We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal stop on the way to Tusacany & Umbria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946
Viale Luigi Borri, 98, 21100 Varese, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 25 hotels in Varese
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ideal stop on the way to Tusacany & Umbria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hotel Ungheria is our 'standard' stop between Belgium and Tuscany or Umbria. This family owned hotel has very friendly personnel, rooms are very clean, beds are good quality (which is important after a long drive). The hotel is walking distance from Varese, a little town which is worth a visit (plenty of little restaurants, nice squares, shops and monuments).
Rooms are provided with air conditioning.
But it is the perfect breakfast that makes us coming back yaer after year. Good cappuccino, home made cakes and pies, fresh fruit, ....
The parking diredtlly after the hotel is not easy to use, but ther is a bigger parking just after it which is locked with a barrier (key at reception).
The hotel location itself is on a main road and is not what I would describe as a pittoresk atmosphere. Bottom-line, good location for a stopover.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Koen,
we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here in Hotel Ungheria, and also thank you to write a review on our hotel.
For us the friendness and the helpfulness are very important because our guests have to feel like at home.
Our buffet breakfast is very appreciated, and it's an honour for us to know that it's one of the things that makes you came back every year.
So we wait for you next time,
Best Regards,

Erica
Guests' Relation service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    103
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
60
32
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Staff were very friendly (owners and reception staff speak English), rooms are larger than you would expect at the price level, with excellent, clean bathrooms. Our room had a little balcony. We enjoyed our breakfast with fresh bread, fresh fruit and some delicious Italian cheeses.
The location of the hotel on a road with quite a lot of traffic may not be everybody's preference.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your compliments on our hotel, and staff!
We want to thank you to take your time to write a review about your stay here.
It's a pleasure know that you enjoyed the room, the bathroom, the terrace, and the breakfast with fresh food and fruit.
We know that we are not in the city centre, but we are just 5 minutes by car far from the downtown, so it's not so bad.
We wait for you here next time to enjoy once again the service!
Best regards,

Erica
Guests' Relation Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

The friendliness and hospitality shown by everyone at Hotel Ungheria was brilliant. Luciana, Simone, Erica and Anna were fantasticly helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
Room was great and large, breakfast was excellent.
After staying in the hotel I then rented an apartment that they own and stayed a further 3 months.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Ian,
thank you very much to take your time to write down a review on our hotel and apartment.
We are very glad you stayed with us for such a long time, it was a pleasure to know you ejoyed the hotel, the apartment, our service and the staff's helpfulness!
One of the most important thing for us, is the buffet breakfast: Anna and Natalina prepare hand made cakes, fresh fruit, ham and cheese and a lot of different food every day. It's our big goal that guests start thier day with a very good breakfast and a smile on their face !
We will wait for you very soon dear Ian, and also your sons and your wonderful wife! (send us pictures of her awesome desserts!)
Best wishes,
from all Hotel Ungheria Staff

Erica
Guests' Relation Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weingarten, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel offers excellent service and serves great breakfast with fresh fruit & great coffee.
The hotel has the flair of an old hotel, but has very good rooms with new bathrooms and is very clean.

We can recommend to choose this hotel!
At the reception they take their time to give you tons of tips for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Andreas,
thanks a lot for sharing with us your opinion about our hotel.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the service offered, the buffet breakfast (especially coffee and fruit).
Our big goal is to follow the guest when he needs our help: so it's our pleasure to give you, during your stay, suggestions, addresses, recommend restaurants and also to have a good chat.
Hope to have you here again,
Best regards

Erica
Guests' Relation Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We used the hotel for one night as our end goal was Toscane in Italy. We arrived too early at 11 o clock in the morning, but they already had a room for us available (two adults and one child), this was one of the biggest rooms we ever had. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is just what we liked (fresh fruit and good croissants and jam). We wished our hotel in Toscane was as good as this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Robby,
it was a pleasure for us reading your review! and thank you very much to take your time to write down it.
We remember you arrived earlier than check-in time (that starts from 14.00), but if we already have rooms available in the morning we will give you for sure, so you can relax after a log trip (as you had).
The room was a triple room, and we are glad you consider it one of the most beautiful room you ever had, and also you appreciated the service, the breakfast and our staff.
We will wait for you very soon, so come back anytime you want!
Best regards,

Erica
Guests' Relation Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

A very beautiful hotel with a good breakfast. We traveled with 2 children the room had enough space. However the shower is very slippery, in the night it is noisy for a long time ( you hear machines?). The beds were not so comfortable. Anyway we still would choose this hotel because it is great, beautifull and has a good price. You are very close to the center with lots of shops.

Family Kreischer

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear family Kreischer,
thank you a lot for your review on Hotel Ungheria.
We are glad to know that you liked the room, and it was big enough to host 4 persons.
In our showers there are no bath mats, because for us it's not hygienic: we suggest to ask for an extra carpet or towel to put on the shower so it won't be so slippery.
All our rooms are sound-proof, and it's true we are on a very big street, but it depends on traffic and also if you have a room on the back side (as you had).
Concerning the beds we would like to inform you that we are going to change the box springs, because we know that they are very particular, and we want to make them more comfortable.
Hope to have you here very soon,
Best regards,

Erica
Guests' Relation Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geel, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

On our road to Italy it was nice staying (for us and our two adult children) at this hotel. We loved our rooms and the breakfast. The staff and personel was very friendly and helpful. It was very easy to reach the hotel and there wase a save place to park our car. We will come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear KaDrie,
thank you for your vote and your comments on our hotel!
Even if you stayed with us few days, we are very happy to know that you anjoyed your stay thanks to our staff, our rooms and breakfast.
We do our best to satisfy your needs and requirements, and we try, day by day, to improve our service, also with your suggestions.
Thank you again from all 'Hotel Ungheria' and we will see nex time you will come and visit us!
Best regards,

Erica
Guests' Relation Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946

Address: Viale Luigi Borri, 98, 21100 Varese, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco and Bike Hotel 1 km from the city center, railway stations and a few hundred meters from University and Hospital poles.We are also a few kilometres far from the lake, 25 km from Milan Malpensa airport and 40 km from the Milan Fair, easily accessible from the highway A8.Always sensitive to environmental issues, the hotel decided to be certified by the European Eco-label.Non-smoking rooms equipped with all comforts, air conditioning, internet Wi-Fi, orthopedic and hypoallergenic mattresses, ecological Hotel amenities sets. Terraces overlooking the lake.We offer Residence apartments for all needs.From 7.00 am you will find a rich breakfast, personally supervised by Mrs. Natalina in preparing a delicious buffet with fresh fruit salad and a wide choice of sweet and savoury delights.A "Welcome Card" will be reserved for all the guests to take advantages and discounts at museums, services, shopping centres, sports centers and transports of our territory.Guests will enjoy the city and electric bikes, with many suggestions for their trips and excursions for an environmentally sustainable tourism. They will also find cycling routes for all levels and preparation.A private shuttle service from/to Malpensa airport can be requested at an additional cost. All the best for your stay in Varese with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.