We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in small, quiet town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capolago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Capolago to your Saves list
Hotel Capolago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Per Bodio, 74, 21100 Varese, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Varese
Durban
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in small, quiet town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Capolago for 2 nights as part of the Splendours of Italy tour, the hotel is quite modern, and the rooms are comfortable and spacious, with a large, clean shower. The location of the hotel is in a quiet part of town, but with easy access to several lakes, the Swiss (Lugano) Border and Milan. There are lovely walks and you can use bicycles from the hotel and take a bike trail to a lake. We walked into the town to look for somewhere outside of the hotel to have a drink after dinner, but there wasn't anyone that would accommodate a group of us, there is no 'nightlife' in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ground floor. My room faced onto the back of hotel, and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    85
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
56
5
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Best, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel Capolago is a good place for a stop-over or for a two nights visit if you want to visit other places nearby, such as Lavena near lake Lago Maggiore. Try the cable train there! Or play golf on the local golf course of Varese. Splendid course and located on the " garden' of on old monastery, now being the clubhouse. Incredible!! Rooms are comfortable, although you have only a nice shower. Interior is modest and dull. On the same road you find a good and fancy restaurant. So you can walk the road back after having your wine there.
Breakfast was like eating in a cantina. Many businessmen stay here, and we know why. Prices are reasonable and the hotel is located very central.

Room Tip: Don't go for the room next to the service room. It's quit noisy in the morning there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our second visit to Capolago. The standards are some of the highest I have experienced in a commercial hotel. From the moment we walked into the spacious lobby we had a feeling that this property was well cared for. The check-in was very easy, the receptionist had our reservation in front of her. There is a very comfortable and convenient bar in the lobby that is served by the front desk staff. We walked down the carefully lit hallway to our room. All rooms seem to be equal. The rooms on the front look out onto large grassy lawns with plants and trees. The rooms on the back look across the driveway to green area. Inside the rooms we were surprised to find a big bed, plenty of room for our luggage, a big writing desk, internet connection and one of the BEST bathrooms in Italy. The shower reminded us of a "spa" shower!!
We spent only one night here this year and were sorry to leave so soon!
Oh, and the breakfast was perfectly displayed with many choices.

Room Tip: The rooms are equal. We prefer the rooms on the "front" of the hotel as there is a big gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This one floor, new hotel (only five years old), is perfectly located outside the city of VARESE.
It is ideal location for lakes visit if wish to avoid staying in the 'crowdedness' of the lakes area.
Spending two nights in this place, we found that rooms, as well as bathrooms are specious and clean. Room cleaning and towel replacing performed on a daily basis.
Rooms equipped with flat TV screen, small mini-bar and are all air-conditioned. Wi-Fi is available in all areas (ask front desk for username and password). Staff is friendly and helpful (English spoken) and breakfast is great, with large variety of everything to choose from.
Many places around to dine at evenings. One is right outside the place (American Steakhouse) and many others, offering Italian cuisine, are in a nearby driving distance.

Tip - Rooms on the back are car's accessible. Back door allowing you direct access to your car.
But you'll have to ask for these type of room. I did not know about this option when checked in, and got very disappointed for not being offered by front desk of this option.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are car's accessible, with joined parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just arrived, a nice lady told us "You have to pay now". We answered showing out the credit card and a simple request, a company invoice. She turned red and asked us if the invoice was urgent, I said "no... I just arrived... why?" "well you can ask my colleague later on tonight to go for it... But do not forget to pay". I spend 150+ nights out a year in 42 countries and felt offended. The electronic key did not work, I called the concierge and he said pacifically "the key is fine". "So?" "it the padlock which is broken...". Average breakfast selection, no orange juice and no fresh juice in general. The best offer was 10 euros higher than their offer on the web... Next time I'll browse for a BW nearby...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Second time staying at this motel style hotel.
The rooms are basic but comfortable, The lack of storage space makes it difficult to unpack a case so you will have to live out of it. This makes it more like a short stay venue.
The breakfasts are good with a wide selection. I believe there is now an evening restaurant but have not tried it. To be honest, there are so many excellent eateries in Varese that you are probably better going there.
The staff are excellent and generally attentive although it can take a little time to get served in the bar.
Unfortunately the hotel ran out of beer whilst we were there (I didn't think we had drank that much!!).
A nice feature is the free rental of bicycles and the nearby lake has an excellent cycle path all around it with some fabulous views.
There is no swimming pool which would be a nice feature.
The hotel has free WIFI but it can be a bit temperamental.
All in all a good motel style accommodation for short stays and business trips.

Room Tip: rooms are all of the same quality. It is in a quiet area and the rooms have good sound proofing so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a Trafalger tour, a new nice place to stay, everything was satisfactory with the staff keen to help although English can be a bit of an issue sometimes. There isnt a lot to see in the local walking area although there is a road house a stones throw away. A good base for the region if you have a car.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sun so all should be equaly good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Capolago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capolago

Address: Via Per Bodio, 74, 21100 Varese, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capolago 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Capolago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capolago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.