We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luciano Manara 11, 21100 Varese, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Varese
Moscow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Rather nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel is situated in the best place of Varese, that is an average North Italian city, where it's nothing to do, if you are not on a business trip. The hotel looks like a real palace - especially from the outside and from the social places (lobby, restaurant).
Although the standard room is small and lacks some pleasant facilities that you expect to find in 4-stars hotel (such as a bath robe, bath shoes, modern hairdryer). I was also surprised by the shower tap - which was only high in the wall, so that when water reached the body it was too much spread. Moreover I should mention that our double bed consisted of two mattresses, one of which was lower than the other one and with a hollow. There was also no safe in the room, and wifi was provided only in the lobby, only for a half an hour - and was so slow, that I hardly managed to check-up for my flight! Oh, yes - and the last night was spoilt by an alarm, which switched on twice without any logical reason!

The advantages of the hotel also should be mentioned. A good large parking, a large and pleasant territory, tasty food in the restaurant and very amiable waiter there. It was clean in the hotel and in the room. The tea was for free in the room and the tea bags were added every day. And we had a very nice view (from our corner room with balconies on two sides).
As a conclusion - I would recommend this hotel - although don't expect too much not to be dissapointed (as I was in the beginning of our living there).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulinika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
170 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at this charming hotel as part of our Trafalgar tour. Location - good. View - excellent. Staff are friendly and always ready to assist (was not happy with our initial room and they did not hesitate to change it for us). Dinner was enjoyable and breakfast buffet acceptable. However, the building is in need of some maintenance.

Room Tip: View of the mountains is breath taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyM053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Staff was very helpful, friendly and the hotel is a charming old building. Location is good with a view of Lake Varese. VERY slow internet (this was important as I was on a business trip)...I ended up using my foreign mobile phone as a hotspot and it was expensive. Good restaurant, ok breakfast buffet. Would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of our Trafalgar tour. The hotel itself us grand and beautiful with a majestic carpeted staircase. The location was up on a hill and there is no way you could venture out on your own if you don't take a taxi. The hotel provides limited shuttle to the center area at flexible timing- you got to ask reception.

The breakfast was great- bread rolls were always warm and butter always cold. That's very good by Italian standards. there's no wifi in the rooms though. wouldn't stay here again because of location and no wifi. the water from the taps and shower was yellow and cloudy initially but we let it run for 5 minutes and then it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Good value. Basic hotel. Nice views. Small room. Limited menu in restaurant - same for lunch and dinner. Average breakfast but it was included in the rate. Small parking area. Building is in need of maintenance. Internet was very expensive at 17Eur and was intermittent.

Room Tip: Ask for a Room with a lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanataguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St julien en g
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Business trip with 20 other colleagues. We all enjoyed this hotel and it's beautiful view on the lake.
Very good breakfast. Lots of choices.
Very good service.
Very very small lift to the rooms.

Good vibes

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I loved this hotel. From the moment I stepped out onto my balcony, I new it would be hard to leave. We were in room #407. From the fantastic views to the old world charm, I absolutely fell in love. Our bathroom was definitely remodeled, nice, clean and new. The room itself was a bit outdated, but I felt that was apart of the charm and experiencing Italy. Everything was clean and tidy.

The staff was great, we met some other wonderful hotel guests from Australia. The breakfast, which is free every morning from 7-10am, was great, and plenty enough for a breakfast meal. The staff were always friendly and helpful and could speak relatively good english, so we got on just fine.

The great views do come with a price: you are on top of a hill. To get to the hotel is a curvy, up hill road. They do a have a free shuttle that will drop you off in the centre of Varese and pick you up at a time you choose. Even though the hotel got quite busy by the end of the week, we never had a problem with the shuttle service, they were very accommodating.

We ate at the restaurant once and the food was good. On certain evenings they offer an all you can eat for 5 euros. There are three huts set up in the garden area and you can choose whatever you like from each, as much as you want. The food was good and the price was right, especially for Europe.

All in all, I felt like I experienced the old charm of Italy through this hotel. And I loved Varese, maybe that helped too :-)

Room Tip: Our room was a corner room, so we had two windows in our room and a balcony off of our bathroom. Wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varese
1.0 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#1 of 24 in Varese
5.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#5 of 24 in Varese
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#8 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#7 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946
2.8 mi away
Hotel Colonne
Hotel Colonne
#2 of 24 in Varese
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Grand Hotel

Address: Via Luciano Manara 11, 21100 Varese, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Varese
#8 Business Hotel in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Palace Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Grand Varese
Hotel Palace Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing