We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cannot recommend highly enough.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Pinturicchio

Al Pinturicchio
Via Dardano, 89861 Tropea, Italy
+39 0963 603452
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 98 restaurants in Tropea
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“I cannot recommend highly enough.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We discovered this superb gem accidentally whilst roaming the Tropean streets in search of dinner. It is a charming, back street restaurant that serves some amazing food and the variety is fantastic - even knowcking a dish up on request that did not feature on their menu. The first evening we visited, we had to book a table for the following night, as the wait for a table was an hour - this at 8:30pm!

The following night the service was excellent, with attentive, English-speaking staff in a lovely setting - a courtyard outside the restaurant has old paintings on the wall, giving the feel of an internal dining area, but with the stars (and the surrounding houses' washing!) above you.

The food is of exceptional quality with good size servings and the house wine (particualrly the bianco) is of good quality. The aubergine parmigiana was out of this world - by far the best I have tasted and they had actual desserts (a rarity here, where they seem to have a few odds and ends at the back of a freezer!).

We enjoyed it so much we returned for a second meal and then took guests on a third occastion too. Go and see for yourself, and enjoy.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    113
    109
    45
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston,Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Atmosphere, Food, Wine & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I spent three months in Tropea this summer and went to Al Pinturicchio many times. Lovely atmosphere, the food always excellent and the staff is awesome. Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The best tuna fish steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We ate there twice and always had delicious food. Specially tuna fish made in Tropean style - very delicious! Service is good, but it`s always crowded. Be prepared to wait in line specially in rush evening hours.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“World class Italian restaurant. Could well be the best Italian meal I have ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Thank you Trip Advisor. I took a recommendation from my hotel last night and it was very ordinary. Logged on to TA today and found this. Exceptional food, good service, great atmosphere all at a very reasonable price.Simply wonderful.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Anytime we passed by long queues in front of the restaurant. When we finally got there, we realized why: amazing food, amazing staff, amazing wine, amazing atmosphere....We can only recommend, it worth it!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Pinturicchio also viewed

Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
 
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
 

Been to Al Pinturicchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Pinturicchio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.