We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Tropea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tropis Hotel to your Saves list
Tropis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fontana Nuova, 89861 Tropea, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Tropea
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Tropea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice hotel, beautiful and convenient location above the tourist town, at only 350 metres from the railway station. Nice restaurant, good swimming pool. Modern, spacious rooms: I had one with a balcony on the sea side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropis, Responsabile reception at Tropis Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Vincenzo,
thank you very much for your kind review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and all our services, such us the swimming pool, the restaurant and the room.
Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Antonia
Front office manager Tropis Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    54
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
30
63
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Good value for money tho impossible to find even with G PS at night, google map not correct on website either :)

Great sea views!

Small rooms tho spacious balcony and small bathroom, shower only. Twin beds pushed together so dip in bed to sleep in which was awkward also.

Parking outside of hotel entrance and reception a hike so don't visit in winter!

Breakfast very average and unappealing sadly. Service was great tho would only stop,over as we did........not likely to return or recommend.

Room Tip: Top floor as noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed at the Tropis for 7 nights as of june 4th 2012.
The hotel is very clean, my room was small-medium and have a very nice seaview.
The bathroom was very clean and well equiped (Shower - no bath)
It is 5 minutes by foot to the train station and 10 minutes to the center old town.
I did not need a swimming cap in the pool.
Free shuttle, umbrellas and chairs available at the beach. It's a 20 minutes walk to the beach (Hilly and stairs).
The breakfast was included and offer a wide variety.
The hotel offer good travel tips and information on train hours, visit and excursion to make in the area.
Internet wifi connexion was week in the room.
I would return to this hotel anytime and I highly recommanded it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropis, Responsabile reception at Tropis Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.
Your comment is very nice to read and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our fantastic room cleaning, the perfect location, the service with shuttlebus to the beach including sunbed and parasoll free of charge as well as free internet.
It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest!
Yours sincerely
Antonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Good points; good position, great pool, free bus to private beaches, clean, friendly efficient service.
Points to improve on; lack of information on anything in the rooms, have to pay to use a very small gym, swimming hats mandatory?, nothing open or available for 3.5 hrs during lunch, problems with hot water and air con.
A lovely town that Tropis is trying to harness with releavntly high prices that are not justified at present. With a little attention to detail, Tropis could be a very good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Essex, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We have just arrived back from the fantastic little town of Tropea. The hotel Tropis is very well situated being only 10 mins walk away from town and 5 mins from the train station. Its a fairly new hotel with a lovely swimming pool and good views of the coast. We had a great 4 days at the hotel which was pretty quiet for the time of year. The only issues we had was the noise from upstairs on all 4 nights ( furniture being moved and tv loud until early hours) and also the single beds that were pushed together were pretty hard. Rooms were clean though and our room had a large balcony overlooking the sea. We would definitely return to the hotel but would insist on a top floor room !!

Room Tip: Top floor !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We were there the last week of June 2010, and the facility is beautiful. It is very close to the train and a short walk to the main shopping area in Tropea. If we could go back tommorrow, we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropis Hotel

Address: Via Fontana Nuova, 89861 Tropea, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Tropea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Tropea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering panoramic sea views and a free beach shuttle, Hotel Tropis is 1200 ft from the historic center of Tropea. It has 2 pools and air conditioned rooms with a balcony and satellite TV.Rooms at the Tropis are decorated in a traditional style. Each comes with a minibar, and free Wi-Fi is available in the lobby and in the rooms.Attentive staff provide a continental buffet breakfast. The 2 restaurants offer classic Italian cooking.One of the hotel’s pools includes a jacuzzi and the nearby private beach has free umbrellas and lounge chairs. There is also free transportation to Tropea Train Station, 650 ft away.Hotel Rooms: 113 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.