We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Family Run Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera Blu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Riviera Blu to your Saves list
Hotel Riviera Blu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale del Tirreno, 15 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tirrenia
Euless, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean Family Run Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent one night solo off-season at the hotel. Single room was clean and affordable. They have nicer rooms facing the coast but I chose a more affordable option. I'm sure the area is much busier in season. The family was very helpful with local restaurant suggestions for my one night in Tirrenia.

Room Tip: I had a room which didn't face the street. I'm sure in the Season this street is very busy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Manager at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review.
We hope to have you back soon.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    67
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
81
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is not a bad hotel, but our expectations were higher since Trip Advisor rated it #2 in Pisa. This led to our disappointment. First the good points....the rooms were impeccably clean and the hotel is located close (10 to 15 kilometers) from the airport, the Tower, Livorno, and Camp Darby (for the military). The breakfast was standard European with cold cuts, cheeses, pastries, coffee, and the like. Parts were great.....parts not so much so (the orange/lemon/carrot juice was vile!). Both the air conditioning and the wifi worked, although the wifi had a bias against Apple which made it cumbersome. We had a balcony with "rolladen" type blinds. It was obvious that the hotel had been renovated recently and was done well. The beds were comfortable, the pillows less so.

The not so good...... The room was not "spacious" as advertised, but was tiny. One person had to step into the bathroom for the other to move around. We literally had to put a suitcase on the desk because there was no room. There was 6-8inches between the foot of the bed and the desk, so you had to crawl over the bed to get to the balcony. The safe was small and could not hold the iPad mini or the Kindle for safe keeping. The hotel was located on a very busy four lane street and was noisy. The shower was exceptionally slippery and you would need to open the door if you dropped the soap because there is no room to bend over. Breakfast is not served until 0800 and no other meals are available. The hotel does not differentiate in its advertising between in season and out of season, so that you know what to expect. We were on the third floor -the Europeans say second and there is no elevator. The man at the front desk carried our suitcases, but we still had to walk the stairs several times a day and since everyone in our group was over 65, it was sometimes difficult. The car park only holds four cars, so parking on the street may be necessary.

