We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza il Barone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Residenza il Barone to your Saves list
Residenza il Barone
Largo Barone, 89861 Tropea, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Tropea B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in August and I wished I could've stayed more. From the moment I arrived Roberto and his family were so hospitable, genuine and caring, as other reviews have said it felt like you were part of the family. I stayed in the one of the junior suites, which had more than ample room for one person - I felt spoilt! The WiFi was good, and the use of the laptop in the room was very handy. The delicious and generous breakfast and apertivos and food served on the terrace each morning and evening respectively were a real treat, as was the terrace itself - a great view! The location of the hotel is fantastic, less than 30 seconds walk to the main square of Tropea, with fantastic restaurants down the little alleyways. The beach is also easily accessible with a short walk through town (though there are quite a few steps!). All in all, a real gem of a place in one of the most beautiful towns in southern Italy. Thanks to Roberto and his family; I will definitely be back one day!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    24
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
171
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Roberto and his family have a very good thing going at il Barone, whilst this is obviously a family run business il Barone still manages to keep a very professional feel to it. All the staff are very helpful and although little English is spoken they were keen to help in anyway possible and always went the extra mile (provided us with a beach umbrella and towels, dropped us off at the train station in the car, booked us on boat trip) to make sure we had the best time possible. Every evening drinks are served on the terrace along with appetizers so you can sit and enjoy the sunset with drinks and appetizers (all included in price) while the sun sets before you go for dinner.

Location wise Residenza il Barone is located right in the heart of the old part of Tropea, you have the main square literally a 30 second walk away, and all good restaurants are within a 5 minute stroll down the beautiful alleways of Tropea. The beaches are a 5-10 minute walk away, there are a number to chose from so make sure you try out as many as possible as they are all beautiful.

The rooms are very spacious, clean and the facilities all work exactly as they are described.

Thank you very much Roberto and family, we will be back soon! Tom and Dani

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Roberto and his family were very accommodating to us during our 5 day stay in Tropea. Unbelievable breakfast in the morning, plus appetizers in the evening that would count as dinner in any other B&B. Great value, great rooms, and most of all, unbelievably accommodating staff. We had some travel issues while we were in Tropea, and Roberto took us under his wing and made sure we got everything straightened out.

Robert, Canada

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

A living and experential definition of service can be found here at Residenza il Barone.
Roberto and his family/team are welcoming, hospitable, keeping looking after their guests well being! Really an amazing experience.
Superb view from the top terrasse, where everyday a surprise is offered! Cant tell you more, we leave you discover this treat!!
Nothing else really to add, perfect hospitality in a great place, very nice room...etc

Room Tip: Suite1 to suite 3 are not under the roof, so let hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed five nights at Residenza il Barone and enjoyed a lot our holiday in Tropea. Roberto and his daughter as well as the other staff are great. You will find it being more like a visiting family friend than a paying guest, especially if you can speak Italian. Suite 1, where we stayed at, is really spacious and has a lovely view to a small courtyard in front of the palazzo. The roof terrace where the hearty breakfast and free evening appetizers are served has spectacular views: it was so relaxing to sit there and to enjoy the vast selection of local products (fruits, tomatoes, pastries as well as cheese, prosciutto and yogurt). Due these treats the price of the accommodation is of great value.

So, to summarise, the lovely small city of Tropea offers an excellent place for a laid-back Southern Italian vacation and il Barone (compered to over dozen other accommodations in Italy from which we have experience of) is definitely an exceptionally good place to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villawood, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Roberto, Mr Magic and so helpful, what a wonderful experience, good old fashioned personal service and attention a dying art. Could not fault a thing. I will be back. The roof terrace, my favourite place, that is how to unwind in the evening. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay longer than you planned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful B &B hotel this June for three nights. This was one of our all-time favorite places we have ever stayed in Europe. The owners, Roberto and his wife, made us feel welcome and made sure our visit would be perfect. Our room was a very large and comfortable suite, with a living room/bedroom for our teen, our bed was a comfortable double bed, both rooms had flat screen TVs, and WIFI. Bathroom was sufficiently large for three people. Very clean, very quiet. Not a sound at night ! Our room overlooked a quiet courtyard, and the upstairs terrace had spectacular views of the town. Breakfast with fresh, made to order omelets, every morning, and appetizers and drinks in the evening on the roof top terrace, were fantastic. We will most definitely return to stay at this hotel again in the future! Thanks you so much for a wonderful stay, Roberto! Grazie Mille.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza il Barone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza il Barone

Address: Largo Barone, 89861 Tropea, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Tropea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tropea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Largo Barone, in the historical centre of Tropea, on the top floors of an historical building (1700) overlooking the Piazza Ercole, a new building has been renovated for guests; this historical residence has been thought to give the best and reserved welcoming possible to our guests. The nice position is the ideal base to discover the artistic, historical and gastronomical treasures of Tropea. The residence's surroundings are refined and exclusive while keeping a warm family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Residenza il Barone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza il Barone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.