up to the hotel, you drive up to the door and drop off but you'll have to reverse back down. We had a room with a balcony which was lovely, the room was well equipped and had everything we needed. The hotel has a restaurant which is personally ran by the hotel owners, the decor and views are stunning but the food wasn't up to the 4 star standard of the hotel (nice enough but in my view overpriced & lacking in presentation/ingredients), my advice would be to enjoy the view at breakfast and eat dinner before you get back for the night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Borducan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Borducan

Address: Via Beata C. Moriggi, 43 | Sacro Monte, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Borducan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel-restaurant „Al Borducan“ , a vintage manor house, has been completely refurbished without disturbing the original Art Nouveau style of the 1920s.To this day each room has kept its unique charm of the former Bregonzio residence and choice pieces of vintage furniture further the congenial atmosphere of the manor house. It goes without saying, however, that modern facilities like sat-tv, telephone, safe, free of charge wireless internet access, minibar and en suite bathroom cater to the convenience of our guests.Incastonato nel borgo medievale del Sacro Monte di Varese, immerso nel parco naturale del Campo dei Fiori, questo piccolo, raffinato hotel è studiato appositamente per gli ospiti che cercano qualcosa di speciale…L’hotel- ristorante “Al Borducan” gestito da una giovane coppia itala – austriaca, è un’antica villa del 1924 in stile liberty, completamente ristrutturata lasciando inalterato l’aspetto originario, una splendida cornice per ogni tipo di evento ed uno scenario esclusivo per momenti indimenticabili.Il tè pomeridiano, un buon bicchiere di vino degustato in terrazza, la lettura di un libro in giardino o il riposo in una delle dieci romantiche e confortevoli stanze, regalano preziosi momenti di relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Al Borducan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Borducan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;