We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946 to your Saves list
Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946
Viale Luigi Borri, 98, 21100 Varese, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Varese
keerbergen
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“quality and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I have stayed many times at this hotel both for business as for pleasure. The hotel does not give you any surprises. It offers high quality standards to a personalised service. Its location could be better if you want to be in downtown Varese, but for trips around there it is OK.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for your review. We are glad to know you stayed well here and you enjoyed the high quality service in the hotel.
We try to personalize the service when we can and when we have the opportunity to do that!
We hope to see you very soon!
Best regards and Merry Chistmas and happy new year!

Erica
Guests' relation service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    112
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
64
34
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Hotel Ungheria was a great discovery. I will base future bike vacations at the hotel. It is a great starting point for huge number of beautiful bike tours through the mountains and lakes of the Province.

A three minute ride takes you to the Tren Nord rail system and the State rail system. The trains open up even more possibilities for great rides and tourist destinations.

The hotel itself is recently rennovated and the attentive staff made the stay a pleasure. Their large and healthy continental breakfast buffet made a good start to each day of riding.

Room Tip: If you are staying at the hotel for a bicycling vacation, be sure to talk to the staff about the ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Dave,
many thanks for all your appreciations!
we are glad you loved the service, the hotel , the staff, and the breakfast.
As you explained, we are also a bike hotel, so we have services for that, and you can enjoyed them.
We are close to the railways station and also to the city centre, so you can easily reach them with bus line E or by foot.
We hope to have you here again!
Best Regards,

Erica, Simone
Guests' relations service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance Kernow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is both comfotable and well on the way to being environmentally sustainable. Not only is it energy conservation /recycling aware, and well integrated with public transport; but the management will provide instant information on all timetables/prices for local and trans-frontier road, rail, lake and air transport. Varese is built on a spur of high ground which makes getting around by car somewhat difficult for geography and traffic conditions, so we found leaving the car at the hotel and getting about by public transport, taxi and foot by far the best way to enjoy the many museums and attractive pedestrianized town centre. As a touring centre Varese is really a clever location to visit the Lombard lakes and the Ticino areas (the city is 6Km from CH). Both the Italian and Swiss Motorway networks are easily accessible from Varese. The Lake, somewhat difficult to get to and the surrounding countryside are stunning with the Campo dei Fiori and Sacro Monte di Varese within easy distance. There is a very well organized tourist offering especially covering the Insubria Euroregion (running from the Gotthard and the Canton Ticinino (the many frontier posts are fully open and no-one asks for documents any more) to Malpensa Airport and east to Novara, and skirting the north of Milan and Como. The Hotel is close to the city centre and Milan is one hour by train (two stations - 10mins walk away)

Room Tip: Serves Breakfast and drinks (coffee avaiable to midnight. The staff are not available from Midnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you first of all for your very detailed review about the hotel but also the area in which we are.
As you well explained we are close to the swiss boarder if you want to visit Switzerland, but also close to the motorway to lakes and Novara.
We are part of EcoWorld Hotel: it is the first group of environmentally-friendly hotels and bed and breakfasts in Italy to adopt a unique and innovative philosophy in a new project aimed at safeguarding the environment.
In this project is including also suggesting public transportation to move from a part to another, and avoid smog and crowded streets.
It's a pleasure host a guest like you so environment dedicated, and we hope to have you here in the near future, to discover more our beautiful lakes area.
Best Regards,

Erica
Guests' relation service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Hotel Ungheria. The hospitality was outstanding with a warm, friendly and helpful staff that coudn't have been nicer. Accommodations were perfect for our needs. As an example of their quality service the hotel staff helped select a tour guide that spent an entire day showing us around the area which turned out to be one of the highlights of our stay in Italy...we would highly recommend this hotel to friends and strangers...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,
many thanks to took your time to write a review.
We are very happy to know you had a wonderful experience here thanks to the staff, the room, the breakfast and the service offered.
We hope to have you here next time, with your friends!

Best Regards,
Erica
Guests' relation service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Summary: Big room, clean, friendly and excellent breakfast!

We stayed here for one night on our way to Tuscany (We are from Belgium). The room was more than big enough to fit our stroller (for our newborn). Clean accomodation as well.

The service was friendly and the breakfast was refreshing: everything you want from a buffet + fresh fruit and bakery.

Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for your summary-review!
We are glad you enjoyed the service, the staff, the breakfast with fresh fruits and locale products and the room for its size and cleanliness.

We hope to have you here next time,
Best Regards,

Erica
Guests' relation service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were part of the World Masters Rowing Regatta held on Lake Varese. The hotel was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and quiet. The breakfasts were tasty and wholesome. The Segafredo family were most helpful and friendly. Most unusually the family gave a reception for all the rowers staying there on the last evening. We would most certainly recommend the hotel.Grazie mille to Enzo, Luciane, Natalena, Anne, Erica and Simone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Hugh and Vivienne,
It was a pleasure host you and all your group here at the hotel, during Fisa Masters Regatta 2013: you were wonderful, and we saw your passion for rowing!
At the end of the week, Segafredo Family, the owners, organised for all guests and offered an 'aperitivo' in the reception hall to celebrate all the athletes.
We are glad you enjoyed our staff and service and all staff members send you a big hug from Italy!
Hope to have you here very soon,

Best wishes,

Erica
Guests' relation service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The staff at the hotel could not be nicer or more friendly. I suffered a loss of an important item whilst saying at the hotel and I was helped out of my predicament by the Segafredo family without question or hesitation. In addition, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is a true feast. I would definitely stay there on future visits to Varese and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel (or make sure to pack ear plugs) - the rooms at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Hilary,

First of all, we would like to thank you for having stayed in our hotel and also to have written your impressions.
We remember about your loss, and it was a pleasure for us to have been helpul in that occasion. We know when you travel, nobody wants to have problem, especially when you are away for an important competition and you need all the concentration for it!
We wait very soon here so you can taste again our breakfast!

Best Regards from all,

Erica
Guests' Relation Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946

Address: Viale Luigi Borri, 98, 21100 Varese, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco and Bike Hotel 1 km from the city center, railway stations and a few hundred meters from University and Hospital poles.We are also a few kilometres far from the lake, 25 km from Milan Malpensa airport and 40 km from the Milan Fair, easily accessible from the highway A8.Always sensitive to environmental issues, the hotel decided to be certified by the European Eco-label.Non-smoking rooms equipped with all comforts, air conditioning, internet Wi-Fi, orthopedic and hypoallergenic mattresses, ecological Hotel amenities sets. Terraces overlooking the lake.We offer Residence apartments for all needs.From 7.00 am you will find a rich breakfast, personally supervised by Mrs. Natalina in preparing a delicious buffet with fresh fruit salad and a wide choice of sweet and savoury delights.A "Welcome Card" will be reserved for all the guests to take advantages and discounts at museums, services, shopping centres, sports centers and transports of our territory.Guests will enjoy the city and electric bikes, with many suggestions for their trips and excursions for an environmentally sustainable tourism. They will also find cycling routes for all levels and preparation.A private shuttle service from/to Malpensa airport can be requested at an additional cost. All the best for your stay in Varese with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.