We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B&B Villa Italia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel B&B Villa Italia to your Saves list
Hotel B&B Villa Italia
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Della Vittoria 7, 89861 Tropea, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Tropea B&B and Inns
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A safe haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Having only one week to recover from a very long and stressfull period at work, I specifically looked for a hotel with as little negative comments as possible on various websites. We wanted our hotel to be a safe haven, a place where we would have no discomfort, where we could really relax and not be bothered by disturbances or dirtiness.
This B&B proved a great choice for precisely this. A nice, clean room, friendly staff, perfect location in a nice neighbourhood in the centre of the town. Two different shower heads, both working fine. A refrigerator with various drinks. We did not use the tv and the air conditioning, so I can't say if they worked good.
An excellent breakfast in the morning, in the garden, with a wide range of food and drinks (croissants, normal bread, cornflakes, yoghurt, fruit, cookies, eggs) and drinks (coffee, tea, milk, water, 6 different packs of juice). I was very happy that we could sleep quite long, as breakfast was served until 10:30.
During breakfast we got the impression that the other guests were mainly couples, and mainly middle aged, although there were also a few younger couples.
The hotel is in the center, but not on a main street and for this reason there was not much street noise. And the wooden panels on the windows kept out a lot of noise (and heat). Only one night we needed ear plugs because of some open air concert a few streets away. All other nights things were pretty quiet.
My boyfriend found the beds a bit hard, but he slept well and so did I.
When we asked for information about excursions the staff was very helpful. They obviously wanted their guests to have a pleasant stay.
All in all I can very much recommend this hotel to,people who, like us, are looking for a "safe choice" where there will be no unpleasant surprises and comfort and a nice atmosphere are guaranteed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    50
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
67
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

5 star B&B with free parking directly outside, free good strength wifi, and very close to it all. Fantasic breakfast, and we were recommended to Il Convivio (5 minutes walk) by the hotel for dinner, which recommendation we wholly endorse.

This was an ideal stopover on our way to Matera from Catania, and if we return we will definitely stay at Villa Italia again. But this is unlikely, Tropea is a tourist town with a beach. If that's all you want then it would be ideal, but there's nothing much else here. For certain reasons we passed through Vazzano on our way here, which is a fairly remote and undistinguised inland village, but surrouned by the most beautiful countryside, and might be worth a day trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Excellent location only two blocks from the charming old town of Tropea and less than 10 minutes from the railway station. The very friendly atmosphere makes you feel at home from the very first day. The delicious and fresh breakfast buffet is located in a green and lush garden. Clean and spacious rooms and very comfortable beds. Always a friendly smile from Signore Alfredo and his staff. We stayed for five days in the preseason, end of May. Not very crowded and a perfect time to visit this beautiful village.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We needed a central b & b at a good price whilst we did some work on our elderly boat moored in Tropea.

The hotel provided both of these but in addition there was a very pleasant interior and exterior, a clean , comfortable and well appointed en suite room, a little garden in which to eat a good breakfast and most important of all a warm welcome,

Well done Villa Italia .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsaskala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Excellent value for money. We stayed here after a long drive from Rome. Very friendly staff and clean room. Altough no private parking available, the staff went out of their way to slot my 5m, 4 wheel drive vehicle in front of the hotel. Will reccomend as a friendly and safe place.Breakfast was served at 0830 in the garden and was satisfying . We ate a meal at a local place and afterwards stayed out late at the village square enjoying a good bottle of wine. Would love to visit again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Based on reviews and comments from other people about Tropea, we rearranged our travel plans to make it a 2 night stay at Villa Vittoria. This was done via emails, and presented no problem.
We were a little confused when researching online, until we realised that it used to go under the name of Villa Italia. Our GPS got us to the front door with only a minor fuss.
The building is beautiful and looks recently renovated. The frontage is elegant, and the rooms are clean and fresh. It looks very Victorian at night, with its subtle lighting and fresh paintwork. Another reviewer had recommended room 103 and so we asked for this room if it was available. It was.
The room is large and bright, with a double window opening out to the rear courtyard and looking onto the gardens and tables that make up the breakfast area. The bed is very firm. There is free WiFi available too. The room also has a bar fridge, a desk, a small safe, and AC, which we needed to use, even in October. Our room was very quiet at night, and with the windows closed, very dark in the morning.
The premises is kind of like the morphing of a B&B with a small hotel. I think is has 12 or 14 rooms of various arrangements, and a small Reception area with magazines and books. It also has a couple of small tables and chairs set up out front. We were lucky to get a parking spot across the road from the front door.
As others have said, the B&B is well located for an easy walk up to the main street, Corso Vittoria Emanuele. There are also many restaurants and cafes in the immediate area.
The breakfast was extensive, with fruit, pastries, cereal, juices, tea & coffee, cold meat & cheese, bread and the like. It was very nice to sit out in the garden this morning.
I had 2 items to discuss with Danka (Bulgarian duty manager?). One was about beach towels. She quickly produced 2 lovely big towels for our use. The second items concerned the 'rain forest' shower head. It was leaking all over the place. When we returned from the beach we had a brand new shower head, and it made showering so much better. Top marks for that :-)
As with most B&B's and hotels throughout our travels in Italy, the bathroom is generally small and crowded with shower, basin, toilet and bidet. This was no exception, but it was clean and well maintained, especially with our new shower head.
We would be happy to recommend this B&B to fellow travellers. It represents good value for money, certainly in the off season of October, and the service has been very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a lovely place. Location is perfect for nearby square and then the main thoroughfare. The room was lovely on ground floor. Breakfast in garden had everything we needed. Free WIFI. On street parking. We stayed one night passing through and it suited all our needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel B&B Villa Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B&B Villa Italia

Address: Via Della Vittoria 7, 89861 Tropea, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Tropea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tropea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel B&B Villa Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Bed and Breakfast “Residence Tropea” provides you with affordable accommodation in Tropea’s historical centre beside the Post Office.Tropea’s beaches are 450 meter from our structure. We have a private beach where you can enjoy free transfers and also can have: umbrellas, sun chair, typical cooking for one low price. It present simple and refurbished rooms in an old elegant building in Liberty style.The new rooms, sober and comfortable have: large windows that make it verybright and airy ; Air Conditioning; Mini Fridge-Bar; Free Wi-Fi;Safe for Notebook; Hairdryer, complete set for bath; TV Colour with DTVB-Hot Bird and Astra. You can enjoy yourself in our beautiful and private garden with sweet and savory breakfast and, also, you can relax in your free timeWe look forward to hearing from you and would like to assure you of our best attention at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel B&B Villa Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B&B Villa Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.