We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Europa
Piazza Beccaria 1, 21100 Varese, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 hotels in Varese
Wiesbaden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and were greeted in the parking lot! The concierge was great helping us to park, helping with our bag, showing us to our room, and a place to have a late meal. All this with no expectations. Just friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. Right on the edge of the walking streets of town. Breakfast was good. Above the normal bread and coffee with very friendly and helpful service. The room and hotel were very clean. Our biggest negative was mold on the bathroom ceiling.

Room Tip: We were in room 71 which fit 2 adults and 2 children well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
12
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

For our trip to Umbrie we booked a familyroom with Hotel Europe. Three days before the planned stay they informed us that they had double booked the familyroom. They offered us another familyroom in a closeby 4 star hotel, hotel Europe paid for the difference. We had a great time, we also saw hotel Europe which is located very well close to the city center. This service was perfect!

Thanks once again.

Room Tip: You can trust these people
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Just what we needed. Calm hotel, friendly and flexible personel. Very close to the centre with a very good restaurant close by (Bologna). Typical Italian environment.

Kind regards,

D.N.M. Meijer BTicino

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We were In Varese on a school partnership trip and a group of us stayed in this hotel. It in a perfect location and we enjoyed our stay. Rooms clean and quiet with nice continental breakfast . Staff very friendly and helpful with good English. The only problem is their bar don't attempt to have a drink there as they had to send out for gin and vodka and had no mixers . There is also a restaurant but we didn't see anyone eating there ever. The bar isn't a problem however as the hotel is only minutes away from some lovely little squares with lots of bars and restaurants and perfect for people watching . There is wifi in the rooms for a very small charge .Varese itself has a lot to offer for a short stay and a trip to Sacre Monte is a must. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel where you can get a bus to some lovely little mountain villages Everyone we met on this trip was extremely friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

We've stayed at Hotel Europa on several occasions, and believe it is the best for it's location and value in the area. Only a half hour drive from Malpensa, and close to Switzerland, and many of the lake regions. Just a few steps from the hotel are many shops, bars, and restaurants to enjoy...Varese is a great little town to explore! We would definetly go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

We didn't have any bookings for the night and we've looked for a hotel for about 3 hours. We finally decided on Hotel Europa although it was expensive for us (100 Euro / night) becasue it started to be late and we were very tired. When we checked in, it was 10pm and I asked if the room will be quiet since we were very tired and we basically just need the room for the night to sleep in, the person at the front desk assured me that the room is very quiet.
It turned out that there were road constructions right under our window until 5am!! We couldn't open the windows because of the noise and the hotel staff didn't agree to open the AC in our room! At some point we phoned the front desk explaining them that even with the windows closed, there is still noise and that we can't sleep, they told us that it's supposed to end at mid-night. It didn't.
The next morning we asked to speak with the manager and explained that we want a discount since we didn't sleep at all during the night because of the noise and lack of air due to the closed windows. She was very rude, wanted to call the police to make us pay! At the end, she gave us only 13 euros discount. It was a horrible experience. In addition, the entire hotel has a very sweet smell in it, and the towels we got in the room were not clean. Don't stay there!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

I had a comfortable short stay at this hotel, It is in a great location near shops, restaurants, bars etc. Great people watching!!
I had been traveling throughout Italy and had a couple days free as I was dropping a friend off at the airport. This was the perfect place in relation to Malpensa. The hotel staff was very accomodating. Here is the best thing of all. I had requested a triple room and it was quite spacious etc. After driving a friend to the airport I returned to the hotel and requested to stay another night, obviously less 1 person. The front desk asked if I wanted to remain in the triple room and I said yes. I had no interest in moving all my luggage to save a couple bucks, Anyway, upon check-out, I noticed that I was only charged for a double the second night. This was done all by the front desk. I assumed I would be paying the triple rate.
Sounds like a minor thing, but, I had been "clipped" all over Italy on this trip. I swear that I overpaid for food, parking, pool towels,
you name it. This was quite refreshing. All for 100 euro a night
plus breakfast.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Piazza Beccaria 1, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located at the entrance to the town's historic centre (with private internal parking), in an area well-known for its typical restaurants, pubs, wine shops and superb inner courtyards. Close to the conference centre of Ville Ponti, Villa Panza (Guggenheim museum of modern art), Palazzo Estense, the law court and the racetrack. A National Trust listed neoclassical building (1830), the structure has been used as a hotel since 1978 (it features an original fresco and a brick tavern). Rooms equipped with all modern comforts:satellite TV, radio, fridge-bar, modem connection for PC, safe, double glazing for sound insulation, air conditioning. All furnishing was renovated in April 2002: all single rooms are provided with a three quarter bed. 24 hour reception and service, large hall and cocktail lounge. Restaurant "Da Vittorio" boasts a long tradition since 1950 and make international cuisine. Conveniently connected to the lakes district, the highway and railway systems. 20 Km from Malpensa International Airport. This Hotel is ideal for both business travellers and vacationers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.