We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What wonderful surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza il Barone

Save Saved
You added Residenza il Barone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residenza il Barone
Largo Barone, 89861 Tropea, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Tropea B&B and Inns
Ramsey, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Tropea is a resort frequented by Italians. so, with that said, I will begin my review.

We stayed at il Barone last week. Rather than say "no one speaks English" how about " I don't speak Italian and that can put me at a disadvantage." Roberto, the owner and his staff were wonderful to us, even though communication was at times difficult.....because, my husband and I don't speak Italian. But Roberto and his staff bent over backwards to help us. Our suite was huge. It was well appointed and very, very clean! There was a tv and a laptop computer in the room. Access was free.The appertivo served on the rooftop terrace and prepared by brother Renato was a wonderful surprise and certainly just the relaxing break we needed after arrival. The staff was friendly.
Just a caution: we arrived by car and since Tropea is an old city with narrow streets and hidden piazzas, Il Barone was not easy for us to find. But again, everywhere we stopped in town, the locals bent over backward to send us in the right direction. One shop keeper even took me by the hand and walked me around the corner to the correct location.
And with, yes, gestures and diagrams on town maps from Roberto we learned that we could easily park the car outside the central district, in areas with "bianco" lines, not blue lines. Here too, the locals on the street helped.
So let me end with complimenting the delicious breakfast with varied foods and great coffee again served on the rooftop terrace.
We will be back, to Tropea and to il Barone, for the beaches, the charm, the hospitality..I hope it doesn't change.

Room Tip: I don't believe there is an elevator, so if you have a problem with stairs this may not be a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
159
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Basile, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic place to stay in the beautiful Tropea! Excellent service by an exquisite family! The rooms, the breakfast and the very Italian aperitivo served at the panoramic terrace are all first class!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in August and I wished I could've stayed more. From the moment I arrived Roberto and his family were so hospitable, genuine and caring, as other reviews have said it felt like you were part of the family. I stayed in the one of the junior suites, which had more than ample room for one person - I felt spoilt! The WiFi was good, and the use of the laptop in the room was very handy. The delicious and generous breakfast and apertivos and food served on the terrace each morning and evening respectively were a real treat, as was the terrace itself - a great view! The location of the hotel is fantastic, less than 30 seconds walk to the main square of Tropea, with fantastic restaurants down the little alleyways. The beach is also easily accessible with a short walk through town (though there are quite a few steps!). All in all, a real gem of a place in one of the most beautiful towns in southern Italy. Thanks to Roberto and his family; I will definitely be back one day!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Roberto and his family have a very good thing going at il Barone, whilst this is obviously a family run business il Barone still manages to keep a very professional feel to it. All the staff are very helpful and although little English is spoken they were keen to help in anyway possible and always went the extra mile (provided us with a beach umbrella and towels, dropped us off at the train station in the car, booked us on boat trip) to make sure we had the best time possible. Every evening drinks are served on the terrace along with appetizers so you can sit and enjoy the sunset with drinks and appetizers (all included in price) while the sun sets before you go for dinner.

Location wise Residenza il Barone is located right in the heart of the old part of Tropea, you have the main square literally a 30 second walk away, and all good restaurants are within a 5 minute stroll down the beautiful alleways of Tropea. The beaches are a 5-10 minute walk away, there are a number to chose from so make sure you try out as many as possible as they are all beautiful.

The rooms are very spacious, clean and the facilities all work exactly as they are described.

Thank you very much Roberto and family, we will be back soon! Tom and Dani

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Roberto and his family were very accommodating to us during our 5 day stay in Tropea. Unbelievable breakfast in the morning, plus appetizers in the evening that would count as dinner in any other B&B. Great value, great rooms, and most of all, unbelievably accommodating staff. We had some travel issues while we were in Tropea, and Roberto took us under his wing and made sure we got everything straightened out.

Robert, Canada

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

A living and experential definition of service can be found here at Residenza il Barone.
Roberto and his family/team are welcoming, hospitable, keeping looking after their guests well being! Really an amazing experience.
Superb view from the top terrasse, where everyday a surprise is offered! Cant tell you more, we leave you discover this treat!!
Nothing else really to add, perfect hospitality in a great place, very nice room...etc

Room Tip: Suite1 to suite 3 are not under the roof, so let hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed five nights at Residenza il Barone and enjoyed a lot our holiday in Tropea. Roberto and his daughter as well as the other staff are great. You will find it being more like a visiting family friend than a paying guest, especially if you can speak Italian. Suite 1, where we stayed at, is really spacious and has a lovely view to a small courtyard in front of the palazzo. The roof terrace where the hearty breakfast and free evening appetizers are served has spectacular views: it was so relaxing to sit there and to enjoy the vast selection of local products (fruits, tomatoes, pastries as well as cheese, prosciutto and yogurt). Due these treats the price of the accommodation is of great value.

So, to summarise, the lovely small city of Tropea offers an excellent place for a laid-back Southern Italian vacation and il Barone (compered to over dozen other accommodations in Italy from which we have experience of) is definitely an exceptionally good place to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residenza il Barone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza il Barone

Address: Largo Barone, 89861 Tropea, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Tropea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tropea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Largo Barone, in the historical centre of Tropea, on the top floors of an historical building (1700) overlooking the Piazza Ercole, a new building has been renovated for guests; this historical residence has been thought to give the best and reserved welcoming possible to our guests. The nice position is the ideal base to discover the artistic, historical and gastronomical treasures of Tropea. The residence's surroundings are refined and exclusive while keeping a warm family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Residenza il Barone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza il Barone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.