We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cannot recommend highly enough.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Pinturicchio

Al Pinturicchio
via darliano, 89861 Tropea, Italy
+39 0963 603452
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 117 Restaurants in Tropea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
East Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I cannot recommend highly enough.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We discovered this superb gem accidentally whilst roaming the Tropean streets in search of dinner. It is a charming, back street restaurant that serves some amazing food and the variety is fantastic - even knowcking a dish up on request that did not feature on their menu. The first evening we visited, we had to book a table for the following night, as the wait for a table was an hour - this at 8:30pm!

The following night the service was excellent, with attentive, English-speaking staff in a lovely setting - a courtyard outside the restaurant has old paintings on the wall, giving the feel of an internal dining area, but with the stars (and the surrounding houses' washing!) above you.

The food is of exceptional quality with good size servings and the house wine (particualrly the bianco) is of good quality. The aubergine parmigiana was out of this world - by far the best I have tasted and they had actual desserts (a rarity here, where they seem to have a few odds and ends at the back of a freezer!).

We enjoyed it so much we returned for a second meal and then took guests on a third occastion too. Go and see for yourself, and enjoy.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank matt1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston,Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Atmosphere, Food, Wine & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I spent three months in Tropea this summer and went to Al Pinturicchio many times. Lovely atmosphere, the food always excellent and the staff is awesome. Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lizzy610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“The best tuna fish steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We ate there twice and always had delicious food. Specially tuna fish made in Tropean style - very delicious! Service is good, but it`s always crowded. Be prepared to wait in line specially in rush evening hours.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adricka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“World class Italian restaurant. Could well be the best Italian meal I have ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Thank you Trip Advisor. I took a recommendation from my hotel last night and it was very ordinary. Logged on to TA today and found this. Exceptional food, good service, great atmosphere all at a very reasonable price.Simply wonderful.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Anytime we passed by long queues in front of the restaurant. When we finally got there, we realized why: amazing food, amazing staff, amazing wine, amazing atmosphere....We can only recommend, it worth it!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pomca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Pinturicchio also viewed

Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
 
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
 

Been to Al Pinturicchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing