We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Place to Be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Torriola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Torriola to your Saves list
La Torriola
Pian di S.Martino loc. Torriola, 06059 Todi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Todi
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“A Perfect Place to Be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

La Torriola is an amazingly beautiful place outside of all of life's bustle. Maurizio is a kind and attentive host. If you're looking for a place with picture perfect views and breathtaking scenery - this is the place to go. I was so entranced by the beauty I didn't feel the need to leave the grounds except to go get some groceries.
If you want the best view request the Il Papavero apartment. I could spend my life on the balcony there.
The fresh produce is wonderful and the apartment has all the comforts of home.

Room Tip: Il Papavero is the room with a view - to say the least. The balcony (and the bedroom) face east and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Maurizio is a kind and generous host, and offers a wealth of knowledge on Todi and the surrounding area. The property is in a peaceful rural location with wonderful views in all directions. The accommodation was excellent for our family of 5 -- 3 adults and 2 grown children (19 and 21). Beautifully designed and well equipped for self-catering. Great environment for indoor/outdoor living, our morning and evening walks around the property marked a very pleasant start and finish to each day. The basket of fresh food on arrival was delightful and most enjoyable. While Todi is a great tourist destination, be sure to visit the very charming town of Monte Castello di Vibeo nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very nice, comfortable accommodation. Property located in the peace and quiet of Umbrian hills. Friendly owner with lots of advice about the surrounding area including visits to Todi. Really enjoyed Grandma's cake and the produce we received on arrival - oil, eggs, coffee etc.

Unforgettable experience cooking with chef Flavia Bi at Hosteria Mattta (the mad inn) nearby where we prepared our dinner for 4 hours and spent another 4 eating it, sampling various wines and so on. Fantastic. A real memory. Todi is a beautiful hill-top town well worth a visit or two.

Nothing negative about this property, the staff or the location. Just one minor point - as we travelled slightly before the main holiday season the property was quiet. We enjoyed the peace and quiet but it meant certain facilities weren't usable, such as the pizza oven outside.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We have just arrived home from a 1 weeks stay @ La Torriola.
The standard accomodation which I thought I had booked was a very pleasant surprise.
Not only was the accomodation very clean the views of Todi (a local village) were breathtaking. BBQ area, pool, hot tub what more can you ask for. If your looking for a tranquil location this has got to be it. Mauritzio and his wife Annamaria were delightful hosts. I would definitely recommend to all my friends & family.. Hoping to go back with friends next year..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snelrewaard
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We spend 2 weeks with our familie ( 2 kids) in this nice place. The appartment was very clean, with good beds and with a graet view over Todi. It takes a smal dirt road to reach it, but once you be there the quiet admosphere make gives a great holiday feeling. The owner is cheching every day if everything is going well and.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This was our second visit to La Torriola and I recommend it unreservedly. It is located approximately 10 minutes from the hill town of Todi which can be seen across the valley from the apartments and Orvieto is a 35 minute drive away. It was an easy drive from Rome. The apartments are on a quiet hillside with grounds and a pool area that are beautifully maintained. Our two bedroomed apartment was spotless and had everything necessary to cook simple meals. Maurizio is an attentive host, regularly arriving with fresh produce from the garden or newly laid eggs. Nothing is too much trouble - including escorting me to a local garage when I had a problem with our hire car. A holiday at La Torriola is very much about quiet relaxation in the countryside with access to a lovely pool. Perfection!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This was our first visit to Umbria, less known (so, less touristic) than its "big brother" Toscany. Well, Umbria is at least as beautifull as Toscany. Cities and places to visit include: Assisi, Perugia, Spoleto, Orvieto, Todi, .... a daytrip visit to Rome is also feasible. With its central location in Umbria (Todi), La Torriola is an ideal starting point to visit these places.

We stayed 14 days at La Torriola and were very pleased with the warm Italian welcome by Maurizio and his wife, as well as with the accomodation. The appartments are comfortable, well equiped and clean. From the swimming pool, you have a superb view on Todi.

We hope to come back (next year?).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Torriola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torriola

Address: Pian di S.Martino loc. Torriola, 06059 Todi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Todi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Todi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splendid country villa in Umbria,quite near Todi,tailor-made for your comfort and tranquility:only 5 charming self catering apartments,for 4 and 2 people,in a 16 acres secluded property with own production of wine and extra virgin olive oil, using the natural methods and enthusiasm of yesteryear.An organic kitchengarden is available for guests.The villa has pool,hot tube, garden with patio, barbecue, play corner for kids,pingpong, soccer table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Torriola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Torriola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.