As I said, it is not a bad hotel and our stay would have been much better had our expectations not been so high. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Book on the back side as hotel is on a busy four lane street. If you don't do stairs well, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Manager at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Client,
first of all thanks for spending time writing your review on our hotel.
We would like to point out some aspects that you mentioned:
We have many clients that have Apple device and carry out connections to wifi with no problem whatsoever.
Its true that the bedroom assigned was not one of our largest but it’s not true that there are only 6/8 inches because in all our bedrooms
there is enough space to walk around the bed, to sit down at the desk and to go on to the terrace.
The size of your bedroom fits in the italian/european standard, if you’d asked for a larger room we would have satisfied your request, because October is low season and we have more rooms available.
Our safes were built in year 2003 when Ipad and Kindle did not exist... ..but they are sufficient enough to introduce normal personal belongings.
I remember taking up more than 2 cases. one fits perfectly on top of wardrobe and other on special case rack.
For what concerns noise coming from main street we want to inform our clients that we are having soundproof windows fitted in, anyhow street in front of hotel is only 2 lanes and not 4.
Traffic noise dies down a lot during fall, winter and spring seasons and during summer months it slows down around 7 pm.
Fitted in showers in our bathrooms are all italian/european standard, rectangular cm 70 x 100 or 90° degrees with radius of 80 cm.
If you go on our website in the price section you’ll see that half board service does not exist in any season of the year, it says that our hotel has varoius conventions with restaurants in neighborhood.
We respond only to our official website, what others write is not our responsability.
We only have 2 floors because in Europe groud floor is considered 0.
Finally we want to point out that hotel parking area fits in 7 cars in front row and 6 in second row (leaving car keys at reception). Anyhow Parking slots in front of Hotel are free.
Sorry about this long answer, but we think it’s useful for our readers to explain these aspects in a correct way.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Meath, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Just back from spending a week at this hotel. Excellent location close to the beach and a short walk from the town. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Able to provide all information with regards to local transport and Florence trip. Breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Owner at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dear Guest
thanks a lot for great review, My family and I do our best to make our guests feel comfortable and at home. Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Family owned, very friendly and clean. The owner is available as a taxi service for airport transfer. Accommodating environment, it feels like you are at a private house and home. Breakfast is nice, good coffee. There is a small Bar and the staff is very helpful. Close to the Beach, actually several Beach options and the Hotel has a discount with the closest one. We didn’t use a car but we saw parking possibilities. Ever so welcoming place.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Owner at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
thanks very much for writing nice review of our hotel. We hope to have you back as our guest.
Best regards
Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The hotel is in a good location, in front of the beach. A nice garden gives you the possibility to enjoy the sunset. My room was quite small and so was the bathroom. This makes the hotel not really suitable for family with very young children. Breakfast in the morning was excellent, and the personnel was polity!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Owner at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice review on our hotel. I would like to point out for who's reading that we have 4 bigger bedrooms that are suitable for families with children.
My warmest regards
Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Husband and I stayed one night in June 2014 in a third floor double with private bath facing the street. Yes, room was very small, but it was spotlessly clean, and there was a refrigerator. Front desk and breakfast staff gave excellent service, with helpful information on nearby restaurants and bus stops. Breakfast was excellent, with meats, cheeses, croissants, yogurts, fruits, and cappuccinos, all in a very pleasant setting. The beach club associated with the hotel was wonderful, also with excellent customer service, changing rooms, showers, cafe, and, oh yes, warm ocean water for bathing. All this for an excellent price, even in mid-summer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guest
thanks a lot for inserting such a nice review, we hope to have you back soon!
take care,
Warm regards
Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at Riviera Blu across from many beach amenities and close to lovely and interesting Pisa. The property was of a high caliber and meticulously clean. The rooms and baths were spacious and most comfortable. We especially enjoyed breakfast in a charming dining room where the bread and meats were so appetizing and fresh. Our vehicle from Hertz Italia was negligently not filled with petrol. The owner of the Hotel Blu came out and took a photo of the petrol gauge to show that we had just received it empty and only barely made it to the hotel. He then sent this photo to the airport Hertz to a friend that he knew. The place just has a nice feel about it. Many thanks, we will come again. Tom & Nuala D.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Proprietario at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guest,
I just read your review and am so pleased that your stay in our hotel was nice. We do our best to make you feel at home and help out in all kind of tourists disadventures (like yours with the petrol).
I hope you managed to sort it out. I really look forward to have you back al Riviera Blu.
thanks again
My warmest regards
Cristiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riviera Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera Blu

Address: Viale del Tirreno, 15 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera Blu 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Blu is a modern 3* hotel, recently refurbished. A new management that assures a warm welcoming in a friendly and familiar atmosphere. Our main priorities are: kindness, clean and comfortable rooms, efficient service.Our hotel is a small building, in which we have invested more than ever, to create a place where you can feel at home. The hotel is located in a small village near the sea called TIRRENIA, only 11 km from PISA.Here you can enjoy our mild Mediterranean climate.We are inside Migliarino San Rossore Massaciucoli Natural Park, here you can find peace and quietness for your relax.A good reason to choose our hotel is also because of our strategic location, you can reach the centre of Pisa in only 15 min by car or 30 min by bus, there are bustops to Pisa and Livorno at only a few metres distance.We have a private carpark inside the hotel, but you can also park outside on the street in front.This is also an advantage compared to the difficulty of the city center where the few car parks are pay and display.From our hotel you can easily reach many other places in Tuscany.We have a shuttle service for arrivals and departures to/from Pisa Airport and Train station and also to/from Livorno train station and port. This service has to be requested in advance and is available every day from 8:00 am to 00:00 am.Free WI-FI coverage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riviera Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Blu Hotel
Riviera Blu Tirrenia
Hotel Riviera Blu Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riviera Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.