We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great, and expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rocca Nettuno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rocca Nettuno to your Saves list
Rocca Nettuno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Annunziata, 89861 Tropea, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Tropea
Alton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good, not great, and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011 via mobile

We booked this early in 2011 and did refer to the Trip Adviser score. However we have learned our lesson, as a little closer scrutiny would have shown that of the current 89 reviews, only 6 are in English. The vast majority are German.

Like another reviewer I am all for multi-cultural experiences, but I brought my family to Italy to experience Italy, and all we are getting the guttural Teutonic accent constantly. I would say that 90+% of the guests are German, not making for a multi-cultural experience. I am actually very annoyed with my tour operator (Citalia) for not making this clear on booking.

The pluses - it is a nice hotel, with nice food and a nice pool. It has a nice beach and a nice ambience, but I can't help feeling that for the huge price we paid for a week for 2 adults and 2 children, that we should be getting better than 'nice'.

The transfer is an hour from the airport, so factor this in. The hotel rooms are clean, but very basic. Aircon and limited storage and a small balcony. The buffets are plentiful and of good variety, although with a truly enormous salad bar, it is hugely disappointing that there are only 2 mains each night.

There are two a la carte restaurants that you can upgrade to. La Terrazza costs €15 per person supplement. As we had premium all inclusive this was waived. My warning is to think carefully about this, as although it is nice to be served your food rather than queuing (a bit like being back at school, or Oliver Twist!) there is a very limited choice of 2 starters and 2 mains. Not what I expected when I was sold the 'a la carte' on booking the holiday.

The bars are well run and plenty of choice off the inclusive drinks list.

The pool is fine, a little small, and I was hoping for a jacuzzi from one of the small raised pools. Nein. Warning: the hotel caters for a continental European crowd and so plays loud music at the pol all day, and there are games etc.....

Summary: a nice hotel, but really not worth the money. Come if you get yourself a bargain, but don't forget the German phrasebook!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    73
    20
    7
    9
See reviews for
80
69
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Rocca Netuno for seven nights earlier this month (June 2011) and were very pleased with it. We were there on a Titan Hitours holiday and, never having experienced an 'all inclusive' hotel before, were slightly aprehensive as to what we were in for; we put our faith in Titan's reputation and were not let down. All the comments about the British being in the minority proved to be true, the vast majority of the other guests were German, but so what! 'Travel broadens the mind.' The hotel staff were without exception, friendly, caring and helpful. Virtually al of them spoke English, some better than others, but no problems that couldn't be overcome. We had two very minor problems with our room, (the safe locked us out and the toilet seat came adrift!) both were put right within minutes of reporting them. All areas of the hotel are spotless and our room was cleaned and tidied every day. The food is wonderful, plentiful (as is the wine) and fresh. The dining room staff were very attentive (and some wonderful characters among them) being willing to help despite the buffet style dining.
An attractive hotel in beautiful well planted grounds, with an excellent view along the coast to the nearby town centre which is approx seven minutes walk away. Unfortunately at the moment, the sanctuary on the famous Tropea island is being renovated and so there is no access to it at present. There is an outdoor theatre within the grounds of the hotel but at present all entertainment there is in German, though to be honest, even if it had been in English we wouldn't have wanted it - personal choice. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and though Calabria is perhaps not our favourite part of Italy, would happily stay at the Rocca Nettuno again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for week starting on 7th May 2011. Got to say that the hotel, food, staff, rooms and ameneties are really spot on. The beach area, bar and restaurant are also great. Due to being early season many of the bars etc in Tropea itself were not open so a little limited here although if you are in to cobbled streets and old architecture then this is the place for you. The one thing though that I did not like was the fact that during our week here the hotel catered for some 500 guests and only 8 were British and the vast majority of the remaining 492 were German. Now I am all for multi nationality occupancy in a hotel and indeed embrace it as it is so interesting to talk and mix with people from other countries but here the friendly faces were very few and far between, I would go to say as much that the friendly ones turned out to be Swedish, Austrian or Italian. The German guests were mostly in large groups with manners that we Brits are not quite used to. I personally believe that our tour operator should have warned us about this to give an opportunity for us to reflect whether we wanted to spend our week with limited people who we could mingle with. This apart we did have a nice week and the hotel is really nice but given the chance I would have gone to a hotel with a wider split of nationalities as this did effect our holiday especially in the bar at evening times. Staff well worthy of a mention are Mary (Animation team) Ercole & Vito (Bar Staff). I have given the hotle full marks but becuase of the hotel and staff itself, it was our tour operator that let us down!!!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are nice. Upgrade on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

A very decent hotel with an excellent quality of service (worth the price). Our room was in the main building facing the swimming pool and the sea, so we had a gorgeous view. The family room is spacious, including the bathroom. The hotel (including the swimming pool and the beach) is kept nice and clean, the staff was very professional, friendly and helpful. It's obvious they enjoy serving people. We loved the food, there's huge choice, and the food is of high quality, the main restaurant is managed well, we never had to queue. There's lots of veggies and salads and always something suitable for children too! For the non-smokers, it's a shame the open-air terrace of the main restaurant is almost fully taken by smokers, there's a charming view of the sea, and the scenery of the sunset while having a dinner would be magical if you didn't have smoke coming at you from all other tables...
We loved the authentic pizza in the beach restaurant, and lovely cappuccino in the beach bar.
The beach looks gorgeous, it's white and sandy but gets pebbly on the stretch where you're going in and out of the sea, so unless you're wearing shoes, it's a bit painful to get out of the water. Also the sea gets steep very quickly.
As to the entertainment, there are themed evenings, like Calabrian night, or "Grease"night, etc., we liked the general atmosphere of the pool bar area with candle-lit tables but we missed some sort of kids-disco or other entertainment for children, after the dinner. There was a half-hour kids disco at 5.30, which we considered badly planned as that was the time most kids were either coming from the beach or getting ready for dinner.
If you get bored staying in the hotel, it is well worth taking a walk to Tropea, which is a charming little town about 15 minutes (by foot) from the hotel.
Generally, we loved our stay in Rocca Nettuno and would definitely recommend it for a high standard summer getaway

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

It's an up market version of a holiday camp in miniature. The initial impression is one of high class luxury - what with the entrance water feature and the marble; the restaurants, lovely gardens, bars and pool. The rooms (well the ones that we had) are large and spacious if a bit sparsely furnished and the air conditioning kept them comfortable. Then you see that there seem to be hundreds of rooms scattered about the grounds - just like a holiday camp - only more tasteful and discreet. You get little wrist tags to show that you are entitled to the inclusive meals and services and there are "team members" (AKA camp entertainers; shades of Maplins) running around being cheerful, organising events, entertainments and team games. Could be great fun and our children availed themselves of the tennis coaching, kids club and water polo - but only once or twice as this was meant to be a family holiday and we wanted to remain together. The food was superb - huge choice of excellent dishes and all you could eat. Then there were the bars - all free and as much as you could drink. And here was the main problem; the price was exhorbitant - you are paying for all this and to get your money's worth, you have to eat and drink yourself stupid and take part in all and every activity; if you don't - effectively you are paying for other guests who do. If you want to do anything outside the hotel (like us - diving, boating etc) you are paying twice - once for the hotel activities you are not using and once for your external activity. The other problem was that although many of the staff and "team members" spoke English, the activities were in the majority language (generally German) and so were effectively out of bounds for us monophone Brits. Despite the large number of guests it did not seem crowded (except at one or two meals) - so no fighting for deck chairs around the pool! But the incessant musak out of the poolside loudspeakers marred what could have been beautifully relaxing hours there in the gardens. Overall we enjoyed our stay - but by ignoring what it cost us!

We chose this hotel based on the reviews and its location. Although the price caused me to think twice, the excellent reviews, the facilities offered and the fact that it was just where we wanted to be made me decide to pay the frightful price in order to ensure a perfect holiday.
The beach was a prime consideration in our choice but the sight of the sewage farm next door did damage our confidence on arrival; but the beach seemed OK and was a hit with the kids. An easy ten minute (if hot) walk into town for dining (no need), shopping, the port and some interesting architecture. But you really need a car to get about.

Service was a bit patchy for such an expensive hotel. Although some staff were really helpful and friendly - I got the impression of a bit of surliness from some - though this might have been due to the language barrier as not all the staff spoke adequate English. We had one or two problems with the room and these were fixed quite quickly but needed a bit of prompting and pressure which one does not expect. The tour/events manager was not that helpful if what you wanted to do was not bookable through her (eg "please tell me where I can hire a boat"; answer was "don't know"!). They are trying to be expensive luxury but their high volume approach (especially high volume Germans) makes it difficult to cater for anything outside their normal process (ie English, early breakfast because we were flying out on an early scheduled flight [yes Ryan Air sadly] rather than the normal charter, information about anything not organised by the hotel). We did, however book diving through the hotel (well the diving centre came to the hotel to take bookings) and that was fine.

Can't recommend the food enough. Superb, and lots of it; the chefs often outdoing each other in the quality of their dishes. Wide choices at each of the buffet style meals with a mixture of dishes from all over the continent - including one or two British ones (eg "ros beef englisher style"!). Just couldn't stop eating - even our picky children kept going back for more.

Huge and varied amount of activities included. Always places - no need to rush to book or grab a place. Even had evening music and drama. We took advantage of the child care, tennis and water polo - but English speakers be aware that in many activities you may feel left out as the language used will be that of the majority participants and unless you are lucky - it won't be English. I would like the hotel to make a better effort as far as language was concerned or have a non inclusive price so that you only then paid for the activities you actually used.

We wanted quiet rooms away from the noise of the bars and evening entertainment. Which is just what we got with a beautiful view over the Med and the setting sun............. and just enabling us to see the sewage farm! The rooms were spacious, relatively clean and adequately appointed if a bit sparse. The air conditioning helped keep them cool and so we got good nights sleep except for if the guests in the room above us clunked about on their tile floors. Why oh why do Italian hotels still ignore sound proofing between floors!? The hotel is starting to show its age - with one or two problems with the rooms (air conditioning failure, bathroom leaks) which were soon fixed. The TV has one UK, five Italian and nine German channels........... and the British one didn't work in our room!

Overall, this was a wonderful week. Why? because we got exactly what we wanted - pool, beach, quiet and cool nights, some varied activities, local/external facilities and activities (eg diving and boat hire so we could visit better beaches and snorkel), excellent food. Have to ignore the cost and the fact that so much of what you pay for you don't use.

PS My 10 year old says:- I think that it is agood place for two weeks but then you run out of things to do. :-)

So good job we were only there for a week hey!

  • Liked — Location and our quiet rooms
  • Disliked — Sewage works next door
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

My wife an I stayed here for a week in early September,and found it wonderful.We have never had all inclusive in Italy before and found it very good,with a good choice of salads,fish,meat as well as pasta of course.
The views in the evening towards the sunset with Stromboli on the horizon were special and worth stopping eating for a while.
The boat trip to the Aeolian islands is quite a long day but Lipari is beautiful and Stromboli awesome.
Tropea is lovely and the beaches sandy with water that is blue and perfectly clear.
We went on a package tour with Thomsons,as it was the only way to get a direct flight from the UK,without using Ryanair,but were told by the rep.that it was being withdrawn for 2008 as there was not enough interest in Calabria in the UK market..
There are no football shirt,or baseball cap wearers and drunks here.Plenty of Germans,but they usually only go to good hotels anyway!!.
One tip--pay a bit extra for a sea view and hire a car for 2/3 days and see the REAL Italy.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

We arrived in Calabria - Tropea and at the Rocca Nettuno Hotel at night after a long delay at Gatwick so didn't manage to see the beauty of it until the following morning.

This was certainly no dissapointment when we awoke and stepped outside into our surroundings at the Rocca Nettuno.

Our standard room was on the ground floor, which was a slight dissapointment as it had no view except of the road/buildings opposite but we hadn't requested a higher floor - which we would recommend to do.
The room was lovely though, very clean and spacious and had everything we needed with Maid service every day.

The hotel and grounds itself were amazing, spotless and beautiful. Each section of hotel rooms/suites (as they go up in standards I believe) were separately located within wonderful gardens full of flowers, trees and statues and the views are amazing.
The small but adequate pool was lovely and surrounded by sun loungers (but these were usually all taken by 8am)!!!

The beach was a short walk through the gardens and down a steep flight of cliff-hugging stairs - but an amazing view as you walk down, and we loved seeing this each morning on our way down. Plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas on the beach which are reserved for the hotel exclusively - as is that section of the beach and sea!!

The local town of Tropea is about a 10 minute stroll from the hotel, which was lovely for the evenings - it is full of traditional Italian buildings, restaurants and sights.

The entire resort and hotel were perfect and we cannot fault it at all - we had a perfect weeks holiday there.
The only down-side we would have to say is the food at the hotel, unfortunately due to this being a very much 'catered for German visitors' hotel - the food selection for All Inclusive was very limited and not really much choice if you didn't like the German styles of food.
The saviour for us was the lunchtime meals, as there was a beach pizzeria which is part of the hotel and as well as the pasta and salads - they have a pizza oven where they cook you fresh pizza's on request, as you can imagine it gets very busy but it is worth the wait!!

All in all, a wonderful holiday and we would recommend this hotel without a doubt - we are hoping to return again too.

  • Liked — The hotel grounds/gardens
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocca Nettuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocca Nettuno

Address: via Annunziata, 89861 Tropea, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Tropea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tropea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tropea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tropea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocca Nettuno 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rocca Nettuno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocca Nettuno Tropea
Rocca Nettuno Hotel Tropea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocca Nettuno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.