We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - good location for trips to Como, Lugano, Milano, et al” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel di Varese

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel di Varese to your Saves list
Hotel di Varese
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Como, 12, 21100 Varese, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Varese
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - good location for trips to Como, Lugano, Milano, et al”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have chosen this hotel as a compromise to the very expensive hotels in Lugano and Como (in comparable quality) for an extended weekend trip. Well, what shall I say. We will probably never stay in Lugano, Como or other near by places, if Hotel di Varese is available.
It is ideally located for trips to a lot of spots and then after coming back you can park your car on the hotel car park behind the house and walk into the small little village with its nice restaurants and bars.
The hotel itself is excellent with hardly anything to improve. Very friendly and helpful staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
35
3
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I must say from the beginning that I am obsessed by a remark of a previous visitor, namely that it is worth visiting Varese in order to stay at this hotel! It captures the feelings I had after my stay... Definitely, it is one of the best hotels I have ever been - reading the reviews will offer you a wealth of details. In short, it "silently" offers all the apparently insignificant facts that make a stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Where do I begin? There’s so much to write about this hotel…

This was our second stay in Varese. Last time we stayed at the Art Hotel which was very “arty” and very nice (with a very good restaurant) and which is located outside the city center. The Hotel di Varese, on the other hand, is located right in the center of Varese, and is the complete opposite of the Art Hotel. It is totally modern, and is only 2 or 3 years old. The rooms are large, and the very young staff was super helpful. Breakfast was more than adequate, and overall, the hotel gets top grades.

A word about the layout - the hotel was designed by the owner who apparently likes “squares”. That’s the motif here, from the room arrangements, the furniture, the pictures on the walls (there weren’t many) to the bathroom fixtures. The toilet is square, the bidet is square, the sink is square and even the shower head is square. Don’t misunderstand me – we liked this hotel and would certainly return, although there were a few practical (and minor) problems with the room design. For instance, despite the fact that the bathroom is very large (see attached picture), there’s really no place to hang towels, except on the heating rack which is at the end of the room farthest from the shower. Also there are so many light switches, with wall switch panels throughout the main room, each with 2, 3 or 4 switches. There are so many switches and lights, it’s impossible to remember (during a short stay of 2 or 3 days) which switch operates which light. It took a while but we learned “the code”. Each switch has a built-in LED (light emitting diode). When the switch led was blue, its light was off. When the led was purple (or maybe red) its light was in operation. At night, because of all the LEDs, the room was never completely dark. I was happy I brought my blindfold.

The only other complaint we might mention is that the hotel has a cold sterile feel about it. In many ways it is like a dormitory with cement walls, very few pictures on the walls, and dull grey colors all over. See the attached picture of me sitting on the grey couch in front of the grey wall in the public sitting room.

The hotel is split into 2 separate buildings, separated by an outside parking lot. It rained most of the time we were there, however the hotel had many hotel umbrellas strategically placed at every entrance and exit – very thoughtful and helpful. The hotel also has underground parking with entry from both buildings, so after we learned how to negotiate the maze getting to and from the elevators, we were able to get from our room (in the separate building) to the main building where the lobby and public areas were without getting wet.

I should also add that the hotel has a modest exercise room with a sauna, which is available 24 hours a day. We didn’t use these facilities, but did visit the room to check it out. Everything looked brand new, and probably hadn’t been used much (if at all).

As I wrote above, this is a very interesting hotel. The location is superb, the rooms are huge (see attached picture of wife Alisa on the huge bed), everything is new, the staff is excellent, it has lots of parking, and we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I spent 3 nights at this hotel and I will definitely be back. First of all, it's just beautiful. Everything has been thoughtfully designed and considered. My room was the perfect size, there was a window looking out onto the street below. The bathroom was large, and the shower was amazing. I enjoyed their breakfast each morning, which was wonderful and located in a nice room with lots of natural light. The people at the front desk are very kind and helpful in a genuinely personable manner, you somehow feel like you know them, and they make excellent recommendations for restaurants and other places to visit in Varese. This is one of those places that seems to get everything just right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I chose to spend my last night in Italy in Varese because of its proximity to Malpensa Airport (30 minute drive).
Varese is a lovely vibrant city with a nice old area, lots of good shops, cafes and restaurants.
Hotel di Varese was a great finale to our 3 week tour of Northern Italy: It was one of the best hotels we've been to, and with excellent value for money.
The hotel is very new, modern beautiful and stylish: I loved the clean décor and the fantastic materials they used: When I redecorate my house I will surely use some of the ideas that I saw in the hotel.
Our room was vast, shining-clean and very pretty. Every single detail (including the electrical switches and windows on the wooden ceiling) looked amazing.
The young receptionists gave us an exceptionally warm service and fantastic recommendations for dining.
I am sure that I'll stay in Hotel di Varese again someday in the near future. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice stylish hotel in the central part of Varese. Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. The hotel interrier has its own style, light colors, not crowded by unnecessary decorations. The biggest part of excellente impression is coming from the staff! Very friendly, very attentional, very supportive and warm! It was a great pleasure to stay in this hotel and will obligatory reccommend it for my friends. By best regards to everybody!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here whilst travelling south. An extremely good hotel with huge, very comfortable and stylishly equipped rooms. The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming. Parking is secure. Breakfast was of a very high quality, including some fine local prosciutto and cheese. A great place to stay for a relaxing stay after a hard day's driving. The town is also interesting, with plenty of inviting bars and restaurants.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel di Varese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel di Varese

Address: Como, 12, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel di Varese 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Varese, the renovation of a prestigious villa in Liberty style, in the historical centre and shopping area, you’ll find Hotel di Varese.Hotel di Varese is ideal for the business trip and for the spare time, synthesis of style, quality, warmth and friendliness.Hotel di Varese, the heart of our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel di Varese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel di Varese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.