We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo Mondo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Piccolo Mondo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Piccolo Mondo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Matteotti 108, 38069 Torbole, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 hotels in Torbole
UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Visited the restaurant at the Piccolo Mondo hotel even though we were not staying there and had a lovely experience. The waiter was very enthusiastic about the food and gave some great recommendations.

Although the restaurant does not have a lake view there is a good atmosphere.

The food was very good- in particular the beef which was marinated in a delicious berry sauce. The puddings were slightly disappointing as the tiramisu had way too much chocolate powder which slightly unbalanced the dish.

Overall it was a very positive experience and would recommend to other diners!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    48
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
56
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aughnacloy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Arriving quite late and tired we were met by friendly ,pleasant and efficient staff.A meal was ready after we checked in and this standard of service was maintained for the duration of our holiday .The family and staff were always available if needed.
We were looking forward to the food having read reviews and we were not disappointed.A varied menu ,food beautifully cooked and presented.
We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We arrived at the hotel in a rather comedic fashion. Whilst walking up the stairs by suitcase decided to separate from the handle and bounce down the stairs. I think a lady who might be some relative on the owners laughed and made a few jokes but nothing rude/offensive.
Anyway, we got to the desk and greeted by (I imagine the wife/owner) who spoke good English and shown us to our room.

The initial impression was that the room wasn't the biggest, but it had a HUGE bed, dressing table and a table with two chairs. So more than big enough! Bathrooms was clean and well furnished, although one light bulb was blown for our whole stay. tut tut. I have ready complaints about the shower, but it's OK. Just one of those that run off the tap in the bath.

The pool was great, but often empty with awesome views of the mountains either side. The indoor pool was also empty, probably because it wasn't heated and must have been around 20*C (I am just guessing, it was cold nevertheless). There was a gym which I have to admit I was sad enough to use, it was OK, all you want from a gym.

The first evening we was greeted by, what I imagine the head waiter? Patrizio (apologise for spelling). As this was our honeymoon we hand free champagne with our meal. The evening food was also pretty good. But I eat most things, my wife struggled as she doesn't like fish or cheese. There was little choice, some nights no choice. But whatever you picked was good quality food. I was also confused about the price of a bottle of wine, as a glass was €2.50 but I purchased a bottle for €20. I know nothing about wine, so maybe they were different, I didn't ask for anything specific.

Drinks alround were expensive but it's a 4star. You pay for the service I guess. Which was worth paying for. Two other waiters/barmen Marco and Alesso were always so smiley and always willing to help or just have a chat. Although Marco struggled with English a little bit.

It was a tough competition who was the most happily and smiley between Marco and the reception Monica. Her local knowledge was impressive and even drew some routes on a map for us to cycle to (the hotel and bikes for free, just a €5 deposit per bike).

The location was spot on like many others have said so I won't bore you with anymore on that subject.

Cleanliness I rating as a 3 because I assume they use a dishwasher to clean the vast about of items and it doesn't always clean everything. A few times I picked up a bowl to find hard muesli on it. Quite poor for a hotel of this standard. But everything else was very clean.

The was live music on the hotel one night who played the small grand piano on the premises and sung. It was very good.

The owner was very funny and he, like the rest of his staff worked hard non-stop!

There was one "bad" evening meal service, as I think we had to wait about 10 minutes for our order to be taken and about 15 minutes before we got our first dish. The poor waitress was looking a little stressed!! But the owner came to save the day with his jokes and speedily delivering our next courses.

All in all, a fantastic hotel but might need a little investment here and there. If I could afford it, I would love to go back!!

Regards
Lee

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the Piccolo Mondo. We were welcomed by a friendly receptionist (Monica) who spoke excellent English and make us feel at home, with a porter on hand to take our bags to our room.

Our room was in the newer extended part of the hotel and was very spacious, with a good bathroom - it was all kept very clean and well looked after.

Breakfast was very good quality - plenty of choice and even a hot selection of scrambled egg and bacon and occasionally sausage. We were half board and were impressed by the evening meals - while on some nights there was not lots of options to chose from there was a good variety and enough courses and help yourself hors d'oevres that we never left the table hungry (in fact normally the opposite). There was a night of "local" specialities, a gala dinner night with a roast as others have described and a buffet night which had a great selection of great food. Other nights we normally had 2 or 3 options to chose from for first and second courses. On our first night they even had welcome drinks in the lounge with nibbles laid on.

The pool and gym facilities are good (though we didn't use the latter!)

All the staff were very friendly and helpful - the owner and his family are all working hard among the staff as well - they seem to make a great team. Bar drinks are a bit pricey - but much as you would expect in a 4 Star hotel.

We though Torbole was an ideal place in Garda to stay - fabtastic views of the mountains, good easy flat walks by the lake, more challenging hill walks very locally with stunning scenery - easy to get to other towns by ferry - monte baldo well worth the trip up and itself a big enough town without being too big. Nice walk or cycle to Arco along the river from right by the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton lancashire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was my second visit to the hotel and my Husbands first . The hotel is in an excellent location for walking , cycling around the northern part of the lake .
You can walk along the lakeshore from Torbole to Riva which is about 1.5 miles . Ferry trips to Limone , Malcesine and Riva (all beautiful locations) are so easy to negotiate once you have mastered reading the timetable , you can hop on and off them all day . A ride up the cable car at Malcesine is a must , just try and get there early to avoid queuing .
The food at the hotel had improved since my last visit ,portions may be on the small side for big eaters ? The stairs carpet could do with replacing or cleaning , it did look rather worn or dirty . The rooms are clean but basic which is all you need as who wants to be in a hotel room with such beautiful scenery just outside your window? Bathrooms do need modernising and power showers installing .
The staff were amazing , very friendly and helpful , they could not be faulted .
With a few tweaks ( carpet and bathrooms) I would have given the hotel an "excellent" because it is in a fabulous location with great staff and good food .
Lake Garda is a must visit place and we will be returning next year

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just returned from a seven day stay at this hotel and cannot fault it in anyway. Superb staff, fantastic food and great rooms, added to this is the enclosed garden with a great pool. You cannot go wrong it is an absolute gem. We will definitely be returning sometime in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have just come back from our honeymoon staying at The Piccolo Mondo and we couldn't have asked for a better place.
We were welcomed from the moment we stepped off our transfer coach, with a waiter rushing out to help with bags. All the staff went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect, not just for us but for every guest in the hotel. always smiling and asking how you were.
The rooms were comfy and clean, and the balcony had breath taking views of the mountains.
The restaurant served fantastic food, which got better with every course and a different menu every evening.
Indoor and outdoor pool were great, and sitting by the outside pool with views of the mountains all round was something you don't get elsewhere.
Position of the hotel was ideal. Not too central to be too noisy, but a lovely round walk would take you down to the shops, bars and restaurants and round by the lake and river.
Couldn't fault the hotel or the staff and would definitely recommend a stay there for all age groups.

Room Tip: the side rooms have brilliant views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Piccolo Mondo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Mondo Hotel

Address: Via Matteotti 108, 38069 Torbole, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Torbole
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torbole
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torbole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Piccolo Mondo Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Piccolo Mondo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Piccolo Mondo
Piccolo Mondo Hotel Torbole/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolo Mondo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.