We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate - service was good though” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Crystal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Crystal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Crystal
Via Speroni 10, 21100 Varese, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 25 hotels in Varese
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Adequate - service was good though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here using points, and it was fine although not a terrific location. The breakfast was quite nice, the room comfortable and large-ish. We were quite jet lagged so nothing really bothered us since we mostly needed sleep! Parking was next to the hotel and secure which was nice.

We also stayed here on the eve of our departure back to the US and there was an event that closed up the entire city center for traffic. The hotel was quite nice and apologetic about it - but arriving was chaotic after that since there was a backlog of travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is not a 4 star hotel, at best a 2.5 star hotel. The hotel is located a few meters from the main pedestrian shopping area and is very convenient for the stores and restaurants. It is more a business hotel than a vacation hotel. The reception area has a rather strange, old-fashioned design to it. The interior design of the building is dated. Everything was clean and tidy. There is a lift for access to the bedroom floors. The single rooms are tiny, the double rooms acceptable. Ask for a room that faces away from the road that runs right in front of the hotel, otherwise you need earplugs! The service at the reception desk was satisfactory

Breakfast is in a mirrored breakfast room with a television running all the time. The food was acceptable, the personal rather non-reactive to such things as “Good morning” or “Have a nice day”.

There are very few parking spaces for the hotel and parking is out on the street, so make sure you take some change with you for the parking meter (approx. €4,- overnight).

Room Tip: Rooms at teh back are to be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

My husband was on a business trip. Me & my son joined him as we extended our stay in italy for sight seeing as well.
Hotel crystal is located in the heart of the city. thus would like to recommend the same because of its location. the area where it is located is very peaceful & have lots of food joints as well as the main market on a walkable distance. the Varese railway station, supermarkets are nearby even the bus service for the inter city travel & also to other near by places line 'como' is close from the hotel.
Crystal hotel is suitable for the business travelers with comfortable & middle sizes rooms with all basic amenities & very basic F & B support.
One thing which i hated abt this hotel was its conditioning. Since it was June, it was bit hot there. the AC in the room was not working properly. so we could not sleep properly in the night as well.
The hotel serves breakfast & light snacks in the evening.....but do not expect much as the menu remains the same every day.
But the location compensates for all this as there are lots of food joints ( mainly serving pizza) at the walkable distance.
so would be a great choice for business travelers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights.Very nice 4 star hotel.A short walk from the train station.Staff even helped us plan an excursion.Only complaint was that the first night the air conditioning had not been turned on so we had to sleep with the windows open and it was hard to sleep with all the street noise.However, the ac was turned on the second night so we closed the shutters and drapes and were able to sleep.Internet connection in room for a fee.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for three nights during the last week of April.
The Crystal hotel is located right in the heart of the City of Varese. The rooms were small in size, typical European, but they were spotlessly clean as well as comfortable. Initially I found the single room too small for my taste but on requesting the recption they immediately shifted me to a room more to my liking , with more space and on a higher floor. The only meal I had there was breakfast and it was quite filling with many varieties of brad and juices. the location is quite central and just a few mins walk away from the centre of the town as well as the luxury boutiques housing all the famous brands. The staff was quite friendly and the best part of was the receptionist remembered me since i had been there a couple of years back .
I suppose the only drawback was the creaky elevator which took ages to reach anywhere.

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

Went there on business and the hotel was arranged by my local contact. It seems that italian hotels are generally overpriced for what you get. The locations is okay, though somewhat off the city center. The room was really small and rather dark with nothing special about it, whatsoever. The TV didn't work, but I never really use it much, anyways. Breakfast was so so. One big plus was the honest roommaid, who returned my lost cell-phone that I had left in the room before check-out! Varese isn't exactly a terribly big town, so the choices are limited, anyways.

  • Liked — The honesty of the roommaid.
  • Disliked — The dark and claustrophobicly small room.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crystal

Address: Via Speroni 10, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offering modern amenities and comforts is located in city center; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Hotel Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varese Best Western
Best Western Crystal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Crystal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.