We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth A Vist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946 to your Saves list
Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946
Viale Luigi Borri, 98, 21100 Varese, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Varese
Brockenhurst
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Worth A Vist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Booked this hotel, thinking it was in rural location, but it is on busy road in suburbs. However is worth stayig as base to visit local sites. Family run , exteremely friendly and helpfull. Good size rooms & bath, .Comfortable beds. Breakfast was the best of 6 hotels we stayed on this trip

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for "Panoramic room with Lake view. Not worth it, lake is far away, toomany ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Receptionist at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your review. We are glad to discover that everything during your stay in our hotel was good, the room, the hospitality and the breakfast. We thank you one more time for complimentsabout our breakfast, that is personally looked after Anna Segafredo. It's really satisfying read it!
We really hope to see you again in our hotel, if you will come back in our region.

Best regards,

Ilaria
Receptionist Hotel Ungheria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    108
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
71
61
32
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We spent 9 days at Hotel Ungheria in mid June and did the 8 day Northern Italy Lakes Road Bike Tour. The family (Simone, Luciana and Anna) that run the hotel took really good care of us, with excellent breakfasts and post-ride meals, plus great dinners in various restaurants in Varese. The bike tour was also very good, with well planned rides on quiet roads, offering a combination of hill climbs and scenic rolling routes around Lago Maggiore, Lago di Lugano and the countryside. Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Receptionist at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Mr Tony,

many thanks for the time you devoted us, writing this beautiful and gratifying review.
We are very glad to know your stay in our hotel was satisfying for you and you enjoied it in every aspect, from our hospitality to the Bike tour you took part.
We hope to see you again in a future visit to Italy and Varese area!

Best regards,

Ilaria
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel was indicated by a friend that lives in Varese, and it attended our expectations. We stayed at panorama room just one night. Had just some problem finding a place to park, maybe because we arrived very late after a party. It seems to be well prepared for bike-maniacs. Gotta prove maybe in a future visit to town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Receptionist at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Mr Tamuras,

many thanks for your review! We are glad to know that your expectations to stay in our hotel were not disappointed.
As you noticed during your stay, we are also a bike hotel and we offer services for cicle tourists and for evebody who wants to discover our area by bike.
We hope to host you and your family again during a visit in Varese, a city that really worth a visit!!!

Best regards,

Ilaria
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent 3 nights at this Hotel UNGHERIA in Varese (April 08 -11, 2014). The hotel was intentionally chosen on the base of TRIPADVISOR's customers' comments, and we were not disappointed about our choice. Not at all. We had the so called Junior Suite on the second floor, facing a quiet yard and the mountains. We agree with other people who commented, that street-facing rooms are more subject to traffic noise as the hotel is standing on a busy-traffic-street, leading to Switzerland (if I understood right). We came to Milano for the occasion of a giant furniture exhibition, and most hoteliers around Milano raised their prices dramatically. For example average IBIS hotels or similar budget ones were charging around 300 euro per night, which is the level of HILTON as you understand. Exactly these very "crazy" days we were asked only 123 euro per night at Hotel UNGHERIA. Nice breakfast included. At breakfast time we were even provided with a typical HILTON-level-thing - a freshly squeezed orange juice (it is made to all guests upon
request). An Italian family SEGAFREDO, that runs this hotel, truly keeps it in a very good condition. Of course, the building itself is dated back to 1946, but the interiors are in perfect condition, and even all corridor smells were pleasant to breath (is this a kind of special wax they apply in there, when cleaning ?). In our Junior Suite the shower room was ample and very well styled (while certainly a water-mixing unit in the shower would need some "renovation", but this could not spoil our general super-positive impression of this hotel). We got agree with other previous guests, who commented that the staff was (and still is) the greatest value of this relatively small but extremely accurate, clean and human-oriented hotel. Typical Italian hospitality in its best form. One morning we were quite late to breakfast, and the so called "black" bread was already over. We asked for this, and specially for us they sent an employee to a local bakery, and we were made fully happy .... Such personal attention is truly a rare thing nowadays.
Here we would also like to express our special thanks to the new employee, who's name is ILLARIA. She was serving evening shifts at the reception desk, and was extremely helpful to us in giving various advices. WE VERY MUCH LIKED A LOCAL RESTAURANT CALLED "BOLOGNA".
It is highly recommended to anyone who comes after us (location - in the center of Varese).
A real chocolate-factory-outlet in the neighborhood of Varese (in the same building complex as the giant LINDT-chocolate-factory itself) is definitely worth visiting. A 10% discount coupon given to us at the reception of Hotel UNGHERIA worked there as promised. All in all, this Hotel UNGHERIA works exactly as described on TRIPADVISOR's pages. No unpleasant surprises. No disappointments. Only positive memories. We didn't regret any single minute that we were forced to drive to Fiera Milano exhibition complex every morning (a car was rented from Milano Malpensa airport). Living (staying overnight) in Varese, next to the mountains, and doing daily work in Milano area, - such a rhythm was just OK to us. Once again, a truly friendly inner atmosphere in that Hotel UNGHERIA would make us come in there again in a year. Sincerely yours, Sanna-and-Sergei, business-travellers from Finland, April 08-11, 2014

