We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“returning once again to this beautiful restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Hosteria de la Valle

Antica Hosteria de la Valle
Via Augusto Ciuffelli 19, Todi, Italy
0758944848
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Todi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“returning once again to this beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I have been many times before to Johns restaurant and have never been disappointed!
The chef and his wife work excessively hard to make the restaurant as wonderful as it is!
The atmosphere is lovely and always nice and relaxed, it is such a pleasure to visit, cant wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    124
    36
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Well, this restaurant is already on the first spot, but I must say that it is not without reason!
It's my third time in Todi (again for 2 weeks) and I ate here twice this time. Since it is very popular, also with locals, it's a good idea to reserve in advance.
I arrived really late (22:30) after a long journey, and asked if it was possible to have a simple meal. This was no problem, and I left the creativity of the Scottish(!) cook, John, to prepare something. It was my first night in Todi, and he came up with a terrific dish, a local specialty from Terni, which I enjoyed immensely. This was a great start of my holiday!
I found the prices very reasonable, service was very friendly and I would like to simply recommend this restaurant to all to try. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Castello di Vibio, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Ate with two visitors from UK. Limited choice but all dishes delicious to the eye and to the palate. Generous portions. A warm and friendly atmosphere presided over by John and Elena. Excellent value for money. I shall return - soon :-)
Peter

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food Prepared by a Scotsman”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My sister and I dined here twice during a three week stay in Todi. Food was consistently excellent. Ambiance is also delightful. Gave it a 4 because service can be a bit slow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Neither Nor ( and certainly not Yes)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place is neither a full on tourist trap nor an interesting Italian temple of cuisine. It is cozy. The prices are not unreasonable. The menu is familiar with a twist or two. Perhaps it is geared to be middle of the road, but guests to Todi have twice mentioned "hotel food" as the closest analogy. Beware cliche use of truffles (they are necessarily dominant when present in any dish) and lots of balsamic vinegar as a kind of crutch.

You will not have a bad meal, nor a particularly good one.
The general feeling - la, de, da.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Hosteria de la Valle also viewed

Todi, Province of Perugia
Todi, Province of Perugia
 
Todi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Antica Hosteria de la Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Hosteria de la Valle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.