We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely top quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946 to your Saves list
Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Luigi Borri, 98, 21100 Varese, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Varese
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely top quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We booked this hotel after reading other reviews, and were not disappointed.
Bedroom was spotlessly clean and beautifuuly furnished, with a small balcony overlooking the rear enabling us to enjoy the evening sunshine.
Some of the staff spoke good English and were most helpful in providing maps and local information, to enable us to enjoy the lovely surrounding area.
The breakfast was brilliant, the best of many hotels in our tour of Europe.
One downside was the lack of restaurants within walking distance, but the receptionist ordered takeaway Pizzas for us and even provided cutlery and napkins.

Room Tip: An upper floor facing the rear provides evening sunshine and views over the rooftops, as the front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
it's an honour for us know that you booked our hotel after reading our reviews.
And hopefully your expectations were not disappointed after staying with us. We are happy to know you enjoyed the breakfast, the room, the cleanliness and the helpfulness of our staff by giving you suggestions to visit Varese and its surroundings.
As you explained, we don't have a restaurant in our hotel, but you can order pizza 'take away', and eat it in your room in total relax.
We hope to have you here very soon,
Best regards,

Erica
Guests' relation service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    115
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
75
64
34
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The ungheria is a fantastic hotel. We booked it while were visiting to see the European Rowing championships. The owner and his staff were brilliant. We arrived really late because we were held up at the airport. We thought we would have bother getting in touch with them once we arrived but they had it all sorted and were waiting for us even at 1 in the morning. All we had to do was phone them. We had 3 rooms and they were all lovely. We had a room at the back and the view was breath taking. We found the hotel to be quiet and we had a great sleep. The hotel is spotless and the rooms we had were first class. Breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of it. It is the usual continental breakfast. I asked for a latte and go a lovely creamy coffee which I thoroughly enjoyed. The staff are so friendly and helpful and will give you advice on eating etc in Varese. If you are going to Varese, you must stay here, you will be as delighted as we were. First Class.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel for a lovely view in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review.
We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay here. As you explained our reception is closed from Midnight to 5.00 o' clock, but if our guests aren't yet arrived we give them instructions how to get in their rooms. In your case we wait for you to welcome you, because we haven't got your mobile phone.
You enjoyed the view and the buffet breakfast, so we wait for you again here at our Hotel.
Thank you for all your compliments!
Best regards,

Erica
Guests' Relation Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAlta
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

The people running the hotel are surely its main asset. they are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you out. They will provide you with lots of info on what to do in the area.

The room was nice, very clean and big. The only problem was that there must have been a big group of people which were making a lot of noise and the walls are quite thin it seems so unfortunately we didn't sleep very well.

the breakfast was wholesome and very good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
it's a pleasure for us reading your review! We are honoured to know that for you the greatest value of our hotel is the service of the owners and the staff!
It's our job and we love them, but we are rewarded when we know you stayed well here.
But we are sorry to notice that you can't sleep well because of the noises from the other rooms; unfortunately we cannot teach the good manners to every guests who make noise. Next time (I hope it will never happen again) go down at the reception, so we can call in the rooms to admonish them.
Hope you stayed confortable anyway here, we wait again here in Varese, in our hotel.
Best Regards,

Erica
Guests' Relation Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely value for money hotel, just 15 minutes walk to the center, very kindfull people at the lobby, we highly recommend it. The breakfast is nice also and had great cappuccino! a family hotel which makes you fill like home anf very comfordable.
Nice view to the water from the rooms.definetly we will visit again and stay.there wasnt some thing i didnt like at me stay there

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you very much to take your time to write a review of your stay here at Hotel Ungheria.
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed the service, the reception staff with their recommendation and job, and also that you loved our cappuccino!
We are also happy to know you enjoyed the beautiful view on the top of the hotel from your room.
So we wait next time you will come back here in Italy,
Best Regards,

