We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Season in Tirrenia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mediterraneo to your Saves list
Hotel Mediterraneo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Gattici, 81 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Tirrenia
New Jersey, USA
1 review
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Low Season in Tirrenia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

The hotel is a budget hotel and well worth the 50 Euro a night for a double room. Everything worked fine including the internet, we didn't have breakfast because we decided to sleep in; although we were able to get coffee and snacks at the bar when we did get up.

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the beach. The weather was really warm for October and I truly enjoyed taking a long stroll on the beach with my wife; there weren't many people on the beach but the atmosphere was wonderful and very romantic! The trip became an unexpected romatic getaway for us!

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfiedl, MO
1 review
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

Our room and bathroom were clean, the wi-fi service worked and was free, the car park was big and free. The staff gave us free maps and helped us organize our daily trips around Tuscany. The nearby beach is nice but sometimes very crowded and noisy. The main square is about half a mile away and there's a bunch of fine restaurants, the Squalo (shark) restaurant was our favorite.

  • Liked — the low price, cleanliness of room, free services
  • Disliked — the crowded beaches
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
1 review
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

A nice inexpensive hotel. Our room was spacious and clean, and it had a small bathroom with a shower. The bed was comfortable. It was really hot in August but our room had a good air conditioner. There was a free wi-fi service which came in handy since I use Skype on my mobile everyday. The people that run the place speak English and are really nice and helpful. The car park is big, protected with security cameras, and is free. When we left we noticed that on the days we didn't have breakfast we didn't get charged for it.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

We stayed here for one night in August, the day before we flew home from Pisa. One night was enough really and that's all I would recomend. It is only a short drive from here to Pisa airport, so it's handy if you require somewhere relatively cheap to put your head down before you go home.
The hotel is very old fashioned and I agree with one of the last reviewers, there is a bit of a strange atmosphere here! It was clean though, but you got these wierd towels that resembled sheets. The beds were very hard, but at least the room was air conditioned. Bathroom was small, and had a strange smell.
The hotel is near the beach, but most of the beaches are private so beware! We did manage to find one "free beach" to spend the afternoon at. Terrenia is definately an all Italian resort, I've never seen as many speedo wearing men in my life! My kids enjoyed the beach, but the sea was quite choppy with big breaking waves so you had to be very careful with little ones. The sea was lovely and warm though.
We had a meal in restaurant in the centre of Terrenia on the evening. It was okay, but I didn't find the people as friendly as those in other parts of Italy. It seemed quite lively everywhere though.
All in all I don't think I'd return!!

  • Liked — was cheap and near Pisa Airport
  • Disliked — The atmosphere, bathroom and decor
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medithotel, Mamager at Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, October 18, 2008
There are NO private beaches in Tirrenia. The bars and restaurants on the beaches are not free! You MUST pay to eat their food, you only pay if you use the establishment's deck chairs, umbrellas, and changing rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2008

Close to the beach, clean, safe, and inexpensive. Beyond that, there's not much too it. The beds are very hard, no decor, and a bit of a strange atmosphere. Don't bother with the 7 euro breakfast - there are cheaper bars that provide breakfast down the street. The owners are friendly, but I would not return. The beach, though free, is ugly with thick wires sticking up everywhere. We stayed because it was close to the Pisa airport. Next time we would drive further to stay in the much more beautiful Cinque Terre area. Sure it's further and more expensive, but hey, if you are travelling so far to be in Italy, it's worth the trouble for fond memories.

  • Liked — Inexpensive and clean
  • Disliked — hard beds, not the nicest beaches nor area of Italy
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medithotel, Manager at Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, October 17, 2008
You wrote: "clean, safe, and inexpensive...beyond that, there's not much too it".

I always thought a clean,safe, inexpensive room is what most people want! I won't change the clean and safe part. The only part I can change is the inexpensive part, and thanks to your suggestion I will increase my prices! Thank you :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

cheap clean rooms, family run establishment in a reasonably good area very close to a free beach.20 minutes by bus to pisa central (2 euro), and whereas most nearby resorts eg marina di pisa appeared to have shut down for the winter, tirrenia had a reasonable number of good busy restaurants and a few bars. la scimmie was particularly lively in the centre of tirrenia, 10 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel was run by Frank an italian who was born in england, not someone to take you round on a pub crawl but very freindly in his own way.The breakfast is extra to the price but at 7 euros each for a very basic continental i would probably not bother next time.To cap it off tho Frank the owner gave us a free lift to the airport (20 minutes drive) at 4am and offered to pick us up for free next time.I would definetly go back- although earlier in the season for the better weather..

  • Liked — cheap and clean, good location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Via dei Gattici, 81 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a low cost hotel in Tirrenia? The hotel in Tirrenia is 350 meters from the beach, all the rooms have air conditioner, a private bathroom with shower, telephone, TV, and fridge. the hotel has a large private car park and guarantees a parking spot to every customer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Mediterraneo Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.