We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clear water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropea Beach

Tropea Beach
Marina di Tropea, 89861 Tropea, Italy
389 9296009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Tropea
Attraction details
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Clear water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stunning Thyrrhenian sea with crystal clear water!! Would not recommend public beaches- too many people. The private beaches are very expensive ,39 Euro for 2 sunbeds and parasol! Be aware of excessive boat traffic to close to the shorline.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    177
    42
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This beach is amazing. The church on the cliff next to it is beautiful. I was here in spring so there were only two other families. I'm sure in the summer it's packed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tropea is very nice , but not one of the best beaches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A group of us spent a week in Tropea a few years ago and I was amazed to see it under the heading as one of the best beaches.
The water was clear, blue warm and clean but as is usual in the mediterranean it was pebbly.
The beach was soooo crowded. I started of with my umbrella and chair but in a few hours I was nose to cheek with hundreds of others just parked side by side. I personally don't like beaches like this. I have been to many, many better beaches in the world.

The Town of Tropea itself was beautiful, an Italian vacation town for Italians... hardly any other language heard which was just fine by us even if our Italian is pitiful.
The shops and restaurants were great and the tiny alleyways just wonderful with new and exciting things around each corner. ( Our car got jammed in one!) Our accommodation high up in the cliff was fabulous with views to die for.
Go for the culture and views but not the beach.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good but not Top”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I spent 2 weeks in the south of Italy for business trip .. I visited Tropea Beach .. It was good but from my point of view it don't deserve to be one of top beaches. the beach in Tropea is just nice!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

It is absolutely gorgeous. Tropea town is located high on the rocks and you can see the whole beach from there. It's breathtaking.
The town has old buildings and it looks impressive. You can find lot's of souvenir boutiques as well as many restaurants, taverns and cafes.
There are lots of villas to rent, a big camping place on the beach and small hotels with decent prices. The southern part of Italy has always been cheaper than the northern part.
I recommend pasta with Calabria tomato sauce, it is very spicy but very tasty. You can actually by Calabria spices from the small shops from the town.
I also recommend "Tartufo di Pizzo " ice cream. It's a special ice cream recipe and you cannot find it anywhere in the world. Actually, the ice cream recipe comes from Pizzo, a town located at about 50 km from Tropea and it is absolutely delicious.
I would definitely like to go back to Tropea in the future.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropea Beach also viewed

Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
Arzachena, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 
San Teodoro, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 

Been to Tropea Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropea Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.