Erica
Guests' Relation Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the hotel Ungheria. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is a family run hotel. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. We had a beautiful view of the lake from our verandah. Our room was very comfortable. We had a lovely breakfast each day with a large choice. They even recommended a lovely restaurant where we had a beautiful evening meal. The food there was excellent and we would never have found it ourselves. They even organised transport to and from the restaurant so nobody had to drive and we did not have the expense of a taxi. Brilliant hotel. Great staff. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel. We had the most beautiful view in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Jan,
thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us on our hotel and your stay here.
We are very happy to know you enjoyed the breakfast, the room, the staff's helpfulness, and the recommendation for restaurants.
It's a pleasure satisfy our guests and their needs, and it's our big goal make you feel like home here.
We wait for you next time you'll come back to Italy!
Best regards,

Erica
Guests' Relation Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Hotel exactly as I like....rooms beautifully decorated and perfectly clean, but more than the quality of the room, I would like to give a special congratulation to the owners, so so lovely persons, from the older to the younger...they are so attentive to your requests or wishes. I would like to thank them for this kind attention, for the advises concerning the restaurants (perfect ones) and, last but not least, the breakfast is wonderful...fresh products...there is all what you need to start a day with your warmest smile.
By the way, we went there not for Varese, but for Milano, Melide and Morcote.....but my best impression is for....Varese!!....lovely citiy with lovely people....we went to the city center the first day to drink something and to have a dinner....and we came back everyday after!!....lot of young people and families walking smoothly in the center (pedestrian area), and having drinks, dinners...excellent atmosphere

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Ahmed,
we would like to thank you very much to take your time to write down a review on our Hotel.
I am very happy to know that you liked the room, spacious and clean and the breakfast.
Segafredo family, the owners, has a special attention to their guests, to satisfy them in their needs and requests, and also the staff try to do the best to make you feel like home with suggestions and smiles of course.
We are honoured to know that you appreciated also the people here in Varese and also the city.
So when you will come back here in Italy, we wait for you and your family here at our hotel.
Best regards,

Erica
Guests' Relation Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hotel Ungheria is our 'standard' stop between Belgium and Tuscany or Umbria. This family owned hotel has very friendly personnel, rooms are very clean, beds are good quality (which is important after a long drive). The hotel is walking distance from Varese, a little town which is worth a visit (plenty of little restaurants, nice squares, shops and monuments).
Rooms are provided with air conditioning.
But it is the perfect breakfast that makes us coming back yaer after year. Good cappuccino, home made cakes and pies, fresh fruit, ....
The parking diredtlly after the hotel is not easy to use, but ther is a bigger parking just after it which is locked with a barrier (key at reception).
The hotel location itself is on a main road and is not what I would describe as a pittoresk atmosphere. Bottom-line, good location for a stopover.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Koen,
we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here in Hotel Ungheria, and also thank you to write a review on our hotel.
For us the friendness and the helpfulness are very important because our guests have to feel like at home.
Our buffet breakfast is very appreciated, and it's an honour for us to know that it's one of the things that makes you came back every year.
So we wait for you next time,
Best Regards,

Erica
Guests' Relation service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946

Address: Viale Luigi Borri, 98, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco and Bike Hotel 1 km from the city center, railway stations and a few hundred meters from University and Hospital poles.We are also a few kilometres far from the lake, 25 km from Milan Malpensa airport and 40 km from the Milan Fair, easily accessible from the highway A8.Always sensitive to environmental issues, the hotel decided to be certified by the European Eco-label.Non-smoking rooms equipped with all comforts, air conditioning, internet Wi-Fi, orthopedic and hypoallergenic mattresses, ecological Hotel amenities sets. Terraces overlooking the lake.We offer Residence apartments for all needs.From 7.00 am you will find a rich breakfast, personally supervised by Mrs. Natalina in preparing a delicious buffet with fresh fruit salad and a wide choice of sweet and savoury delights.A "Welcome Card" will be reserved for all the guests to take advantages and discounts at museums, services, shopping centres, sports centers and transports of our territory.Guests will enjoy the city and electric bikes, with many suggestions for their trips and excursions for an environmentally sustainable tourism. They will also find cycling routes for all levels and preparation.A private shuttle service from/to Malpensa airport can be requested at an additional cost. All the best for your stay in Varese with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.