Room Tip: Choose a yard-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, receptionist at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Mr Sergei,
many thank you for your review.
We are glad that your stay was good and we hope to have you again as our guest in the future.
Best regards
Reception
Hotel Ungheria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keerbergen
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I have stayed many times at this hotel both for business as for pleasure. The hotel does not give you any surprises. It offers high quality standards to a personalised service. Its location could be better if you want to be in downtown Varese, but for trips around there it is OK.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for your review. We are glad to know you stayed well here and you enjoyed the high quality service in the hotel.
We try to personalize the service when we can and when we have the opportunity to do that!
We hope to see you very soon!
Best regards and Merry Chistmas and happy new year!

Erica
Guests' relation service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Hotel Ungheria was a great discovery. I will base future bike vacations at the hotel. It is a great starting point for huge number of beautiful bike tours through the mountains and lakes of the Province.

A three minute ride takes you to the Tren Nord rail system and the State rail system. The trains open up even more possibilities for great rides and tourist destinations.

The hotel itself is recently rennovated and the attentive staff made the stay a pleasure. Their large and healthy continental breakfast buffet made a good start to each day of riding.

Room Tip: If you are staying at the hotel for a bicycling vacation, be sure to talk to the staff about the ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Dave,
many thanks for all your appreciations!
we are glad you loved the service, the hotel , the staff, and the breakfast.
As you explained, we are also a bike hotel, so we have services for that, and you can enjoyed them.
We are close to the railways station and also to the city centre, so you can easily reach them with bus line E or by foot.
We hope to have you here again!
Best Regards,

Erica, Simone
Guests' relations service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance Kernow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is both comfotable and well on the way to being environmentally sustainable. Not only is it energy conservation /recycling aware, and well integrated with public transport; but the management will provide instant information on all timetables/prices for local and trans-frontier road, rail, lake and air transport. Varese is built on a spur of high ground which makes getting around by car somewhat difficult for geography and traffic conditions, so we found leaving the car at the hotel and getting about by public transport, taxi and foot by far the best way to enjoy the many museums and attractive pedestrianized town centre. As a touring centre Varese is really a clever location to visit the Lombard lakes and the Ticino areas (the city is 6Km from CH). Both the Italian and Swiss Motorway networks are easily accessible from Varese. The Lake, somewhat difficult to get to and the surrounding countryside are stunning with the Campo dei Fiori and Sacro Monte di Varese within easy distance. There is a very well organized tourist offering especially covering the Insubria Euroregion (running from the Gotthard and the Canton Ticinino (the many frontier posts are fully open and no-one asks for documents any more) to Malpensa Airport and east to Novara, and skirting the north of Milan and Como. The Hotel is close to the city centre and Milan is one hour by train (two stations - 10mins walk away)

Room Tip: Serves Breakfast and drinks (coffee avaiable to midnight. The staff are not available from Midnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you first of all for your very detailed review about the hotel but also the area in which we are.
As you well explained we are close to the swiss boarder if you want to visit Switzerland, but also close to the motorway to lakes and Novara.
We are part of EcoWorld Hotel: it is the first group of environmentally-friendly hotels and bed and breakfasts in Italy to adopt a unique and innovative philosophy in a new project aimed at safeguarding the environment.
In this project is including also suggesting public transportation to move from a part to another, and avoid smog and crowded streets.
It's a pleasure host a guest like you so environment dedicated, and we hope to have you here in the near future, to discover more our beautiful lakes area.
Best Regards,

Erica
Guests' relation service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946

Address: Viale Luigi Borri, 98, 21100 Varese, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco and Bike Hotel 1 km from the city center, railway stations and a few hundred meters from University and Hospital poles.We are also a few kilometres far from the lake, 25 km from Milan Malpensa airport and 40 km from the Milan Fair, easily accessible from the highway A8.Always sensitive to environmental issues, the hotel decided to be certified by the European Eco-label.Non-smoking rooms equipped with all comforts, air conditioning, internet Wi-Fi, orthopedic and hypoallergenic mattresses, ecological Hotel amenities sets. Terraces overlooking the lake.We offer Residence apartments for all needs.From 7.00 am you will find a rich breakfast, personally supervised by Mrs. Natalina in preparing a delicious buffet with fresh fruit salad and a wide choice of sweet and savoury delights.A "Welcome Card" will be reserved for all the guests to take advantages and discounts at museums, services, shopping centres, sports centers and transports of our territory.Guests will enjoy the city and electric bikes, with many suggestions for their trips and excursions for an environmentally sustainable tourism. They will also find cycling routes for all levels and preparation.A private shuttle service from/to Malpensa airport can be requested at an additional cost. All the best for your stay in Varese with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.